Hot Bodies Cyclone

Reply

Old 09-23-2015, 03:11 PM
  #19756  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
SpidarX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 453
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by porschejim911 View Post
I got out of racing back in 07, looking at getting back in now. I went through quite a few cars and by far the cyclone was my favorite. Looks like cyclone parts are too hard to find now to race. Due to budget I need a used car that isn't too pricey. Any newer hot bodies cars I might like that are still parts supported? Any other cars I might look at?
I have a cyclone TC that I'm about to sell with lots of spares, and everything needed to make it ready to run (motors, esc, radio, battery). Let me know if you are interested, and I can give you more details.
SpidarX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2015, 08:33 PM
  #19757  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Floresville, TX
Posts: 831
Default

Originally Posted by porschejim911 View Post
I got out of racing back in 07, looking at getting back in now. I went through quite a few cars and by far the cyclone was my favorite. Looks like cyclone parts are too hard to find now to race. Due to budget I need a used car that isn't too pricey. Any newer hot bodies cars I might like that are still parts supported? Any other cars I might look at?
Sorry for the delay in answering. I like the Cyclone too. Parts support isn't too much of an issue with the Cyclone TC as most of the breakable parts are interchangeable with the TCX and TCXX versions that are still being supported. I use wheelspin.com in the UK for all my Cyclone parts (TC and TCXX). BTW SpidarX's Cyclone TC is one of the top cars in USGT. He really has the car dialed in. I'm surprised he wants to sell it!
John Wallace2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2015, 06:49 PM
  #19758  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Floresville, TX
Posts: 831
Default Cyclone TC Chassis Question

I was looking at my friend's Cyclone TC yesterday and noticed it had a thicker chassis (~2.6mm) than mine (~2.4mm). Does anyone know why there were two different chassis sold on this car? Mine was bought a year or so after the car was introduced. Not sure when his was new. Also noticed that the battery slots were cut slightly different.
John Wallace2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2016, 05:15 AM
  #19759  
BJR
Tech Regular
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 316
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys

Just wondering how to fit front/rear split blocks on my chassis. I have the Ecotek lipo chassis and noticed the genuine HB split blocks off my TCXX won't fit on the TC chassis because the Cyclone Bulk heads get in the way.. I'd rather not grind any aluminum away at this point. Any suggestions?

Thanks

Blen
BJR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2016, 05:16 AM
  #19760  
BJR
Tech Regular
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 316
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

.
BJR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2016, 02:30 AM
  #19761  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Floresville, TX
Posts: 831
Default

Originally Posted by BJR View Post
Hey guys

Just wondering how to fit front/rear split blocks on my chassis. I have the Ecotek lipo chassis and noticed the genuine HB split blocks off my TCXX won't fit on the TC chassis because the Cyclone Bulk heads get in the way.. I'd rather not grind any aluminum away at this point. Any suggestions?

Thanks

Blen
Fronts should work fine. In fact one of my two TC chassis is drilled for the the split blocks. However, the rears do seem to be the problem for which I have no suggetions other than stay with stock or start grinding..

If anyone is interested I have two TC chassis complete with bulkheads, motor mounts, shock towers, spool, diffs and belts for sale. One chassis has some damage on the front where the bumper mounts to the chassis so only 2 of 3 holes function but other than that it has full function. PM me if interested.

Last edited by John Wallace2; 05-19-2016 at 07:04 PM.
John Wallace2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2016, 03:50 AM
  #19762  
Tech Adept
 
ospower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: puertorico
Posts: 196
Default

ospower is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2017, 10:42 PM
  #19763  
Tech Adept
 
ospower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: puertorico
Posts: 196
Default

Originally Posted by CraigMBA View Post
This is probably my last post here. I had a great time with my Cyclones, but since I seem to be Mr. All Things Tamiya these days, it's time to turn the page. I'm posting because I haven't built a new VTA car yet, and I wanted to post that I'd had success putting TCX gear diffs in with only two part numbers necessary to complete the task. Here they are installed:



I used the 2mm shims (one on each side). Here are the PNs you need to convert over. ICRC, total cost was like $32.



Good luck guys!
have pics???
ospower is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service