R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-16-2012, 03:29 AM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 37
Default How do I charge my battery?

Ok I just tried to charge my battery just now for the first time and I noticed that the charger was getting really hot right away. I got this car from the US and I have a feeling that the Australian voltage at house holds is different to the US and I stuffed up my charger because it does not work now once I disconnected it as soon as it got hot. The led will not switch on to indicate power and I cant charge my battery anymore. What gives?
Archangel22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 03:45 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
R3VoLuTiOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 2,391
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

What charger is it and what does the manual say about voltage?
__________________
John Tsang 🏁 VBC Racing 🚗 ORCA RC 🚗 GripworksRC 🚗 MotivRC 🚗 GravityRC 🚗 RC America

http://www.facebook.com/VancouverRRR 🏁 http://www.facebook.com/OvergearedRacing
R3VoLuTiOn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 04:38 AM   #3
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 37
Default

Its the standard one that came with the redcat lightning model. On the charger it says:
Input 120V 60Hz 8W
Output 9V 250mA
Output power 2.25W
Archangel22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 05:18 AM   #4
Tech Master
 
silvalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,545
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

yeah we are 240vac 50hz

don't plug that in.
silvalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 09:16 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
y2kgtp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deltona, FL
Posts: 2,559
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to y2kgtp Send a message via Yahoo to y2kgtp
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silvalis View Post
yeah we are 240vac 50hz

don't plug that in.
I think it's time for a new charger.
__________________
"Yes my car is technically illegal, but still its either just as fast or slower than any other car on the track so whats the issue with it being illegal?"
y2kgtp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 02:18 PM   #6
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 37
Default

Lol damn I didnt think it would matter and thought itd be the same as phone chargers itll be that low of a power to use it would work. So my next question, what can I get for cheap? I dont need them super powerful charges that charge the battery asap Im fine to wait a few hrs for it to charge before I use it. Im paranoid now to find out what I can use here that wont fry it up again
Archangel22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 02:30 PM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 972
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

http://www.dealextreme.com/p/imax-b6...-us-plug-35190
Steve S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 03:22 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
silvalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,545
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Phone chargers work because they are switchmode 120/240 dual input voltage not because they are low power.
silvalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 04:52 PM   #9
Tech Rookie
 
bodzio1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Hi all ! I have a question can I swap deans connectors for tamiya ? I just bought Reedy Xp Digital Brushless Motor And Esc and I wonder if I can do it with tamiya plug and 7.2v NiMh battery? Help please!!!
bodzio1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 05:02 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,762
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bodzio1977 View Post
Hi all ! I have a question can I swap deans connectors for tamiya ? I just bought Reedy Xp Digital Brushless Motor And Esc and I wonder if I can do it with tamiya plug and 7.2v NiMh battery? Help please!!!
Yes ypu can, but bare in mind that Tamiya plugs are crap. That's why they get warm when under a lot of electrical load.
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 05:03 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,762
Default

When an item can be used almost anywhere in the world it will say 100-240V, 50/60Hz on it.

If it only has one exact Voltage stated then that is what must be used.
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 02:50 AM   #12
Tech Master
 
silvalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,545
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

within reason of course. +/- 10vac is fine provided the frequencies are still the same
silvalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I charge my batteries stevo9 Radio and Electronics 8 07-08-2011 07:46 AM
How do I charge?! SubarooMike Electric Off-Road 13 04-22-2011 04:48 PM
How do I charge lipo at 9.6A / Orion Carbon Advantage bigemike Electric On-Road 20 09-25-2007 07:50 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:24 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net