R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 02-16-2005, 08:29 AM   #1
Tech Rookie

Default tire traction compound...how long to soak?

I'm fairly new to this thing and I've been wondering, how long should I be leaving traction compound on the tires before driving? How does this actually work? Does the additive soften up the tires or does the liquid itself generate grip?

If it softens up the tires, should I be wiping it off before I drive?

thanks in advance.
lateapex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2005, 09:10 AM   #2
Tech Initiate

Yes it softens the tire and you're supposed to wipe it off a few minutes before your run, the tires should not be wet when entering the track. Soak period can vary, if the surface is high traction, only a few minutes may be necessary but if you need traction then let it soak for at least 30 minutes.
Old 02-16-2005, 10:01 AM   #3
Tech Rookie

I like to soak the rears about 30 minutes before a heat and wipe them off about 5 minutes before you go out onto the track. I only cover about 1/4 of the inside front tires.
valem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2005, 10:46 AM   #4
Tech Master

R/C Tech Charter Subscriber

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Depends on the track/tyre. Usually full rears and half to full fronts for 10-15 mins wiping 5 mins before my race.
berger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2005, 11:45 AM   #5
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

Soak rears for 30 min do fronts as you need it.

A suggestion:

Instead of wiping the compund off...Why not have your track place a square of carpet next to the drivers stand. It's called a burnout pad.

Just hold the front of your car and put it on the pad and give it a good burst of throttle.

Heats up tires and wipes away excess compund.

-Me
Soviet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2005, 11:54 AM   #6
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)