R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-15-2012, 04:36 PM   #481
Tech Master
 
spurcheck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Last in the "Z" main
Posts: 1,628
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Some of this is true. If you have an esc that is only providing 3.5v with a properly charged receiver pack OR a properly functioning booster you have a failure in the sensor port.

It has nothing to do with the age of it.

It occurs when a voltage spike back feeds through the system, blows a component and increases the resistance of the circuit. This is where the voltage drop occurs. We only see this failure on 1s setups.
I see I am not the only racer to have experienced this anomoly. I was working with one of your team drivers in the south jersey area on the issue. Totally caught me off guard when this occured. I am meticulus about my electronics. My speedo is several seasons old. The other two RS speedos are newer. I have not tried using either of them in 1 cell configuration to see if they are prone to the same issue. What I would like to know is what is Tekin's position on this. Is there a good will exchange for those experiencing this problem? If so, can this info be found on Tekin's site and what is the racers participation if any. Just trying to determine my next course of action on this issue.
__________________
The Punter or The Punt-ee,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,who you be??

No Apologies Racing, don't believe me, try me!!!!!
spurcheck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 11:30 AM   #482
Tech Elite
 
j.d.roost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3,087
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

J.J. ...I had this same issue last year with a brand new rs/pro and a s.p. motor with the high timing board (tq booster-1/12-1s setup). I had a video posted of this happening on the bench but I removed it after it was suggested by Tekin to just run a rx pack..
The booster pack resolved all issues for me.
Not sure if there is any "fix" for it if you want to run the tq booster.
__________________
F1
Roche usa
R.I.P. Jon Williams
j.d.roost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 12:14 PM   #483
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,620
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MUDVAYNE View Post
I'm looking for a good starting point for rollout for my 13.5. The track is 80 x 42. Here is what I'm running:

WGT 13.5 blinky
13.5 D3.5
single cell
Tekin RS
80 x 42 carpet track

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Anyone?
MUDVAYNE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 01:21 PM   #484
Tech Elite
 
bkspeedo's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fort Fun, CO
Posts: 3,139
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MUDVAYNE View Post
I'm looking for a good starting point for rollout for my 13.5. The track is 80 x 42. Here is what I'm running:

WGT 13.5 blinky
13.5 D3.5
single cell
Tekin RS
80 x 42 carpet track

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
3.25" rollout, Ex. 88 spur, 44 pinion, 2.05" tire, endbell timing 25
__________________
Brent Klingforth
Sponsors: Awesomatix USA ~ Roche USA ~ ORCA ~ AVID Bearings ~ R1 Wurks
TQ Wire ~ Montech ~ WTF ~ BSR Racing Tires ~ 2mm Design ~ Helix Designs
5280 Raceway
MILE HIGH INDOOR CHAMPS April 19-22nd 2018 @ www.milehighindoorchamps.com
bkspeedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 05:03 PM   #485
Tech Elite
 
Potoczak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 3,609
Trader Rating: 112 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys what is the difference between the 12.3 and 12.5 high torque rotor for the d 3.5. What will each one do differently??
__________________
Pete Potoczak

Home entertainment specialist
Secure Technologies/ www.stiworldwide.com
Potoczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 07:33 AM   #486
Tech Master
 
Jerz616's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas,TX
Posts: 1,045
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Potoczak View Post
Hey guys what is the difference between the 12.3 and 12.5 high torque rotor for the d 3.5. What will each one do differently??
The 12.5 ht has more torque then the 12.3 ht because of the larger size. I believe the 12.3 will give you a little more torque then standard but still have a better top end then the 12.5. The 12.5 will give you the most torque but you lose the top end, but you can gear it taller to regain the top end and still have the low end rip that the HT rotor is good for.
__________________
Ryan Gracey

XRAY T4'14/ORCA VXX/ORCA TX 5.0
XRAY XB8'14
Jerz616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 01:07 PM   #487
Tech Champion
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,914
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerz616 View Post
The 12.5 ht has more torque then the 12.3 ht because of the larger size. I believe the 12.3 will give you a little more torque then standard but still have a better top end then the 12.5. The 12.5 will give you the most torque but you lose the top end, but you can gear it taller to regain the top end and still have the low end rip that the HT rotor is good for.
Do the same apply for 1s racing in WGT?
__________________
Adrian Martinez
What I run: Schumacher Mi5/Associated RC10R5.1/Associated RC12R5.2/Futaba/HobbyWing/Team EA Motorsports/BSR Racing
Where I run: Florida Indoor R/C Complex/Thunder Racing/Florida On Road State Series
AdrianM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 04:02 PM   #488
Tech Master
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,620
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys theres something wrong with my motor and im not sure what it is .....i have a 17.5 turn duo 3.5 and this motor is like the armature is wobbling and not spinning straight when lots of throttle is implemented its stripping the spurs and the mesh is correct and the spurs are straight....any ideas....Thanks.........i did unscrew both ends to slide the end plate just to get the holes to line up with the motor mount....but it when back together correctly at least it looks correct lol
theatriks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 06:37 PM   #489
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,238
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theatriks View Post
Hey guys theres something wrong with my motor and im not sure what it is .....i have a 17.5 turn duo 3.5 and this motor is like the armature is wobbling and not spinning straight when lots of throttle is implemented its stripping the spurs and the mesh is correct and the spurs are straight....any ideas....Thanks.........i did unscrew both ends to slide the end plate just to get the holes to line up with the motor mount....but it when back together correctly at least it looks correct lol
Is there any play when its put together
goots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 07:54 PM   #490
Tech Master
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,620
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by goots View Post
Is there any play when its put together
A little bit pushing it in and out but that's normal and no up and down play
theatriks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 08:11 PM   #491
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Wisconsin USA
Posts: 3,338
Trader Rating: 217 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theatriks View Post
A little bit pushing it in and out but that's normal and no up and down play
Sounds like a bent shaft.
Andy Koback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 09:47 PM   #492
Tech Master
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,620
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Koback View Post
Sounds like a bent shaft.
How does that happen lol
theatriks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 10:59 PM   #493
Tech Elite
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 2,189
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theatriks View Post
How does that happen lol
maybe something got wedged in between the pinion and spur durring a race! Dont know! You could take out the rotor and roll it on a flat surface to check!
Josh-n-ya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 07:21 AM   #494
Tech Master
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,620
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh-n-ya View Post
maybe something got wedged in between the pinion and spur durring a race! Dont know! You could take out the rotor and roll it on a flat surface to check!


Will do...thanks!
theatriks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 10:12 AM   #495
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Wisconsin USA
Posts: 3,338
Trader Rating: 217 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theatriks View Post
How does that happen lol
Taking a hard hit would do it. Should be able to take the pinion off and run the motor slow and if it's bent, you should be able to see it.
Andy Koback is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEW HOBBYWING STOCK SUPERCHARGED SOFTWARE COBRARACING Radio and Electronics 12544 10-09-2017 09:03 AM
BEST 17.5 MOTOR FOR STOCK RACING tibbs Electric Off-Road 22 07-14-2012 01:20 AM
17.5t looking for new motor Craig W Electric On-Road 8 07-28-2011 05:37 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:12 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net