Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Hot Bodies Cyclone >

Hot Bodies Cyclone

Hot Bodies Cyclone

Old 11-18-2005, 12:51 AM
  #1891  
Tech Fanatic
 
S-T-R-l-K-E-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CS RACING / RIDDLER HOBBIES
Posts: 973
Default

Originally Posted by Teddy
I use this for my PRO4 and they are very good.(just a little heavy)
No problem even with one-way or spool.

http://www.speedtechrc.com/store/Upl...s/stc4-50b.jpg
just wanted to let you know that pro4 bones wont work with the cyc. its a bit too long
S-T-R-l-K-E-R is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 05:25 AM
  #1892  
tir
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 42
Default Wheel nuts on the TIR CVDS for cyclone

Originally Posted by BerNardLee
I dared not to try out yet. will it damage the treads

I think it produced in UK.

Hi all, The axles on the CVDS for the cyclone have been manufactured not to come loose. This is unfortunately a problem with running spools (we have seen many undo over the period of a race), so we actually increased the nominal size of the thread to "GRIP" the wheel nut a little better than standard. The wheel nuts will not damage the threads on the axles as they are made only to grip a little better. Dont worry if they feel tight, simply do them up. If anyone has problems or unsure please feel free to mail me [email protected] for any help or advice...

Hope this helps.....

Kind regards

Darren
TIR
tir is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 05:36 AM
  #1893  
Tech Addict
 
Skill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Doncaster, England
Posts: 537
Default

Hi Darren,

Do you have the Titanium Ball Stud Set for the Cyclone in stock yet? I am eager to get one as I find the stock ball studs a little brittle (I've snapped 2 on the servo saver).
Skill is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 07:49 AM
  #1894  
Tech Adept
 
Mitropoulos Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Athens,Greece
Posts: 125
Default

Originally Posted by S-T-R-l-K-E-R
just wanted to let you know that pro4 bones wont work with the cyc. its a bit too long
Only if someone uses a pro4 spool will the pro4 bones be ok.Otherwise very very long...
Mitropoulos Jim is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 08:36 AM
  #1895  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 156
Default

Originally Posted by Skill
Hi Darren,

Do you have the Titanium Ball Stud Set for the Cyclone in stock yet? I am eager to get one as I find the stock ball studs a little brittle (I've snapped 2 on the servo saver).
didn't know that they also offer titanium ball studs, i thought they only got a screw set for the cyclone (and their great CVDs and spools, of course )
omoser is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 08:45 AM
  #1896  
Tech Addict
 
Skill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Doncaster, England
Posts: 537
Default

I'm pretty sure they do, although I've never seen them available on their website. I emailed them a few weeks back now and they said they were waiting for them to come in...
Skill is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 04:23 PM
  #1897  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 68
Default

New arrive Shooters Cyclone parts

Kenon Hobby www.rcKenon.com
Attached Thumbnails Hot Bodies Cyclone-shb001.jpg   Hot Bodies Cyclone-shb002.jpg   Hot Bodies Cyclone-shb003.jpg   Hot Bodies Cyclone-shb004.jpg  
rcKenon.com is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 04:39 PM
  #1898  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
fjm9898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 3,003
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

wow that has to be some strong carbon for the shocks not to skip holes in a impact.
fjm9898 is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 11:23 PM
  #1899  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Guo Chean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indiana, PA15701
Posts: 1,492
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

i have been try my cyclone it really handling better but one thing i cannot ignore is althought alum bulk head and other staff look great but if get in into hard clash will bend all alum parts like my case my cyclone lost control last few day ago upper deck & chassis break, alum bulk head front bent until rear the only thing not bent is motor mount and carbon fiber middle brace. i spend almost 250USD to buy new stuff.
Guo Chean is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 12:03 AM
  #1900  
Tech Master
iTrader: (34)
 
veecee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,442
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by fjm9898
wow that has to be some strong carbon for the shocks not to skip holes in a impact.
This design has been proven on gas cars so I don't think there's too much to worry about.
veecee is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 12:11 AM
  #1901  
Tech Regular
 
Aurra Sing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Santa Clara, CA, USA
Posts: 462
Thumbs up

Got my Cyclone. Built, put a pro4 diff and CVD's in the front to run foam, ran a few packs of practice. Very satisfied, but needs just one more day to get it set up. I need a locked center pulley then it will be perfect
Aurra Sing is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 12:15 AM
  #1902  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,222
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

marc..
I knew it wouldn't be long before you got one....
now go kick some buttie at the track...
rc-zombies is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 03:48 AM
  #1903  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Geetoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: HPI/HOTBODIES
Posts: 1,872
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Aurra Sing
Got my Cyclone. Built, put a pro4 diff and CVD's in the front to run foam, ran a few packs of practice. Very satisfied, but needs just one more day to get it set up. I need a locked center pulley then it will be perfect

How did the Pro4 diff possibly fit? Did you place shims along with it?
Geetoo is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 04:04 AM
  #1904  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 156
Default

Originally Posted by Guo Chean
i have been try my cyclone it really handling better but one thing i cannot ignore is althought alum bulk head and other staff look great but if get in into hard clash will bend all alum parts like my case my cyclone lost control last few day ago upper deck & chassis break, alum bulk head front bent until rear the only thing not bent is motor mount and carbon fiber middle brace. i spend almost 250USD to buy new stuff.
well at least i'm not the only one having this kind of problem
omoser is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 09:53 AM
  #1905  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
nordheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 1,725
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Guo Chean
i have been try my cyclone it really handling better but one thing i cannot ignore is althought alum bulk head and other staff look great but if get in into hard clash will bend all alum parts like my case my cyclone lost control last few day ago upper deck & chassis break, alum bulk head front bent until rear the only thing not bent is motor mount and carbon fiber middle brace. i spend almost 250USD to buy new stuff.
I have no clue of what you're getting yourself into. I have crashed a lot and it has been the most durable car I have owned so far. The only things I have broken are front knuckles and arms as well as bending my dogbones slightly. Now I have the TIR parts in the front and a p-dub bumper to protect them as the stock bumber is a little narrow. I actually used the one from the TC3 since it is wider than the Pro4, drilled new holes and shaved a little foam off to fit and it works perfect. I have had no problems since. Breaking your chassis???? Bulk heads bent??????? WOW!!!!!
nordheim is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.