R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-04-2012, 03:50 PM   #16
Tech Master
 
dc661's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Manahawkin N.J.
Posts: 1,493
Trader Rating: 129 (100%+)
Default

Sounds like you have this gear: http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXEZ09 It will not work in your car, you're going to need to buy a different brand and or style of gear.

If you're going for a FDR of 3.5 means you have a 53t pinion, since it is obvious you have never ran the car before how do you know 3.5 FDR will get you were you need? You will once again run into having to change a pinion or gear. You should go to your LHS and stock up on a couple gear sizes I would start with buying a 88t,90t, and a 92t spur along with your various size pinions you should have. (This is if you were going to be running 17.5 all of the time.) Gears are very cheap you should always have at least an extra on hand at all times.
__________________
-DJ Cranmer
dc661 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 03:52 PM   #17
Tech Master
 
dc661's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Manahawkin N.J.
Posts: 1,493
Trader Rating: 129 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LMRacing View Post
Mike, I have a 96T gear on my TC6 part number ASC4615 and I still have room in my car for a little more gear before the gear gets too close to the chassis (which if your not afraid to do a little bit of dremel work you could fit a little more gear in the car) but I think I should be able to fit a 100T gear in the car if I really needed to ASC4462 for the 100T 64P gear
No need to ever dremel your tc6 I have run FDR ranges of 2.9 up to 6.2 and never had to cut anything as long as you take the time to properly find a gear and pinion to fit.
__________________
-DJ Cranmer
dc661 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 03:52 PM   #18
Tech Regular
 
@Art_Mighty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 495
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Check out Precisions Racing Systems spurs. You can get a 64p spur with as little as 71 teeth.

__________________
RC.A. - Tamiya Chapter (so many shinny blue parts..) O_o

Sponsored By - http://enginesbyotto.com/ & my wallet (mostly my wallet actually...)

ALL IS LOST
@Art_Mighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 03:54 PM   #19
Tech Elite
 
LMRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Rome, GA
Posts: 2,739
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Sorry I thought maybe you were talking pinion to spur ratio.. 3.5 is an awfuly low FDR, VTA Car?

96T spur on a 55p gets you 3.49fdr

Get the associated Kimrogh spur gear, whole $3.50 and be done with it. Darkside already said up to a 56p fits on the 96s.
LMRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 03:54 PM   #20
Tech Elite
 
LasagnaCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hickory Hills, IL
Posts: 2,085
Trader Rating: 143 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to LasagnaCat
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dc661 View Post
No need to ever dremel your tc6 I have run FDR ranges of 2.9 up to 6.2 and never had to cut anything as long as you take the time to properly find a gear and pinion to fit.
Correct. And don't forget about the 'third' mounting hole for the motor.
__________________
Well if it seems to be real, it's illusion
For every moment of truth, there's confusion in life...
LasagnaCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 04:03 PM   #21
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

It sounds like the OP is trying to use the two motor mount holes shown in the instruction manual and is searching for a spur with large holes like the stock gear...

You can use pretty much ANY off the shelf spur with the TC6/6.1 by utilizing the "3rd" motor mount hole towards the bottom of the mount/bulkhead....
JamesL_71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 04:09 PM   #22
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LMRacing View Post
Sorry I thought maybe you were talking pinion to spur ratio.. 3.5 is an awfuly low FDR, VTA Car?

96T spur on a 55p gets you 3.49fdr

Get the associated Kimrogh spur gear, whole $3.50 and be done with it. Darkside already said up to a 56p fits on the 96s.
yea VTA 'bout ready to give up though
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 04:10 PM   #23
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesL_71 View Post
It sounds like the OP is trying to use the two motor mount holes shown in the instruction manual and is searching for a spur with large holes like the stock gear...

You can use pretty much ANY off the shelf spur with the TC6/6.1 by utilizing the "3rd" motor mount hole towards the bottom of the mount/bulkhead....
Ther problem is mounting the GEAR not mounting the motor. the robinson gear only has two holes near the center not the needed three.
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 04:12 PM   #24
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by @Art_Mighty View Post
Check out Precisions Racing Systems spurs. You can get a 64p spur with as little as 71 teeth.

Thank you
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 04:18 PM   #25
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dc661 View Post
Sounds like you have this gear: http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXEZ09 It will not work in your car, you're going to need to buy a different brand and or style of gear.

If you're going for a FDR of 3.5 means you have a 53t pinion, since it is obvious you have never ran the car before how do you know 3.5 FDR will get you were you need? You will once again run into having to change a pinion or gear. You should go to your LHS and stock up on a couple gear sizes I would start with buying a 88t,90t, and a 92t spur along with your various size pinions you should have. (This is if you were going to be running 17.5 all of the time.) Gears are very cheap you should always have at least an extra on hand at all times.
3.5 is what the VTA class is restricted to. And yes I have run the car
and i won't comment any more on your condesending post
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 04:25 PM   #26
Tech Master
 
dc661's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Manahawkin N.J.
Posts: 1,493
Trader Rating: 129 (100%+)
Default

Sorry if you took my post as condescending it was not meant to come off offensive to you. I only stated that you have not run the car since everything you have posted up to this point in time was addressed to being unable to use your car you just bought, because of the 48p gear and then the gear you bought and is unusable.
__________________
-DJ Cranmer
dc661 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 04:50 PM   #27
Tech Elite
 
LasagnaCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hickory Hills, IL
Posts: 2,085
Trader Rating: 143 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to LasagnaCat
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hairy View Post
Ther problem is mounting the GEAR not mounting the motor. the robinson gear only has two holes near the center not the needed three.

If the two line up with each other, one on each side, run it with two screws.
__________________
Well if it seems to be real, it's illusion
For every moment of truth, there's confusion in life...
LasagnaCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 04:53 PM   #28
Tech Champion
 
DARKSIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nashville-Memphis
Posts: 8,573
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hairy View Post
Ther problem is mounting the GEAR not mounting the motor. the robinson gear only has two holes near the center not the needed three.
ive only use 2 holes...even on my TC5 and TC3...it works fine
__________________
Myron "BATTMAN" Kinnard
Team Associated/Reedy Powered/PROTOform/OTT/1UP
Apex Raceway and Hobbies
1172 Park Ave, Murfreesboro, TN 37129
DARKSIDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 04:57 PM   #29
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 359
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

+1

Yeah, some spurs don't support all three (or six if you really wanna get into it) mounting holes.

Two are fine. I run mine like that all the time, even when I do have the option to use three. Lower rotating mass!

Either way, this spur works for me: http://www.tqrcracing.com/shop/produ...yword=&pg_no=1
silencery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 05:41 PM   #30
Tech Elite
 
hairy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In the Good ole' U.S.A.
Posts: 2,323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Thank you all for helping me, the response has been great!!!!!!

I did not think it would work with only 2 screws but, it does THANKS AGAIN!!
__________________
MERLIN RACING
"He once ran a marathon because it was on his way"
Logic is a lost art!
You are defined in life by how you respond to defeat!
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread SaladFork Electric Off-Road 46486 11-21-2017 09:29 PM
Team Associated TC5 RCknight Electric On-Road 13254 05-12-2017 08:58 AM
Building my first real competitive car. yzracer758 Electric Off-Road 6 04-08-2008 11:51 AM
rc8--set up help ulrichcapri Nitro Off-Road 23 01-05-2008 03:22 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:11 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net