R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-03-2005, 06:29 AM   #1
Tech Master
 
polesitter61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 1,009
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Novak GT7 Braking profiles?

Can someone tell me what the on track difference between the two braking profiles are? (Drag brake versus the constant force braking) And how it will affect the car while racing? I'm running a xxx-s g+ with a 27 trinity monster stock, ProMatch GP3300's, 24/90 gear (6.86 overall) GT7 esc, novak syn. reciever, and hitech 925 servo.
polesitter61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 12:33 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
polesitter61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 1,009
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Anyone?
polesitter61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 01:09 PM   #3
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

Drag brakes will make your car slow down faster when your throttle is at neutral (In dead band). Generally speaking stock motors have more natural drag brake in them than modified motors due to the use of bushings instead of bearings.

I would not recommend enabling drag brakes when using a stock motor as it could make the car feel somewhat hard to drive when off throttle: It might result in abrupt loss of rear traction.
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- 1UP Racing -- ActivRC -- P1 BRAND -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 02:45 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
polesitter61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 1,009
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

That's kinda what I thought, when I raced this past weekend for the first time the car was handling pretty good other than it would slide out the rear just as I would turn in to the corner, not on the brakes at all. I drive a Super Late Model regular race car and that's the way they act when you have too much rear brake. Is there any way to get the "drag brake" out of a stock motor. Because I don't have them turned on in the esc and it still seems that there is too much?
polesitter61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 02:48 PM   #5
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

Make sure that your bushings are oiled before every run and if that is not enough you can try turning up your throttle trim on your radio a few clicks.
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- 1UP Racing -- ActivRC -- P1 BRAND -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 02:55 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
polesitter61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 1,009
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I have the trim turned up all the way, anymore and it starts to make noise from the esc (trying to move foward) I'll make sure the bushings are oiled every run too. Is it worth pulling the motor apart and polishing the bushings even though the motor has been run about 8 times. It is a Trinity moster stock pro, so it's supposed to be broke in when you get it, brush hoods done, ect.
polesitter61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 02:58 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
kartermdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,120
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

the motor will always be faster if you do it yourself, regardless if you bought the pro version or not, i have a pro version and when i aligned the brush hoods, i picked up about 1500 rpm on the dyno and got more torque too
__________________
Mark Burt
Thanks to:
TRINITY - Revtech - Awesomatix USA - Side Piece Racing - Roche RC USA - Darkside Motorsports - Genesis R/C Raceway
kartermdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 03:03 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
polesitter61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 1,009
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I assume I will need to break in the motor if they do need adjusting, so that the brushes can wear in right?
polesitter61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 03:17 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
kartermdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,120
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

yes, i break them in for about 3 min at 2 volts on my chargers
__________________
Mark Burt
Thanks to:
TRINITY - Revtech - Awesomatix USA - Side Piece Racing - Roche RC USA - Darkside Motorsports - Genesis R/C Raceway
kartermdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 03:20 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Maitland, FL
Posts: 2,186
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Roberto Falcon
Default

Mark your using the aps charger right?
__________________
🤔
Roberto Falcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 03:22 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
kartermdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,120
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

yes i have that and my pulsar
__________________
Mark Burt
Thanks to:
TRINITY - Revtech - Awesomatix USA - Side Piece Racing - Roche RC USA - Darkside Motorsports - Genesis R/C Raceway
kartermdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 03:24 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Maitland, FL
Posts: 2,186
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Roberto Falcon
Default

which do you like better? , i also have a pulsar
__________________
🤔
Roberto Falcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 03:26 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Maitland, FL
Posts: 2,186
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Roberto Falcon
Default

Evicerator

Whats the best brake setting racing 19t on the gtx?
__________________
🤔
Roberto Falcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 03:26 PM   #14
Tech Master
 
kartermdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,120
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

both are pretty much the same, just the aps tells you rpm and gives you a pulse mode for the break in and it also cuts off charging if you use the temp probe on ur batts i like the aps charger, its well worth the money
__________________
Mark Burt
Thanks to:
TRINITY - Revtech - Awesomatix USA - Side Piece Racing - Roche RC USA - Darkside Motorsports - Genesis R/C Raceway
kartermdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RCSignup.com - FREE Race Registration - FREE Track Profiles - FREE Racer Profiles superpb Web Links 3 01-16-2008 02:15 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:26 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net