R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-25-2005, 02:46 AM   #331
Tech Regular
 
vulso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 342
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Brown
I have the 25 amp Radio shack unit and it's a great power supply. I currently run two Advantage chargers, my fan for my integy 030 tray and my Yokomo motor system off it, sometimes all at once and the thing never even flinches. I saw that the one Shookie said and it looks nice too, but I just know that the Radio Shack one is awessome. Also, if there is a problem with it, there are a million Radio Shacks around.
That's the one I was looking at. I appreciate the info.
vulso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 03:44 AM   #332
Tech Apprentice
 
DORIFT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 4201...4202...4203mah and keeps going....
Posts: 59
Default

Hi all, I am having a problem with my Advantage charger.

I was discharging some GP3300s tonite, and all of a sudden, the charger stopped working, its like "frozen/hanged".

The display stopped moving, no sounds, buttons doesnt work. The only options left for me to do was to unplug it from the mains, and let it cool for 10mins. After that I plug it back on, now the display come up as one black line... nothing else can be done to it.... what could be wrong....???

This is my 2nd Orion Charger, the 1st one is still working happily, I only got this 2nd one 2 weeks ago.

Anyhelp would be great.
DORIFT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2005, 01:34 PM   #333
Tech Champion
 
rayhuang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Posts: 6,511
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rayhuang
Default

Hey all,

My Advantage is having problems running any motors that pull any decent amps. I talked to a buddy who says his will run any motor no matter the amp draw. I have mine set at 2volts and it still cuts off. I cannt break in motors, and it wont even run my lathe!!!

Any help on how to get around this-bsdies sending it into to get modified at my expense-no doubt.

Thanks,
Ray
rayhuang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 09:43 AM   #334
Tech Adept
 
diha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 160
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I had the same problem. Set at 2V & it cuts off immediately stating motor shorted. However, after a few tries, it begins to run.....
Do not know what's the problem........

Quote:
Originally Posted by rayhuang
Hey all,

My Advantage is having problems running any motors that pull any decent amps. I talked to a buddy who says his will run any motor no matter the amp draw. I have mine set at 2volts and it still cuts off. I cannt break in motors, and it wont even run my lathe!!!

Any help on how to get around this-bsdies sending it into to get modified at my expense-no doubt.

Thanks,
Ray
diha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2005, 11:49 PM   #335
Tech Addict
 
dyaz21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cali
Posts: 672
Default

anybody has a good setup for charging ib3800s ??
dyaz21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2005, 08:39 AM   #336
Tech Master
 
racer-oZ's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Wichita
Posts: 1,485
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

What's the latest step mode setup that seems to be working good for 19turn sedan?
racer-oZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 04:32 AM   #337
Tech Addict
 
mutley001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 662
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dyaz21
anybody has a good setup for charging ib3800s ??
I've just been using the GP3700 step profile posted on the Team Orion Website:

1) 7A to 250
2) 0.2A to 2550
3) 6A to 4400

Cut off at 50 degrees peak at 3mv

Seems to be ok so far

Paul
__________________
ARC R11 2017
ARC R10 2013
EA Motorsports www.teameamotorsports.com
Team EAM
mutley001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 07:19 AM   #338
Tech Regular
 
EVOtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Kent
Posts: 331
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mutley001
I've just been using the GP3700 step profile posted on the Team Orion Website:

1) 7A to 250
2) 0.2A to 2550
3) 6A to 4400

Cut off at 50 degrees peak at 3mv

Seems to be ok so far

Paul
I use exactly the same with the exception of the 0.2 consuming too much time at our meetings, so I upped it to 1A. I've seen setups like that used by other people.

Same setup seems to work well on IB 3600 and 3800 as well.
EVOtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 11:14 AM   #339
Tech Addict
 
dyaz21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cali
Posts: 672
Default

Is that 7A to 250 or 7A to 2500 ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by mutley001
I've just been using the GP3700 step profile posted on the Team Orion Website:

1) 7A to 250
2) 0.2A to 2550
3) 6A to 4400

Cut off at 50 degrees peak at 3mv

Seems to be ok so far

Paul
dyaz21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 03:06 PM   #340
Tech Addict
 
mutley001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 662
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dyaz21
Is that 7A to 250 or 7A to 2500 ??

Sorry! my typo! 2500
__________________
ARC R11 2017
ARC R10 2013
EA Motorsports www.teameamotorsports.com
Team EAM
mutley001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 03:38 PM   #341
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default Temp Probe

hey guys.. can someone give me a link(s) to where i can purchase additional temperature probes? I wasnt able to locate it on the Team Orion website. Thank you!

- Chris
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2005, 03:21 AM   #342
Tech Elite
 
2-Bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Please correct me if I'm wrong but this charger;

Only supports one Step Charging program.

Then what use are the 5 memories of "Battery Data" presets, if these profiles can be overridden by step charging?


Is the charger software upgradeable, so one day it will be capable to retaining multiple step charge profiles?

Anyone know?
__________________
Yokomo * G Force * Sanwa * SMC * ProSpec
2-Bad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2005, 09:25 AM   #343
Tech Champion
 
rayhuang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Posts: 6,511
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rayhuang
Default

2-bad-this charger is so hard for me to use-I even have trouble explaining how it works to others.

But-I know it can retain multiple charge profiles and within each charge profile-you can have a straight charge or a step charge profile-which are saved.

So for example-in my profile #1 I have it set for 6-cell and #2 4-cell. Each has its own unique step charging profile as well as desicharge function set at different cut-offs.

I can only offer this much as I have not programmed more than 2 charge profiles so far.
rayhuang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2005, 10:27 AM   #344
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 141
Default

You can contact Team Orion in your country and they will give you the details how to get a temp probe !
Nicolas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2005, 10:30 AM   #345
Tech Champion
 
rayhuang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Posts: 6,511
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rayhuang
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicolas
You can contact Team Orion in your country and they will give you the details how to get a temp probe !
714-694-2812 714-694-2815 fax

I called them yesterday about the motor run in issue. Got very good customer support.
rayhuang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F/S Team Orion Advantage Charger dragracer72nova R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 05-31-2008 12:36 PM
team orion advantage charger lorider75 Radio and Electronics 2 03-24-2008 09:19 PM
Team Orion Advantage Charger J_Longbrake R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 10 12-06-2007 08:09 PM
New Team Orion Advantage Charger Benro Electric On-Road 4 11-14-2005 11:09 AM
Team Orion Charger ( The New Advantage) BCOLEMAN R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 04-18-2005 01:22 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:28 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net