Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Team Orion Advantage Charger >

Team Orion Advantage Charger

Team Orion Advantage Charger

Reply

Old 03-23-2005, 05:37 AM
  #136  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (26)
 
CRASH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,715
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by racer-oZ
crash, the instructions are not going to help you at all on setups. They merely show you how to navigate through the menu, but tell you nothing about setups or charging recommendations. I got my setups and stuff from some guys on here for the step charging function. I've used it a couple weekends now and thought the step charge was cool and seemed to help a little with punch, but unless they fix the motor run in problem before you buy one make sure you have another alternative for breaking in stocks and 19turns.

hope this helps

racer-oZ
Thanks racer-oZ. I have my 35BL for motor break in. Plus Billy does all my motors. All I do is put in the car run it give it back to him and say FIX IT, its too slow.

Looking forward to racing mod with you guys this summer at Fastlane.

Later,
CRASH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2005, 07:15 AM
  #137  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Da Bayou
Posts: 422
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Does this charger have a delay feature for charging so you can set it and walk away? (ex. set up charger to start charging in 15 minutes from present time)
sdmlsu1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2005, 07:49 AM
  #138  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (16)
 
rocketron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: palm desert
Posts: 2,268
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by sdmlsu1
Does this charger have a delay feature for charging so you can set it and walk away? (ex. set up charger to start charging in 15 minutes from present time)
yes it does but unfortunately not when using step charge function.
rocketron is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2005, 10:42 AM
  #139  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Da Bayou
Posts: 422
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default Step Charging

I'm assuming you guys are using step charge function on packs that have been zeroed on a tray. Will step charge work on a partially charged pack? I charge my trayed packs at 6 amps with 3-5mV delta and it takes about 35-40 minutes. How long does it take to charge a trayed pack using step charge?
sdmlsu1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2005, 10:52 AM
  #140  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (16)
 
rocketron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: palm desert
Posts: 2,268
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default Re: Step Charging

Originally posted by sdmlsu1
I'm assuming you guys are using step charge function on packs that have been zeroed on a tray. Will step charge work on a partially charged pack? I charge my trayed packs at 6 amps with 3-5mV delta and it takes about 35-40 minutes. How long does it take to charge a trayed pack using step charge?
charger in step charge mode will charge your trayed packs. step charge of a partially charged pack.... would depend on your setup because the peak detection is locked out during step one and two so you could easily over charge, but with that said if your temp setting is set that would stop the charge by reaching temp.

step charging a trayed pack is taking me approximately 40-45 minutes
rocketron is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2005, 10:57 AM
  #141  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,189
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Could they have made it any uglier?

I'm just sayin'... :-D
syndr0me is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2005, 11:40 AM
  #142  
Tech Regular
 
Crashmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincs, England
Posts: 363
Default

Originally posted by syndr0me
Could they have made it any uglier?

I'm just sayin'... :-D
You know what they say, its on the inside what counts
I've been running it now for a month, and I must admit I'm liking it very much. I haven't had any problems yet with the motor running-in feature, so maybe I'm lucky, but time will tell. The step charging method its brilliant, and I found it to offer tonnes for power with the runtime still intact.

Cheers
Crashmaster
Crashmaster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2005, 03:00 PM
  #143  
Tech Elite
 
POOKYT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Cabot, AR
Posts: 3,584
Default

Originally posted by syndr0me
Could they have made it any uglier?

I'm just sayin'... :-D
Yes they could have!

Brant
POOKYT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2005, 03:03 PM
  #144  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (26)
 
CRASH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,715
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. I will take perofrmance over beauty any day.

Later,
CRASH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2005, 04:47 PM
  #145  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Da Bayou
Posts: 422
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Does the charger use temp/mAh/delta mV cutoff protection for all of the different charge modes?
sdmlsu1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2005, 08:19 PM
  #146  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 894
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

If I am not mistaken here, only step charge mode uses mah/peak/temp for cutoffs. Linear and Flex use mah/peak for cutoff.
429racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2005, 08:52 PM
  #147  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Da Bayou
Posts: 422
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

So you cannot use a temperature cutoff when charging in linear mode... now I may have to rethink my decision to buy.
sdmlsu1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2005, 09:13 PM
  #148  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 894
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Rest assured that the charger is a very nice charger. I have not yet peaked my batteries by temp but by mahs and peak in step charge mode.
429racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2005, 09:20 PM
  #149  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (16)
 
rocketron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: palm desert
Posts: 2,268
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by sdmlsu1
So you cannot use a temperature cutoff when charging in linear mode... now I may have to rethink my decision to buy.
i've only used the step charge function but had thought the temp cut-off was available in the linear mode.

maybe one of the orion folks can help on this?
rocketron is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2005, 09:24 PM
  #150  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
racer-oZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Wichita
Posts: 1,485
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

rocketron, i think you are right as well... the way i remember it was that if you wanted it to peak by mv then you set the temp cutoff high so the mv would detect peak before the temperature, and vice versa, but i'm far from an expert on this charger yet.

racer-oZ
racer-oZ is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service