Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Hot Bodies Cyclone >

Hot Bodies Cyclone

Hot Bodies Cyclone

Old 01-09-2006, 12:56 PM
  #2311  
Tech Master
 
ngo8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
Posts: 1,264
Default

Originally Posted by XrayFK
I guess I will have to piece together a diff then.
So then for the CVDs, should I go for the TiR ones or the HB Steel set? Or just stick with the stock ones? Thanks.

BTW, this is for carpet (stock and 19T).
yeah man you have to use a diff in the front for foam carpet racing its the only way youre car will thank you and youre pocket to
ngo8 is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 01:52 PM
  #2312  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,222
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Smartypants
Does anyone have a link to a website which has blank setup sheets for the cyclone??

Can't seem to find any on the Hotbodies website??

Matt

I have a blank interactive pdf version that I made...1.3mb

pm me with your email.
rc-zombies is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 01:54 PM
  #2313  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,222
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dontfeelcold
Late January, early February is the current release date.
where are you getting this info from...?

lhs says there is no info on the new kits..
rc-zombies is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 02:14 PM
  #2314  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
XrayFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,463
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ngo8
yeah man you have to use a diff in the front for foam carpet racing its the only way youre car will thank you and youre pocket to
Alrighty, ball diff it is. Now, how different are the Pro4 outdrives? Has anyone compared the two side to side?
XrayFK is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 02:17 PM
  #2315  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,222
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by XrayFK
Alrighty, ball diff it is. Now, how different are the Pro4 outdrives? Has anyone compared the two side to side?
It's been done early on when the car was released....

you'll need about 3 - 3.5mm of shimms on both sides...

cheaper to buy the stock Delrin outdrives.
rc-zombies is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 02:19 PM
  #2316  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (38)
 
danjoy25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,153
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Im also considering making a ball diff instead of the spool. So the pro 4 diff halfs can be use is what you are saying but must be shim.

So if I can get a complete Pro 4 ball diff set and replace the stock pulley with
A495 39t Ball Diff Pulley and lots of shims it will work.
danjoy25 is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 06:59 PM
  #2317  
Tech Fanatic
 
S-T-R-l-K-E-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CS RACING / RIDDLER HOBBIES
Posts: 973
Default

Originally Posted by danjoy25
Im also considering making a ball diff instead of the spool. So the pro 4 diff halfs can be use is what you are saying but must be shim.

So if I can get a complete Pro 4 ball diff set and replace the stock pulley with
A495 39t Ball Diff Pulley and lots of shims it will work.


if you build it ....... it will work
S-T-R-l-K-E-R is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 07:23 PM
  #2318  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
XrayFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,463
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know is these will fit as thrust balls in the diff? http://shopping.rcmodel.hk/product_i...oducts_id=5689
Doesn't say what size they are, just thrust.
XrayFK is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 07:39 PM
  #2319  
Tech Fanatic
 
pucho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Central, FL
Posts: 804
Default

Just get Associated balls they work.

For the P4 outdrives to work you also need to use the CVD's the Cyclone bones are too short. It's really more of a hasel than anything. I did it because I had the parts available. But I ended up buying the Cyclone outdrives after all.
pucho is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 08:07 PM
  #2320  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
XrayFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,463
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by pucho
Just get Associated balls they work.

For the P4 outdrives to work you also need to use the CVD's the Cyclone bones are too short. It's really more of a hasel than anything. I did it because I had the parts available. But I ended up buying the Cyclone outdrives after all.
I thought you just need to shim the outdrives? Also, if you have to use the HPI bones, do you need the Pro4's universal axle as well, or will the HB ones fit fine with the HPI bone?
XrayFK is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 09:14 PM
  #2321  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,222
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by XrayFK
I thought you just need to shim the outdrives? Also, if you have to use the HPI bones, do you need the Pro4's universal axle as well, or will the HB ones fit fine with the HPI bone?
not just shimming... the Pro4 outdrives are also shorter. thus the need for longer bones..

pm me if you're interested in Pro4 steel bones that will fit the Cyclone axles with no mods. I have a NIB Pair available for sale...
rc-zombies is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 09:22 PM
  #2322  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
XrayFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,463
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Okay, to recap here... for a ball diff I put together all the HPI internal parts with the pulley, and if I use the Pro4 outdrives then I have to use shims and also the HPI bones? (which will fit fine with the HB axles?)

Does that mean that the Pro4 axles (so an entire Pro4 CVD) will fit on the Cyclone if using the Pro4 diff outdrives.

Sheesh, what a hassle either way.
XrayFK is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 09:52 PM
  #2323  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,222
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by XrayFK
Okay, to recap here... for a ball diff I put together all the HPI internal parts with the pulley, and if I use the Pro4 outdrives then I have to use shims and also the HPI bones? (which will fit fine with the HB axles?)

Does that mean that the Pro4 axles (so an entire Pro4 CVD) will fit on the Cyclone if using the Pro4 diff outdrives.

Sheesh, what a hassle either way.
the Pro4 bones are MIPS and will not fit the Cyclone's Cv's

but if you take the entire MIP axle and Mips bones from the Pro4..they will fit the Cyclone.

the Pro4 bones that I'm selling are made for the cyclones axles...they are approx 2mm longer than stock.

make it easy on yourself and just get the cyclone outdrives.
rc-zombies is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 10:05 PM
  #2324  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
XrayFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,463
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rc-zombies
the Pro4 bones are MIPS and will not fit the Cyclone's Cv's

but if you take the entire MIP axle and Mips bones from the Pro4..they will fit the Cyclone.

the Pro4 bones that I'm selling are made for the cyclones axles...they are approx 2mm longer than stock.

make it easy on yourself and just get the cyclone outdrives.
I will probably end up just getting the cyclone outdrives, now I just want to know for the sake of knowing
So there are also Pro4 bones that made for the cyclone axles? Are those the HPI Hard Steel Dogbones?(part # 75186)
XrayFK is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 10:45 PM
  #2325  
Tech Master
 
ngo8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
Posts: 1,264
Default

Originally Posted by XrayFK
Okay, to recap here... for a ball diff I put together all the HPI internal parts with the pulley, and if I use the Pro4 outdrives then I have to use shims and also the HPI bones? (which will fit fine with the HB axles?)

Does that mean that the Pro4 axles (so an entire Pro4 CVD) will fit on the Cyclone if using the Pro4 diff outdrives.

Sheesh, what a hassle either way.
its not a hassle just go to youre Manual and build the rear diff for the front part numbers are there simple dont bother with pro4 parts for diffs
ngo8 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.