Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
4pole motors in TC cars? >

4pole motors in TC cars?

4pole motors in TC cars?

Reply

Old 04-16-2012, 06:11 AM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (36)
 
jlfx car audio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: jackson,tn
Posts: 3,673
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default 4pole motors in TC cars?

So has there been anyone thats tried to run a 4pole 440 in a tc car?
Just seen the new tekin 4pole 440 yesterday and it got me wondering
jlfx car audio is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 09:14 AM
  #2  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 129
Default

I've seen a few guys run em in Palm Dale CA, its a small parking lot set up but they were very happy campers. I'm running a 4 pole castle 3800 in my 4x4 short course, its awesome, the 2400 was way too much torque, the 3800 is an all around great motor for all applications.
rc_racer1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 09:48 AM
  #3  
Team Tekin
 
Tekin Prez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,068
Default

We do offer a rotor for the Pro4 motors with a 1/8" shaft. TT2516

We are planning to offer a PRO2 version of the 4pole Pro4 motor that is designed more for lighter cars that can use torque like 1/10 4wd and heavy 1/10 2wd SC trucks.
Tekin Prez is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 07:52 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (36)
 
jlfx car audio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: jackson,tn
Posts: 3,673
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Which is why i asked . Tekin and revtech have 4 poles out both offer standard 1/8" rotors i think it would be awesome if this was the next step in onroad rc
jlfx car audio is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 11:11 PM
  #5  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
lutach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Kearny, NJ
Posts: 806
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Used to run 4 pole in the mid 90's and asked the manufacturers to make them again since Aveox stopped making motors for the R/C industry. Kind of funny how they are becoming popular again. I went as far as modifying one of my old sensored Aveox motor to run the current ESCs. They are ROAR legal as mentioned by a ROAR director's in a post somewhere in this forum.
lutach is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 11:26 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (93)
 
Odin544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Tekin Prez View Post
We do offer a rotor for the Pro4 motors with a 1/8" shaft. TT2516

We are planning to offer a PRO2 version of the 4pole Pro4 motor that is designed more for lighter cars that can use torque like 1/10 4wd and heavy 1/10 2wd SC trucks.
Is this the Gen2 Redline that was announced some time ago but hasn't been released? Or something entirely different?

http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric...er-faster.html
Odin544 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 02:04 AM
  #7  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 242
Default

Hello, here a friend make a conversion kit for a Nitro touring cars to electric, for now for a Xray NT1 and Kiosho RRR, this cars weight about 1700-1800g , and i plan to mount one of this motors Pro4 or Revtech, i think the extra power will work very well with this extra weight, but i donīt have any experiencie with this kind of 4 pole motors, i plan to run it with SC esc, Xerun SCT or 1/8 esc, type RX8, with 2S or 3S, but at first i like to test with 2S.

What do you think about, i need all help, is very appreciate.
This is the web of my friend: http://nuke.turboracingrc.es/

Greetings.
luic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 08:29 AM
  #8  
Team Tekin
 
TY@TEAMTEKIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tekin
Posts: 2,465
Default

Originally Posted by Odin544 View Post
Is this the Gen2 Redline that was announced some time ago but hasn't been released? Or something entirely different?

http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric...er-faster.html
No, the Gen2 are 2-pole and will be replacing the silver can Redlines we offer currently. The Pro2 motor is a 4-pole with a 1/8" shaft and higher kVs than the Pro4 motor. Will be interesting to see where it goes..
TY@TEAMTEKIN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 01:28 PM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (93)
 
Odin544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
No, the Gen2 are 2-pole and will be replacing the silver can Redlines we offer currently. The Pro2 motor is a 4-pole with a 1/8" shaft and higher kVs than the Pro4 motor. Will be interesting to see where it goes..
Indeed! I assume the pro2 will have slightly less torque? I had the pro4 4600 in my sc10 4x4. The tq was unreal in that thing. I cant imagine trying to get traction in a 2wd vehicle with the same power.
Odin544 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service