R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-30-2005, 07:20 PM   #121
Tech Fanatic
 
Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Adelaide, SA
Posts: 759
Send a message via MSN to Integrated
Default

For all of you that have voltage adjustable power supplys what do you set them on, i set mine at 12.54v to run both my Eagle CDC chargers of it.
__________________
Paul Savage

Mugen MBX6! - Novarossi Plus 21-7BT - Novarossi Tunned Pipe - JR Z1 / Spektrum Pro - ProTek LiPo Power

My Vids: http://www.zone3adelaide.com/rcmovies/integrated

http://www.rchobbyzone.com.au
Integrated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2005, 07:48 PM   #122
Tech Fanatic
 
crimson eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 841
Send a message via ICQ to crimson eagle
Default

I set my power supply to 13.8v so I can charge my 7 cell nicad plane batteries and my 8 nimh transmitter cells.
crimson eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2005, 12:14 AM   #123
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Post

Thanx Chris... - JB
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2005, 12:19 AM   #124
Tech Elite
 
jeffreylin's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Traction Roll!
Posts: 2,564
Default 25+ amp power supply

Can anyone suggest a power supply that can handle 25+ amp (preferably 30+) yet fairly compact? I need it to drive a tire truer and the 23 amp CE power supply I have does not provide quite enough power but sure is nice and small...
jeffreylin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2005, 02:12 AM   #125
Tech Elite
 
JasonC's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: oceanside ca
Posts: 4,099
Trader Rating: 120 (100%+)
Default

hey jeff get tha alinco.... http://www.speedtechrc.com/store/ebp...nid=63&id=5006
__________________
#60 of the Original 100
If your not part of the solution
Your part of the problem !
JasonC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2005, 06:30 AM   #126
Tech Elite
 
jeffreylin's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Traction Roll!
Posts: 2,564
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JasonC
hey jeff get tha alinco.... http://www.speedtechrc.com/store/ebp...nid=63&id=5006
Hey cool Jason. Found it on Shoptron for $15 less!
jeffreylin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2005, 10:20 PM   #127
Tech Master
 
axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,226
Default

my cousin just baught a duratrax ice. no power supply though. We found a 15 amp power supply at Radio Shack for 80 bucks. But does fry's have any good ones without having to make any mods to it?
axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2005, 08:35 AM   #128
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 492
Default

Radio shack has a 25 amp unit for $99.99.
it looks the same as a samlex 1223 but they rate their p/s at 20 amps. $99.99 you can find these at ham radio outlet.
baih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2005, 03:19 PM   #129
Tech Master
 
axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,226
Default

thanks for the help.
axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2005, 05:44 PM   #130
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Post

this is it... -JB
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO

Last edited by JayBee; 09-12-2008 at 10:28 PM.
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2005, 08:29 PM   #131
Tech Fanatic
 
RodneyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

,
RodneyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2005, 11:58 PM   #132
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 11
Thumbs up

hey, some of you have made some nice looking junction boxes there.

Just thought id clear up the issue about powersuply's needing some of their amperage to power them selfs...this is not the case a powersuply does draw amps so that it can work yes, however its drawn from your mains power supply not the unit itself(it doesnt power itself).

A powersuply rated at 20amps can supply or output up to 20amps b4 things start to go pear shaped, try to draw to much amperage and it will most likely over heat or posibly blowup

I dont actually race rc yet so just curious why everyone uses banna plugs? do they come standard on chargers and stuff or something?

topher
Topher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2005, 08:40 AM   #133
Tech Addict
 
KenSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Aledo, TX
Posts: 600
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to KenSmith Send a message via Yahoo to KenSmith
Default here is my junction box w/switches

Well thanks to everyone here for the great ideas. I had been frustrated with my web of clips all over my bulldog 30amp PS for years now...then I saw this thread and how easy to fix it.

Here is a pic of mine. All parts from Radio Shack (about $25 for box/female outlets, and another 10 for new plugs for all my chargers, dyno, fans).

I put plugs for input as well so I can remove all wires for storage. I switched the top 3 outlets....not sure why just three...it is handy...perhaps I will add more later. Perhaps I will add some LEDs for bling and a master lighted switch next time I open it up. Great for now,and the satisfaction of doing it myself!
Ken
Attached Images
File Type: jpg p4290033.jpg (73.8 KB, 215 views)
KenSmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2005, 08:41 AM   #134
Tech Addict
 
KenSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Aledo, TX
Posts: 600
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to KenSmith Send a message via Yahoo to KenSmith
Default and one in action

and one in action
Attached Images
File Type: jpg p4290030.jpg (75.8 KB, 209 views)
KenSmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2005, 04:55 PM   #135
Tech Fanatic
 
Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Adelaide, SA
Posts: 759
Send a message via MSN to Integrated
Default

Nice work Ken, the switched terminals would be good for tyre warmers or anything you dont plan on removing. Good job !
__________________
Paul Savage

Mugen MBX6! - Novarossi Plus 21-7BT - Novarossi Tunned Pipe - JR Z1 / Spektrum Pro - ProTek LiPo Power

My Vids: http://www.zone3adelaide.com/rcmovies/integrated

http://www.rchobbyzone.com.au
Integrated is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
chargers and power supplies cbl R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 10 01-21-2008 08:33 AM
2 Chargers and 2 Power Supplies mwiley R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 11-21-2007 10:08 AM
wtb chargers and power supplies tulsa R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 22 07-18-2006 05:35 AM
Question on chargers and power supplies koinonas Electric On-Road 3 05-25-2006 10:34 PM
BIG SALE- M8, XXX-S's, chargers, power supplies, etc.... cdelong R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 25 09-26-2004 05:57 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:58 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net