R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-02-2005, 01:35 PM   #1
Suspended
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: HOUSTON,TEXAS
Posts: 589
Default Foam Tires On The Trf 415

CAN I USE FOAM TIRES ON THE TAMIYA TRF415?CHOCO
SERPENTFREAK69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 02:23 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
koabich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,359
Send a message via Yahoo to koabich
Default

Ummm....Yes. There are many pages on this in the 415 thread. Do a search.
koabich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 02:43 PM   #3
Suspended
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: HOUSTON,TEXAS
Posts: 589
Default

I DID NOT SEE ANYTHING ON THAT...GOT ANY HELP?
SERPENTFREAK69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 04:31 PM   #4
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 15
Default

I ran into the same problem. The answer is no, the standard 28mm foams that everybody uses does not fit on the front of the 415ms. They hit the steering knuckle before they even come close to tightening up. You have to either cut the foam down to 25mm or switch to HPI Pro 4 steering knuckles and old style tamiya axles which are longer. You can also convert the front end from metric to standard by using Losi steering knuckles, bearings, and Associated nitro TC3 axles with the Tamiya bone. You also have to use a losi or Associated wheel hex with that conversion. You would think that with as expensive a car as the 415ms they would have at least made it so foams fit on it. Around here, nobody runs rubber tires on carpet.
Hope this helps.
HotrodGT*** is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 04:56 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
koabich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,359
Send a message via Yahoo to koabich
Default

28MM foams DO fit on the 415...and they can be made to fit with no problem at all.. Actually, I run Jaco tires and they measure closer to 29mm than they do to 28mm.
This is what to do:
-Remove some material from the rear sway bar mount: where it is attached to the rear A-Arm. This will give you the necessary clearance.
-Depending on which hole on the front A-Arm you mount the shock too, you may need to do some work. If you use the inside hole, you will have no problem. If you use the outside hole you will need to remove some material from the bottom of the shock ball cup.
-you will also need to use 1.5mm worth of spacers (Tamiya makes these...not sure on the part number) on each axle to push the wheel out a little. You should do this regardless because this will push the car closer to the 190mm limit and allow for better handleing (yes yyour car will be race legal...depending on which suspension mounts you use).
-Since foam wheels are smller in diameter than their rubber counterparts, you will have to shave the top off of the ball cup that attaches to the top of the castor block.

Between using the spacers and removing some material you will have no problems running foam tires.
koabich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 12:23 AM   #6
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 15
Default

Kaobich- Are you running the old 415 with the old suspension, or the new 415MS with the lightweight suspension? On the 415MS with the lightweight suspension there is no way 29mm foams will fit on the front. I put 2mm of spacers on the wheel hex's, and the wheels still didn't even come close to clearing the knuckle where the turnbuckles hook on. I think you might be using the old suspension because on the new suspension there are no interference problems on the rear. The rear sway bar doesn't even come close to the wheel. The two cars have all together different suspension and bulkheads.
HotrodGT*** is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 02:59 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Jack2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,377
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Arrow

cut em down to 26mm the least amount of rotational mass with the right amount of stiction( GRIP)
__________________
Schumacher Mi4CX
Mugen MTX & MRX

"He who dies with the most toys wins" - Phil Harris
Jack2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 07:30 AM   #8
Suspended
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: HOUSTON,TEXAS
Posts: 589
Default

VERY INTERESTING...I AM GETTING THE REGULAR 415 SO MAYBE THE FOAMS WILL FIT...I WILLTRY AND SEE...THANKS CHOCO
SERPENTFREAK69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 07:38 AM   #9
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: houston, tx
Posts: 612
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

So are you going to actually bring it out and run with us on wed. nights ??
stumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 08:13 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
koabich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,359
Send a message via Yahoo to koabich
Default

Yes, I am running the stock 415. That's the car the question was asked for.
Yes, if you do what I suggested, you will have no trouble running foams.

Others have been mentioning that they cannot fit foams on a 415MS and I am not suprized, as that car is designed to be run on asphalt with rubber tires. That is not a foam tire car!!

Hope this helps
koabich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 03:46 PM   #11
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 47
Default

415 MS use new reversable arm which WOULD NOT work with 28mm foams.
The old style Arms will work with foams.
rcpinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 03:51 PM   #12
Suspended
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: HOUSTON,TEXAS
Posts: 589
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by stumper
So are you going to actually bring it out and run with us on wed. nights ??
actually yes,i will.....i want to take a little break and run electric but this is my first electric so i may need help out there....choco
SERPENTFREAK69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 03:52 PM   #13
Suspended
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: HOUSTON,TEXAS
Posts: 589
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by koabich
Yes, I am running the stock 415. That's the car the question was asked for.
Yes, if you do what I suggested, you will have no trouble running foams.

Others have been mentioning that they cannot fit foams on a 415MS and I am not suprized, as that car is designed to be run on asphalt with rubber tires. That is not a foam tire car!!

Hope this helps
thanks a bunch!choco
SERPENTFREAK69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
foam fk05 chasis and foam tires. Branden Moody R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 34 10-09-2007 12:20 AM
What type of foam material are foam tires made from? pirate Electric On-Road 2 04-20-2007 09:40 PM
Foam Tires, Parma, TRC, JACO, Tire truer, Rubbers tires and much much more! Team Speedy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 43 12-15-2006 10:38 AM
Foam Tires Jye Rookie Zone 1 04-17-2005 05:47 AM
Jaco Foam Tires & Fast Tires Foam, Brand new. MugenMTX3Kid R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 01-03-2004 01:53 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:10 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net