Hot Bodies Cyclone

Reply

Old 08-17-2009, 10:54 PM
  #17206  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
cosmo1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Adelaide AUSTRALIA (5.754 mins SE of The Parks)
Posts: 371
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Korey Harbke View Post
Yea, start with the middle hole for timing. Just keep an eye on temps and you should be fine.

-Korey
Sounds good ...
cosmo1974 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 01:40 PM
  #17207  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
POUNDITRACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Newport, RI
Posts: 3,063
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

1
POUNDITRACING is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 06:40 PM
  #17208  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (13)
 
Korey Harbke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,155
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Well everyone,

It looks like Hot Bodies USA just received a shipment of Cyclone TC kits!!!! They are available on the webstore, and they should be available at other online stores and distributors very soon.

It also looks like the DCJ driveshafts are back in stock as well

-Korey
Korey Harbke is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 07:20 AM
  #17209  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (92)
 
Kwikvdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 5,978
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Default

Hello,

I've been using the HPI Spur Gears and was wondering if I can use the PRS Spur Gears.............. Want to know if the holes line up, plus it looks like they would line up nicely with my PRS pinions.

Thanks!
Kwikvdub is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 07:08 PM
  #17210  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (47)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Auburn KS.
Posts: 3,490
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Hi guys,

I've been out of the onroad loop for quite a while now, mainly running nitro and electric offroad. I'm looking to get back into the onroad scene with the purchase of a HB cyclone, and I need your opinions/help.

I have found this Surikarn edition here on rctech. Just need to know if this kit is up to or close to spec with the current cyclone being sold. And/or if this would be a good buy?

http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-item...ition-wce.html

Or if I would be better off simply purchasing a new kit from HB.

Thanks

Jason Porter
porter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 07:22 PM
  #17211  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (47)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Auburn KS.
Posts: 3,490
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Oh, and I'll mostly be running 13.5 rubber on asphalt, if that helps with any of your suggestions.
porter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 08:06 PM
  #17212  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (138)
 
SammyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New England
Posts: 3,045
Trader Rating: 138 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by porter View Post
Hi guys,

I've been out of the onroad loop for quite a while now, mainly running nitro and electric offroad. I'm looking to get back into the onroad scene with the purchase of a HB cyclone, and I need your opinions/help.

I have found this Surikarn edition here on rctech. Just need to know if this kit is up to or close to spec with the current cyclone being sold. And/or if this would be a good buy?

http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-item...ition-wce.html

Or if I would be better off simply purchasing a new kit from HB.

Thanks

Jason Porter
that car sucks
SammyZ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 10:28 PM
  #17213  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Would be better with the new diff and probably the CF or fibreglass (whatever it is...) middle mount.
mangoman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 10:47 PM
  #17214  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (35)
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,025
Trader Rating: 35 (97%+)
Default

Hiro , sent you a pm
King of B Main is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 04:35 AM
  #17215  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (30)
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 7,020
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Kwikvdub View Post
Hello,

I've been using the HPI Spur Gears and was wondering if I can use the PRS Spur Gears.............. Want to know if the holes line up, plus it looks like they would line up nicely with my PRS pinions.

Thanks!
Hey Alex - yeah, you can use the PRS Spurs, but only 2 of the 4 holes on the mount lines up May not be a biggie, but you can't use all 4 screws to attach it.

I've been running them in mine for a little while and haven't had any problems

Kaybo
k_bojar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 06:06 AM
  #17216  
Tech Addict
 
cyclone speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 621
Default

Originally Posted by k_bojar View Post
Hey Alex - yeah, you can use the PRS Spurs, but only 2 of the 4 holes on the mount lines up May not be a biggie, but you can't use all 4 screws to attach it.

I've been running them in mine for a little while and haven't had any problems

Kaybo
Same here , but when you put the screws , dont put them next to each other , just put them verticaly to each other or to the oposite holes .
cyclone speed is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 06:14 AM
  #17217  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (47)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Auburn KS.
Posts: 3,490
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by B18C Turbo View Post
that car sucks


No offense intended, just trying to get a better idea of the differences between your car and the newer version.
porter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 06:34 AM
  #17218  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (92)
 
Kwikvdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 5,978
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by k_bojar View Post
Hey Alex - yeah, you can use the PRS Spurs, but only 2 of the 4 holes on the mount lines up May not be a biggie, but you can't use all 4 screws to attach it.

I've been running them in mine for a little while and haven't had any problems

Kaybo
Originally Posted by cyclone speed View Post
Same here , but when you put the screws , dont put them next to each other , just put them verticaly to each other or to the oposite holes .

Thanks Guys!......... I've always used only 2 screws anyway. Just think it's enough, plus I like the quality of the PRS gears.

Again, Thanks!
Kwikvdub is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 06:46 AM
  #17219  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (138)
 
SammyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New England
Posts: 3,045
Trader Rating: 138 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by porter View Post


No offense intended, just trying to get a better idea of the differences between your car and the newer version.
sorry i couldn't help myself.

Here is the breakdown for you. The new TC has a more durable ball diff in the back, not saying the original is bad because its been nothing but good to me ever since running the cyclone a few years ago. I think the original is very durable, i've only broke 1 diff screw because i over tightened it. The original cyclone ball diffs are very smooth.

Another revision they made on the TC were the sway bar system, apparently it is easier to adjust, I've seen it in person, im not that impressed.

Next they changed the arms, they are reversible now and offer a couple more shock position, not a big deal.

They also added a middle plate made of fiberglass material to allow the rear end of the chassis to flex more, its a tuning option, its about $5 to get.
My car has been hopped up using a worlds heat sink brace for hi-grip tracks.

Lets see, what else, they revised the upper bulkheads to be stronger and mount the shock towers a touch lower (about 1mm), also the new upper bulkheads feature 2 less camber link mounting positions. They do not make these in blue therefor it would be silly to change these.

Up front they implemented a new spool/one-way combo which is pretty cool, unfortunately they did not make this part in blue so your stuck with swapping the parts out in my car and all original cyclones. Although this combo part can be purchased and installed in older models for a direct fit. I just run a spool anyways for most tracks, the WCE spool is included in my cyclone.

The chassis and upperdeck changes are negligent, the chassis has some larger cut outs for the diff's and the top deck features an option for adding some posts to stiffen the top deck (those posts are not made in blue) so updating the top deck is pointless on this car.

Both cars are very very similar, Summary: the original cyclones have a lot more hop ups and the new TC has a lot of updates.
SammyZ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 11:52 AM
  #17220  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (47)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Auburn KS.
Posts: 3,490
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Cool,

Those things are pretty much what I've found on my own, while comparing the two.

The new car just has some minor tweaks over the previous versions. Plus I get a few extras if I purchase yours I guess

Desicions....Descicions
porter is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service