Hot Bodies Cyclone

Reply

Old 11-02-2005, 10:33 PM
  #1756  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Guo Chean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indiana, PA15701
Posts: 1,492
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Hi doeas anyone know how to do the antisquat or anti dive for cyclone because i only know that hpi only came out the spacer for the the pivot block at the back and the front pivot block that cyclone came are diffrent from pro 4. so are you guy trying to used spacer to shim the front pivot block higher? thanks
Guo Chean is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005, 10:34 PM
  #1757  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

yes..use spacers.
rc-zombies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005, 10:35 PM
  #1758  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Guo Chean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indiana, PA15701
Posts: 1,492
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

if you runing cyclone spool in front you can used pro 4 hard steel drive shaft for that spool it fit very well.
Guo Chean is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2005, 10:42 PM
  #1759  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Guo Chean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indiana, PA15701
Posts: 1,492
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rc-zombies
yes..use spacers.
will it be easy to bend the screw???
Guo Chean is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 07:47 AM
  #1760  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Guo Chean
if you runing cyclone spool in front you can used pro 4 hard steel drive shaft for that spool it fit very well.
I've tried fitting the Pro4 steel cv bones...doesn't fit..it's too long.
rc-zombies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 08:20 AM
  #1761  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default


Last edited by rc-zombies; 11-03-2005 at 10:55 AM.
rc-zombies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 08:33 AM
  #1762  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
fjm9898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 3,003
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

hey john that is an amazing looking car. great work. let me know if you ever feel like selling your car i will buy it for sure.
fjm9898 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 09:20 AM
  #1763  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 156
Default

Hey guys,

I'm going to have my first race since 1997 on Sunday, at the moment I'm working on my cyclone to prepare it; Just installed a TIR spool and also noticed heavy vibrations when steering. For the spool i had to replace the middle one-way pulley with a fixed one, and since then the front belt keeps going left and right on the fixed pulley. Tried different shimming on the front but that did not help. Any suggestions? Since this is my first belt-driven car (i used to drive a pro4 before the cyclone ) i even do not know if maybe this is normal, but i did not notice it when using the one way, so maybe there is something i can do about that.

kind regards and thanks a lot,

Oliver
omoser is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 09:28 AM
  #1764  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by omoser
Hey guys,

I'm going to have my first race since 1997 on Sunday, at the moment I'm working on my cyclone to prepare it; Just installed a TIR spool and also noticed heavy vibrations when steering. .....
Oliver
read on top of this page
TIR and Adrian will explane why there is vibration / chatter when using a spool.
rc-zombies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 10:35 AM
  #1765  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default DIFF BELT PULLEY WOBBLE...

even though it does not effect performance...
Some of the cyclone owners have complained about the diff pulley wobble...

I had some leftover BD diff pulleys. they are 40T.
BD pulley installed fine with no mods...and NO Wobble.
after installing it on the chassis..the belts were a little tight.
so I'll have to find some belts that are 2-3 teeth bigger front and rear.
had to slightly bevel the open slot on the chassis for clearance.
The 40T pulley changes the internal drive ratio from 2.4375 to exactly 2.5

another fix I'm thinking of is using smaller 2mm diff balls. unfortunately I don't have any 2mm diff balls...
rc-zombies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 11:01 AM
  #1766  
Tech Fanatic
 
S-T-R-l-K-E-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CS RACING / RIDDLER HOBBIES
Posts: 973
Default

Originally Posted by rc-zombies
even though it does not effect performance...
Some of the cyclone owners have complained about the diff pulley wobble...

I had some leftover BD diff pulleys. they are 40T.
BD pulley installed fine with no mods...and NO Wobble.
after installing it on the chassis..the belts were a little tight.
so I'll have to find some belts that are 2-3 teeth bigger front and rear.
had to slightly bevel the open slot on the chassis for clearance.
The 40T pulley changes the internal drive ratio from 2.4375 to exactly 2.5

another fix I'm thinking of is using smaller 2mm diff balls. unfortunately I don't have any 2mm diff balls...
so if i am getting you right you were able to use BD pulleys both front and rear?
S-T-R-l-K-E-R is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 11:14 AM
  #1767  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by S-T-R-l-K-E-R
so if i am getting you right you were able to use BD pulleys both front and rear?
it will work..but I need longer belts.
the stock belts are 170T front and 62T rear.

I need a belt that is around 172T and 63-64T
may get the BD front belt..it's 172T. finding the right rear belt
might be difficult.
rc-zombies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 01:31 PM
  #1768  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 156
Default

Originally Posted by rc-zombies
read on top of this page
TIR and Adrian will explane why there is vibration / chatter when using a spool.
jup, alreaday read that before, but what about the belt going left and right on the fixed pulley? I can't imagine that it's normal since when using the one-way pulley and the front one-way, the belt ran pretty straight

but hey, maybe it's normal and i'm just making a big deal out of it

thanks alot,

oliver
omoser is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 01:39 PM
  #1769  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Maitland, FL
Posts: 2,186
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Just woundering on how does this car handle compared to the RDX, TC4 , Mi2 ? if anyone in here had those cars and now have cyclone
Roberto Falcon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 03:50 PM
  #1770  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
nordheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 1,725
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I have driven the TC4 and the Cyclone feels much better to drive. It also seem alot more responsive. It's also super easy to work on. everything is so much more accessible.
nordheim is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service