R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-08-2005, 09:05 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
BSchorr's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 4,820
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BSchorr Send a message via Yahoo to BSchorr Send a message via Skype™ to BSchorr
Default Fire In My House! From a cooling fan

Ok,heres the thing, i see a guy at my local track having a little fan that is plugged into an outlet to cool off his batts when they are charging and to cool down his motors.

So....

I wanted to do the same thing, so i took a fan out of a junk power supply and rigged it up to a cut extension cord, then i pluged it in and krrrr, pluuuuu, grrr, Fire!

WTF is going on! i look on the fan after the fire and it says 12volt?!!!!!! so, where do i get a fan like that size that is 110volt!!??? I dont live in europe so i dont need a 220v.

Can someone point me in the right direction??!!
__________________
Proline ~ Genesis R/C Products ~ First Premier Satellites
BSchorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2005, 09:09 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

WALMART $6.00
Hope this helps,
Stephen <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2005, 09:14 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Jack Smash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 2,897
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Oh, and don't use a fan to cool down batts while they are charging. They need the heat for the internal chemical process while charging.
__________________
Kyosho / Orion / Amain.com / Protek / MIP /
Jack Smash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2005, 09:16 AM   #4
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Your PC power supply throws out 12VDC, they all do. That's why some people use PC power supplies for their chargers. You also shouldn't have a fan blowing on your packs when they charge or while you are discharging them. Let them heat up and cool off naturally for the best results.
__________________
Site Content Specialist- Surface
HorizonHobby.Com

Horizon Hobby is on YouTube with hundreds of different videos! Visit us at
http://www.youtube.com/HorizonRCdotCom
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2005, 09:16 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
BSchorr's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 4,820
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BSchorr Send a message via Yahoo to BSchorr Send a message via Skype™ to BSchorr
Default

ya i meant when he is done racing
__________________
Proline ~ Genesis R/C Products ~ First Premier Satellites
BSchorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2005, 09:25 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
lem2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: OC
Posts: 3,061
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Amp Fan

Aside from walmart, you can get those fans that they use to cool off Amplifiers. Its small and powerful enough for the bats, motors, chargers, discharge tray (NOVAK gets pretty hot atthe back)---even to cool of your face! Its just 5"x5"
Attached Images
File Type: jpg fan.jpg (78.1 KB, 504 views)
lem2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2005, 09:31 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
BSchorr's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 4,820
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BSchorr Send a message via Yahoo to BSchorr Send a message via Skype™ to BSchorr
Default

i dont have an amp, where else can i get a fan, on that fan that you attached, does it say 110volt on it?
__________________
Proline ~ Genesis R/C Products ~ First Premier Satellites
BSchorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2005, 09:36 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
speedxl's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Portland Oregon.
Posts: 3,881
Default

dude! listen you abiously dont have a clue about electricity dont mess with it your going to get hurt or kill someone!

Go to walmart or any large department store and buy a fan that plugs into the wall that swivals when your done racing set the car on top. set it and forget it, simple enough dont mess around with the other stuff.
__________________
Pemberton / R1 / All out motorsports / Team Power Push
speedxl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2005, 09:38 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
lem2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: OC
Posts: 3,061
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BSchorr
i dont have an amp, where else can i get a fan, on that fan that you attached, does it say 110volt on it?
You could buy it in an auiophile store/Radio shack? or yank one out from an old amplifier. We have 220 here, but in the store where I got it, there are some 110v.

This is used by just laying it on top of the amp or whatever audio equipment that needs cooling.

Or get another fan from a PC and hook it up on your PS.
lem2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2005, 09:39 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
BSchorr's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 4,820
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BSchorr Send a message via Yahoo to BSchorr Send a message via Skype™ to BSchorr
Default

i know dude, but i want one that looks like this, this is theone i tried to plug in, negetive and the positive dont matter right???



__________________
Proline ~ Genesis R/C Products ~ First Premier Satellites
BSchorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2005, 09:44 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
lem2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: OC
Posts: 3,061
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Just get another one of those ina a PC shop and place aligator clips and hook it up to your Power Supply.

the (-) and (+) does matter, some fans will not turn other will turn in an opposite direction.

PS: and also look at the ampere rating, most PC fans are .5 to 5ampere, the reason being is; you might be overloading your power supplyif you have a lot of lectronics hooked up to it. (just being safe)
lem2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2005, 09:47 AM   #12
R/C Tech Founder
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Del Mar, CA, USA
Posts: 7,063
Default

You won't find any fans of that size/nature that operate on AC (alternating current). You need to have an AC->DC conversion take place somewhere in the mix.

NEVER plug a DC-operated device directly into an AC socket. Fire!
__________________
Visit my store: www.ampdraw.com
futureal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2005, 09:48 AM   #13
Tech Elite
 
BSchorr's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 4,820
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BSchorr Send a message via Yahoo to BSchorr Send a message via Skype™ to BSchorr
Default

ya, i dont have a power supply, i use a Quasar Pro so no power supply! but i can see if the pc store has a 110v fan.
__________________
Proline ~ Genesis R/C Products ~ First Premier Satellites
BSchorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2005, 09:49 AM   #14
Tech Elite
 
BSchorr's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 4,820
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BSchorr Send a message via Yahoo to BSchorr Send a message via Skype™ to BSchorr
Default

ya, i wonder where the guy that i race with found a fan that looks simalure to mine that runs on 110volt?
__________________
Proline ~ Genesis R/C Products ~ First Premier Satellites
BSchorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2005, 09:52 AM   #15
Tech Regular
 
Aggdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 364
Default

BSchorr

That's obviously a dc powered fan. Don't mix ac output with a dc input and vice versa.

If you see a fan that says ac 110 volt thats what you can plug into the wall. i just bought one yesterday from RadioShack. $24 for a 120mm fan. $15 for the smaller 80mm AC fan.

If any device has input wires of red and black, it takes dc input. That means you need to use a battery or dc power supply.
Aggdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cleaning house fire sale peakman R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 16 10-22-2009 05:39 PM
Sanwa M8 Fire... autostyle Electric On-Road 15 07-17-2008 01:25 PM
HELL FIRE RTR NIB luc Australia For Sale/Trade 0 06-28-2006 07:32 PM
Fire 929 TQRC Buyer/Seller dispute and Feedback discussion forum 0 12-08-2005 06:23 PM
won't fire skaterdawg2000 Rookie Zone 2 03-06-2003 08:37 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:18 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net