R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-24-2005, 12:35 AM   #151
Tech Initiate
 
JMBetticher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 43
Default

You can adjust the temp in the charge section where you adjust mV and charge amps etc etc... (linear and megaflex)

Step charge has his own setting.

If you use linear, megaflex or step charge, the charge will stop when one of the three detection (temp, mAh, mV) has been reach first.
JMBetticher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 09:52 AM   #152
Tech Elite
 
mtveten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,668
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JMBetticher
You can adjust the temp in the charge section where you adjust mV and charge amps etc etc... (linear and megaflex)

Step charge has his own setting.

If you use linear, megaflex or step charge, the charge will stop when one of the three detection (temp, mAh, mV) has been reach first.
Where is the adjustment for the peak temp for linear and megaflex modes, I can't find it in the menue.

With the repeak delay is that only available when step charging? In the step charge I see where I can change it from Roff to R1, R2 etc up to R5 does it set the min until repeak? How exactly does the repeak work?

Thanks,
Mark
mtveten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 10:02 AM   #153
Tech Elite
 
rocketron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: palm desert
Posts: 2,266
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mtveten
Where is the adjustment for the peak temp for linear and megaflex modes, I can't find it in the menue.
Thanks,
Mark
i believe you'll find this under "battery data" there are 5 profiles there
rocketron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 10:48 AM   #154
Tech Elite
 
mtveten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,668
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Does the temp setting only show in certain battery profiles? I have gone through the menu and its not there, are there multiple software version floating around?

Mark
mtveten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2005, 03:45 PM   #155
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Da Bayou
Posts: 422
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

FYI:
I spoke with a support guy at Orion today to get clarification on some issues before I buy.
#1: Does the three cutoff protections(mAh,Temp,Delta V) work with all three charge modes? Yes per Orion
#2: Does the charger have a built in charge timer? Yes per Orion
#3: How does the save mode work for different charge profiles? Per Orion: The charger can save 5 different charge profiles in any of the three different charge modes. It can save multiple charge profiles of the same mode (ie. Step,Linear,Pulse/Flex) but only a combined total of 5 profiles. Not 5 in each charge modes.

MPM 2:
#1: What is the max amp draw for the MPM 2? Per Orion: The max CONTINUOUS amp draw is 13 amps. This can be exceeded during spool up. Support didn't give an exact max for amp draw. If the motor gives a 20 or 30 amp draw on spool up the MPM 2 will handle it, the power supply may cause a problem if it can't handle the draw.

Hopes this helps some of you that may be thinking about this charger. It helped me, I'm about to buy 2 chargers and a MPM 2.
sdmlsu1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2005, 05:00 PM   #156
Tech Master
 
berger's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bathurst, Australia
Posts: 1,149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Well i wont be using my replacement to run in any motors after mine went pop running the first motor in i ever threw at it. Ill stick to my pulsar thank you, the step charging looks good and i like the temp sensor.
berger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2005, 08:37 PM   #157
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 328
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sdmlsu1
FYI:
I spoke with a support guy at Orion today to get clarification on some issues before I buy.
#1: Does the three cutoff protections(mAh,Temp,Delta V) work with all three charge modes? Yes per Orion
#2: Does the charger have a built in charge timer? Yes per Orion
#3: How does the save mode work for different charge profiles? Per Orion: The charger can save 5 different charge profiles in any of the three different charge modes. It can save multiple charge profiles of the same mode (ie. Step,Linear,Pulse/Flex) but only a combined total of 5 profiles. Not 5 in each charge modes.
#3: Unfortunately, the step setting is global. i.e. you can only store 1 step profile. All the 5 different battery profile will share the same step charge setting. Which is not really good in my opinion, the main reason we buy the new orion charger is because of the step charge feature (or else i can just buy a cheaper charger) but i have to re-enter my setting everytime i swtich the battery.
There are quite a few settings which i think should be different for each profile but instead they are global as well :/

So, the so-called 5 profiles is a bit pointless to me, very user-unfriendly if you ask me as i still have to re-program it everytime i charge a different battery.
yellow15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 12:51 AM   #158
Tech Initiate
 
JMBetticher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 43
Default

mtveten

You can find the temp setting :
When you scroll to Charge section, press set-up and you enter the charge menu setting section.

You can find the charge repeak delay setting :
Also in the charge section, you can adjust from Off to 60 minutes for linear and megaflex
JMBetticher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 05:07 AM   #159
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,818
Send a message via MSN to raving-monkey
Default

I fried a cell on 2 packs using the step charge yesterday..anyone else experienced this?

The settings someone gave me seemed fine (and they probably were, i think he uses that on his chargers)

the settings are

1st:

5amp to 2600
5mv/cell

2nd:

0.2amp to 2650
5mv/cell

3rd:

6amp to finish
5mv/cell


I charged a total of about 7 or so packs using step charge, about 4 of them have finished because of the temperature (they were even getting to 55-60deg outdoors!)

We went onto normal charge to be on the safe side and batts were reaching 25deg if we were lucky and charged the cells fine. I will go back to step charge once i know some settings that aint gonna fry my batts (if it was because of the settings.

Anyone got any ideas?
raving-monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 05:18 AM   #160
Tech Regular
 
Crashmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincs, England
Posts: 363
Default

raving-monkey,
I've been running the step charge as peer David Spashetts recomendations. He told me to run:

7amp 1000mah
1.2amp 100mah
6amp until finish

with a 3mv/cell cut off, temp of 50 celcius and no mega flex on any of the steps. Works nicely for me, and can't say as i've experienced any cells dieing.

Cheers
Crashmaster
Crashmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 05:38 AM   #161
Tech Initiate
 
JMBetticher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 43
Default

MTveten

In the step charging mode (Roff, R1, R2...R5)

Re-Peak charge
In order to get this re-peak charge to be activated after step charge is finished, first, you have to set the re-peak delay time ( off to 60minutes ) in Charge setup menu.
But, if you set the re-peak delay time to "OFF" in the charge setup menu, re-peak does not function at all, no matter what re-peak number you have set.

Then, in the step charge mode, you should select re-peak cycle number from R1 to R5.
Again, R1......R5 means the re-peak number, not delay minutes.

I hope it helps you.
JMBetticher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 05:54 AM   #162
Tech Initiate
 
JMBetticher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 43
Default

Raving Monkey

What was your temp set-up ?

With 3mV set up the battery temp is around 40

Your battery has to be completely discharge befor using step charging.
JMBetticher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2005, 10:02 AM   #163
Tech Elite
 
kewdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sneederville, USA
Posts: 3,311
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sdmlsu1
FYI:
I spoke with a support guy at Orion today to get clarification on some issues before I buy.
#1: Does the three cutoff protections(mAh,Temp,Delta V) work with all three charge modes? Yes per Orion
#2: Does the charger have a built in charge timer? Yes per Orion
#3: How does the save mode work for different charge profiles? Per Orion: The charger can save 5 different charge profiles in any of the three different charge modes. It can save multiple charge profiles of the same mode (ie. Step,Linear,Pulse/Flex) but only a combined total of 5 profiles. Not 5 in each charge modes.

MPM 2:
#1: What is the max amp draw for the MPM 2? Per Orion: The max CONTINUOUS amp draw is 13 amps. This can be exceeded during spool up. Support didn't give an exact max for amp draw. If the motor gives a 20 or 30 amp draw on spool up the MPM 2 will handle it, the power supply may cause a problem if it can't handle the draw.

Hopes this helps some of you that may be thinking about this charger. It helped me, I'm about to buy 2 chargers and a MPM 2.
Where are you buying your MPM 2? Can't get it, here in the states.
__________________
Quinn Moon

Trinity / Epic / Revtech / VBC Racing USA / Mugen Seiki / Hot Race Tyres / SkyRocket Racing / SUPAFAST RC
kewdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2005, 10:56 AM   #164
Tech Master
 
ghoppa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sin City - Las Vegas
Posts: 1,721
Trader Rating: 54 (98%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kewdawg
Where are you buying your MPM 2? Can't get it, here in the states.
quite a few are selling it....

Ultimate (possibly your best price)
Stormer
Sheldons
etc.....
__________________
R1 Wurks - ActivRC - ApexRC - P1 Brands
ghoppa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2005, 11:20 AM   #165
Tech Elite
 
rocketron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: palm desert
Posts: 2,266
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kewdawg
Where are you buying your MPM 2? Can't get it, here in the states.
the latest TWO Orion units handle the AMPS, the very latest Orion MPM is just like the MPM 2 from MMR.

Orion shouldn't be hard to fine but ensure its the newest version.
rocketron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F/S Team Orion Advantage Charger dragracer72nova R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 05-31-2008 12:36 PM
team orion advantage charger lorider75 Radio and Electronics 2 03-24-2008 09:19 PM
Team Orion Advantage Charger J_Longbrake R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 10 12-06-2007 08:09 PM
New Team Orion Advantage Charger Benro Electric On-Road 4 11-14-2005 11:09 AM
Team Orion Charger ( The New Advantage) BCOLEMAN R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 04-18-2005 01:22 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:57 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net