R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-02-2005, 05:56 PM   #346
Tech Elite
 
CRASH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,715
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Motor Run In Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by rayhuang
714-694-2812 714-694-2815 fax

I called them yesterday about the motor run in issue. Got very good customer support.

Ray, what did they tell you about this problem?

By the way the RED CAR is AWESOME!

Later,
CRASH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2005, 06:06 PM   #347
Tech Regular
 
Doughnes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 348
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I'm putting my Advantage up for sale. It was a hard decision but I decided to go back to my old charger and am looking to part with this one. If anyone is interested please PM me for more info and pics.

Thanks

Dan
Doughnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2005, 06:39 PM   #348
Tech Champion
 
rayhuang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Posts: 6,511
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rayhuang
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CRASH
Ray, what did they tell you about this problem?

By the way the RED CAR is AWESOME!

Later,
I dont remember the exact words, but something about removing a resistor or something takes care of the problem. Later production units do nt have the part anymore.


Thanks about my car. It was really good at the Gate and at Halo too.
rayhuang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2005, 09:14 PM   #349
Tech Fanatic
 
rogtsaamokin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 881
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Ray,

What are your step charge settings , what are your settings for 3300 or 3700???
Thanks Rogt
rogtsaamokin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2005, 06:55 AM   #350
Tech Elite
 
2-Bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rayhuang
2-bad-this charger is so hard for me to use-I even have trouble explaining how it works to others.

But-I know it can retain multiple charge profiles and within each charge profile-you can have a straight charge or a step charge profile-which are saved.

So for example-in my profile #1 I have it set for 6-cell and #2 4-cell. Each has its own unique step charging profile as well as desicharge function set at different cut-offs.

I can only offer this much as I have not programmed more than 2 charge profiles so far.
Ray,
I'll have to mail it over to you so you can program it for me....

The instructions arenít very descriptive, but I'll have another go at it tomorrow, thanks for the confirmation.

Regards,
Peter
__________________
Yokomo * G Force * Sanwa * SMC * ProSpec
2-Bad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2005, 05:55 PM   #351
Tech Master
 
Dasupacat1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,372
Trader Rating: 25 (96%+)
Send a message via MSN to Dasupacat1
Default

Ok. Some one please explain to me what the "impulse" symbol means on the step charge mode. It givesthe option of on or off. Srry for the dumb ?
Dave

Last edited by Dasupacat1; 09-03-2005 at 06:17 PM.
Dasupacat1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2005, 10:43 PM   #352
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: victoria BC
Posts: 810
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

HELP....

I was trying to use my Advantage. today. Been about a month since the last time I used it at a Thohpy race. When I hooked it all up. Then when I hook up the battery I will do the battery mantance. But when I go to charge It keep coming up "check battery" I tried to do a motor runin. Said there was not motor there. So anybody have any info that may help. I just got this charger in August. I can't afford to get another one.(wife will kill me). I will try the customer support tomorrow. I though I would try here any how.
cyrrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2005, 12:33 AM   #353
Tech Elite
 
rocketron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: palm desert
Posts: 2,266
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyrrus
HELP....

I was trying to use my Advantage. today. Been about a month since the last time I used it at a Thohpy race. When I hooked it all up. Then when I hook up the battery I will do the battery mantance. But when I go to charge It keep coming up "check battery" I tried to do a motor runin. Said there was not motor there. So anybody have any info that may help. I just got this charger in August. I can't afford to get another one.(wife will kill me). I will try the customer support tomorrow. I though I would try here any how.
Orion has very good customer service and would be surprised if your not taken care of. Call them the number is on the charger box I believe.
__________________
- SchuurSpeed - 6X ROAR National Stock Champion
- Hobbywing North America Team Manager
rocketron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2005, 03:04 AM   #354
Tech Regular
 
EVOtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Kent
Posts: 331
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dasupacat1
Ok. Some one please explain to me what the "impulse" symbol means on the step charge mode. It givesthe option of on or off. Srry for the dumb ?
Dave
Supposed to be good for Nicads, but should be OFF for NiMH, I believe.
EVOtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2005, 08:59 PM   #355
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 14
Red face IB3800

Who have set up for IB3800?Thank you
hotman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2005, 12:21 AM   #356
Tech Addict
 
josh69162's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: houston
Posts: 641
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to josh69162
Default

How do you feel this charger compares to the Cell Master? They both seem to have extremely similar features, but I don't believe the CM has the motor run in, which is very convenient. I'm in the market, and The choices today are broader than battery matchers...
-Josh
josh69162 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 06:02 AM   #357
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 225
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hotman
Who have set up for IB3800?Thank you
STEP 1..... 150mah 1.2amp
STEP 2..... 2650mah 6.5amp
STEP 3..... 4200mah 5amp

cut of 3mv/cell

temp 50
Nick Simpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 03:21 PM   #358
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 328
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by josh69162
How do you feel this charger compares to the Cell Master? They both seem to have extremely similar features, but I don't believe the CM has the motor run in, which is very convenient. I'm in the market, and The choices today are broader than battery matchers...
-Josh
I have bought and used both before. My personal opinion is .. Charging is pretty much the same with both charger (punch,runtime) but the cellmaster definitely got a better UI, it's much easier to use (e.g. got 3 step charging profile, allow finer adjustment) and looks/feels much solid, higher quality. But i like orion's motor run-in and temperature probe.

But as i said, it's just my personal opinion. So don't flame me if you don't agree.
yellow15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 03:24 PM   #359
Tech Addict
 
josh69162's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: houston
Posts: 641
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to josh69162
Default

Nah, that's cool. I don't have either, and I was stuck on which charger to get. Then I was recommended the Pitbull by Danny from SMC, so I figured that's what I should get, as I have SMC packs. I figured I don't really need the motor run in. I can use my car for that. And the discharge is pretty womanly. So I figured I'd just get CE quality charges without the unnecessary features.
-Josh
josh69162 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2005, 11:37 AM   #360
Tech Master
 
racer-oZ's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Wichita
Posts: 1,485
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I am downsizing some of my electric stuff this winter, selling an orion advantage charger for 80 bucks. it is one of the early chargers released so it has some trouble breaking in stock motors, but mods it works fine on and all other charging features work great. pm me if you are interested.

racer-oZ
racer-oZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F/S Team Orion Advantage Charger dragracer72nova R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 05-31-2008 12:36 PM
team orion advantage charger lorider75 Radio and Electronics 2 03-24-2008 09:19 PM
Team Orion Advantage Charger J_Longbrake R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 10 12-06-2007 08:09 PM
New Team Orion Advantage Charger Benro Electric On-Road 4 11-14-2005 11:09 AM
Team Orion Charger ( The New Advantage) BCOLEMAN R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 04-18-2005 01:22 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:06 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net