R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-23-2012, 12:39 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
aquito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Oceanside CA
Posts: 264
Default The oficial HPI Sprint 2 Thread

So I noticed there is no threads for the sprint 2. So let's make a thread for the hpi sprint 2.

What u guys think would be the first upgrades recommend for it?

I will be slapping a castle SCT 3800kv combo on it..would I need any mods to handle the brushless?

aquito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 06:49 PM   #2
Tech Apprentice
 
grim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: west allis, wi
Posts: 96
Default

i just picked one up. havent had much to run it toasted the rear belt. having probs finding a replacment since there back ordered till may! other then that im pretty happy with it.
__________________
"I drift not because it is a quicker way around a corner but the most exciting way."
grim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 03:18 PM   #3
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 61
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

The sprint 2 is a pretty good car the first thing that needs to be done is the shocks come with hardly any shock oil in them and the stock ball ends on the front end are really sloppy even brand new so the rpm ball ends really tighten the front end up and you can order the servo saver spring for 3 dollers and put that under the left hand steering arm and it makes the world of diffrence i also installed a belt tensioner for the rear other wise the belt rubs on the motor causing premature failure
kellytc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 07:24 PM   #4
Tech Apprentice
 
grim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: west allis, wi
Posts: 96
Default

what did you use for a rear belt tensioner
__________________
"I drift not because it is a quicker way around a corner but the most exciting way."
grim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 07:48 PM   #5
Tech Champion
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,581
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

There are many of these. No one has posted in them since January.
__________________
John Higgins former student of The Ian Ruggles Negative Reinforcement Driving School. The "Team Principal".
liljohn1064 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 12:01 AM   #6
Tech Regular
 
aquito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Oceanside CA
Posts: 264
Default

I have a gens ace 5000 2S 40c hard case and it does not fit on the sprint 2...any sugestion on how to make it fit?
aquito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 12:41 AM   #7
Tech Adept
 
~WIckED~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 141
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

if you have the drift version(pictured), I melted the spur gear mount pretty quickly with just a Novak 5800SS. there is a metal replacement you can get, cuz that SCT has the 4 pole if I remember correctly, and thats way more torque than a standard brushless. As it stands I run with 60% EPA on my radio just for more control with the t-drift tires. Slicks and radials I'm back to 100% though. Don't forget about cutting out the rear diff cover on the back, that's a rear belt saver.
~WIckED~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 12:43 AM   #8
Tech Adept
 
~WIckED~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 141
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I see a few guys in WI, you drift or just race? trying to find more guys for drifting in the area.
~WIckED~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 01:55 PM   #9
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 61
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grim View Post
what did you use for a rear belt tensioner
I just orderd the same tensioner that is used for the front belt and didnt use the arm just used the rollers as a idler basicly and drilled threw the aluminum to hold the belt up it works really well i believe the cost was 12 dollers
kellytc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 01:59 PM   #10
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 61
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aquito View Post
I have a gens ace 5000 2S 40c hard case and it does not fit on the sprint 2...any sugestion on how to make it fit?
I just lossend the 2 screws fpr the battery hold down where the clips go in to hold the battery and notched the chase alittle bit on the two ends and im running a venom 2s 5000 lipo and it fits in there perfect
kellytc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:20 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net