Hot Bodies Cyclone

Reply

Old 11-03-2005, 06:36 PM
  #1771  
Tech Regular
 
Aurra Sing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Santa Clara, CA, USA
Posts: 462
Default re: spool chatter

I lube the pins on the driveshaft quite a lot, keep them clean, and rebuild the CVDs often, and I do not experience any chatter.

EDIT: oops, I thought this was the Pro4 thread.. but should be the same once I pick up my HB around Christmas time can't wait
Aurra Sing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 12:13 PM
  #1772  
Buyer Beware
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 332
Default

my cyclone should be here on Monday....
HELLOkitty is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 01:03 PM
  #1773  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by HELLOkitty
my cyclone should be here on Monday....
that's great...Have fun building it... should take you approx. 3hr.45min.23sec. to build... not including chassis prep.
rc-zombies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 01:07 PM
  #1774  
Buyer Beware
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 332
Default

Originally Posted by rc-zombies
that's great...Have fun building it... should take you approx. 3hr.45min.23sec. to build... not including chassis prep.
WOW!
you know the precise time it will take....any ideas on which motor,esc,servo,body,etc to get for this car?
HELLOkitty is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 01:10 PM
  #1775  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by HELLOkitty
WOW!
you know the precise time it will take....any ideas on which motor,esc,servo,body,etc to get for this car?
same electronics that's on my car...
rc-zombies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 01:12 PM
  #1776  
Buyer Beware
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 332
Default

Originally Posted by rc-zombies
same electronics that's on my car...
hehehehehehehe
HELLOkitty is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 10:33 AM
  #1777  
Tech Adept
 
belgianchamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: belgium ypres
Posts: 104
Default

Hi,

I have a question:

My friend snapped 4diffscrews from his pro4, anybody also has this problem?The diffs are very smooth not tighten to much and when he hits something not hard its finished.Somebody nows what the problem can be?
belgianchamp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 12:02 PM
  #1778  
Tech Addict
 
Skill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Doncaster, England
Posts: 537
Default

I know someone who had a Pro 4 who broke about 5 diff screws in the space of about 4 months. Personally I've been racing with the Pro 4 and now Cyclone for over a year and a half and have never broken one [touch wood].
Skill is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 03:41 PM
  #1779  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 69
Default

Hi, I have only ever broken one, and that was because I had the diff done up silly tight cause the grip on the track was so high. Under normal conditions I have never broken one. I know quite a few people who have Pro 4's who have not had problems though. Try replacing all the other diff components at the same time as the nut next time as there may be another bit that is faulty or built incorrectly. Jonathan
jonny69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 06:34 PM
  #1780  
Tech Fanatic
 
tc3 racer sc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: lancaster sc near charlotte nc
Posts: 921
Default

Originally Posted by jonny69
Hi, I have only ever broken one, and that was because I had the diff done up silly tight cause the grip on the track was so high. Under normal conditions I have never broken one. I know quite a few people who have Pro 4's who have not had problems though. Try replacing all the other diff components at the same time as the nut next time as there may be another bit that is faulty or built incorrectly. Jonathan
some one plse tell me when the diff coming out for cyclone so i can run carpet thxs
tc3 racer sc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 08:24 PM
  #1781  
Tech Master
 
ngo8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
Posts: 1,264
Default

i just finished building mine for thrust bearing i used the TC4 one works perfect the hotbodies/hpi was out of stock and i just bought 2 bearings instead of one and 2 spacers .
ngo8 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 01:25 AM
  #1782  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
bretthitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: hollywell
Posts: 284
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default page

on page 12 on the the cyclone manual at the top of the page ware the misprint is about the spur gear and the pulleys is page 31 the correct way it should go toughter can any one help thanks brett
bretthitman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 03:54 AM
  #1783  
Tech Master
iTrader: (30)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 1,391
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Aurra Sing
I lube the pins on the driveshaft quite a lot, keep them clean, and rebuild the CVDs often, and I do not experience any chatter.

EDIT: oops, I thought this was the Pro4 thread.. but should be the same once I pick up my HB around Christmas time can't wait
Go do your homework Aurra!
JoeyE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 05:38 AM
  #1784  
tir
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 42
Default

Originally Posted by rc-zombies
so to reduce the chatter I need to widen the pin slot on the spool...and also install the RDX or Xray pin plastic pin blades...?
No, I would not advise widening the pin slot. Blades do not stop chatter..
Chatter will only be observed in reality when the wheels are free floating on the bench.

When on the track the actual inertia in the car will be sufficient to combat the observed chatter - there of course still remains oscillation variations but it does have a negligible effect on the cars overall performance. The result of the increased vibrations will really only manifest themselves in premature wear, slight understeer and slightly reduced corner speeds but equally this has to be offset against the cost and reliablity of proper constant velocity joints for RC cars.

No matter what car you drive the most important factor in getting the most out of the car is to concentrate on making sure that the transmission is as clean and free running as possible and for that matter as light as possible. Binding belts, sloppy joints, poorly fitting A arms etc will have a more detrimental effect on the cars overall performance than the oscillation problem. Then of course there is the fact that we need to make sure we hit the right lines at all times. These will cost us seconds per lap - oscillations will cost us 000's of a second...
tir is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2005, 07:42 AM
  #1785  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Guo Chean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indiana, PA15701
Posts: 1,492
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

hey does anyone runing cyclone with front spool and middle one way? if i using this setting will it be possible to used break too??? so what you guys normally tighten the rear diff will it be loosen or tighten it very tight using front spool in order to get good handling?? thanks
Guo Chean is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service