Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Hot Bodies Cyclone

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2010, 04:09 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)

Thats a tough one. I have ZERO experience with foam tire asphalt racing. If you're tries are coning a lot, usually we just run a little more camber to counteract that. If it's still coning a lot, maybe run fewer shims on the camber link so there is more camber when the suspension is compressed.

I know on carpet with foam tires, I usually run more camber than normal. I usually ran about 3 deg in the back, and 2 deg up front.

-Korey
Old 01-12-2010, 04:12 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Korey,
Ackerman has been talked about alot but if you build the TC to the kit setup you end up with the steering links angled forward. I think this is because of the new symmetrical arm design which moves the c hub forward.
What effect does a forward angle on the steering links have on the car ?
Thanks.
Old 01-12-2010, 04:15 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)

It doesn't really matter so much about swept forward or back... it's more the angle in general.

The more the links are swept (fewer shims in our case like... 2mm), the smoother your initial steering will be. You'll usually get a little more mid-exit as well.

The straighter they are (more shims like... 4mm), I've found it to make the car more reactive and edgy around center, but not as much steering through the middle and exit of the corner.

-Korey
Old 01-12-2010, 04:53 PM
Tech Master

Originally Posted by Korey Harbke
Thats a tough one. I have ZERO experience with foam tire asphalt racing. If you're tries are coning a lot, usually we just run a little more camber to counteract that. If it's still coning a lot, maybe run fewer shims on the camber link so there is more camber when the suspension is compressed.

I know on carpet with foam tires, I usually run more camber than normal. I usually ran about 3 deg in the back, and 2 deg up front.

-Korey