R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-29-2005, 03:41 PM   #1261
Tech Fanatic
 
kidDynomite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 928
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Midnight
Man that looks good.

What if you mounted the antena mount on the top deck, would that give some xtra room and also get the antena away from all the wires. Or would that be to much weight up high. Also how close can you mount your gtx before the heat start to play a part in performance.
Thanks, Midnight!

You could put the antenna mount on the top deck, but I hate putting any weight above the top deck, even battery wire weight.
I drilled a little hole on the side of my RX to re-route the wire right to the antenna mount. This way it won't be near the front belt.

I buy these female RX connectors from my LHS and have a special crimping tool for the small female contact inserts. For the GTX, you can use one regular female connector + a 2-prong (receiver battery type connector) for the ON/OFF switch instead of the big Novak 5-prong harness. This way you can make your wiring the perfect length.

As far as heat is concerned, most of the heat goes to the back when the car is running.
kidDynomite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 03:47 PM   #1262
Tech Elite
 
Midnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Edmond. Oklahoma
Posts: 2,066
Trader Rating: 85 (100%+)
Default

I never thought about it like that. That does make sense that the heat will go out the back.
__________________
RC8T; Losi 2.0B; FT T4; AKA & RB
Hoffman Photography, www.carolinasrc.com
Midnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2005, 03:12 AM   #1263
Tech Addict
 
acutts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 507
Default

Anyone know what weight oil comes in the 05 Kit?
acutts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2005, 03:14 AM   #1264
Tech Addict
 
JohnMatrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Newark, CA
Posts: 608
Send a message via AIM to JohnMatrix
Default

30
JohnMatrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2005, 03:19 AM   #1265
Tech Addict
 
JohnMatrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Newark, CA
Posts: 608
Send a message via AIM to JohnMatrix
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kidDynomite
tc3Guru, I have a Novak RX with a GTX. To make room, I used the 2 most forward servo mounting holes on the chassis. But I had to shave off about 1 - 1.25mm of the servo mounts and extend the slots on the servo ears toward the servo body. I also shave down the antenna mount on both sides and counter sunk a new hole next to the servo. Now there'e enough room to lay it all down and still have room for bigger pinions.



I had the same issue, I finally said screw it and flipped the receiver on its side, I have a ton of extra room now, and its less chance of glitching.
JohnMatrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2005, 03:57 AM   #1266
Tech Elite
 
Lonestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 2,367
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys,

almost done building mine. Quick Q's for you xray xperts

- Do I need to rebuild the preassembled diff, or is it correctly built from the factory (ie greased properly, with graphite grease on the trust bearing, blablabla). I did notice it was a little on the loose side and tightened it already
- Lower a-arm mounts: how to make sure these are mounted properly? Mine bind like hell... when you tighten the screws these things turn too...
- lower a-arm mounts / rear toe in: do you guys use shims or clips?

Besides that, the parts quality is just amazing... absolutely unbelievable part fit. Definitely worth the price!

Thanks,
Paul
__________________
When the flag drops, the BS stops.

The train stops at the train station. The bus stops at the bus station. In my office I have a workstation.
Lonestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2005, 05:55 AM   #1267
Tech Addict
 
Patriiick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: France, Land of the French Fries.
Posts: 587
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

You need to disassemble the diff, use associated black grease.

Lower arm mounts: Mine bind too, but i try to live with it and slightly enlarge them.. it s more a pb at the rear for toe in that the front where mine are 100% free.

I switched to aluminium shims..

cheers
Patriiick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2005, 06:27 AM   #1268
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oshawa, Ontario
Posts: 444
Default

I polished the pins using metal polish first and then I put the hingepin in a dremel, and ran them through the arms until the dremel started to bog down. As the pin gets hot it gets hard on the dremel. I did this a few times letting the dremel and pin cool down between runs.

When tightening the pin mounts work back and forth, don't tighten one all the way and then do the other.

Ermm I'd use AE stealth diff lube on the balls, not black grease.
MartynD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2005, 06:51 AM   #1269
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,300
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lonestar
Hey guys,

almost done building mine. Quick Q's for you xray xperts

- Do I need to rebuild the preassembled diff, or is it correctly built from the factory (ie greased properly, with graphite grease on the trust bearing, blablabla). I did notice it was a little on the loose side and tightened it already
- Lower a-arm mounts: how to make sure these are mounted properly? Mine bind like hell... when you tighten the screws these things turn too...
- lower a-arm mounts / rear toe in: do you guys use shims or clips?

Besides that, the parts quality is just amazing... absolutely unbelievable part fit. Definitely worth the price!

Thanks,
Paul
Make sure that you break-in the diff ... you menrtioned that you tightened it down ... it's loose for a reason - there is a break-in procedure so that you get maximum diff-life. X-Ray diffs are great when assembled properly ... you'll get several packs worth of runs before a rebuild, versus some of the other diffs on the market. You also want to use the X-Ray diff lube that comes with the kit, I found it a little better then AE lube in that the diff ran smoother, but still had the same "bite".
duckman996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2005, 07:17 AM   #1270
Tech Master
 
Pyramid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: ID
Posts: 1,945
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lonestar
- Do I need to rebuild the preassembled diff, or is it correctly built from the factory (ie greased properly, with graphite grease on the trust bearing, blablabla). I did notice it was a little on the loose side and tightened it already
Take it out and use sticky grease such as Mugen Centax Grease

See here for pics: http://www.mytsn.com/publ/publ.asp?pid=10063

PS: I apply a drop or two of bearing oil to make the Mugen grease a bit lighter (less stickier as it is meant to be for GP centax trust bearing). Do not even bother using regular/normal strenght grease as they will just smear away as you run the car.
Pyramid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2005, 07:24 AM   #1271
Tech Fanatic
 
kidDynomite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 928
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lonestar

- Lower a-arm mounts: how to make sure these are mounted properly? Mine bind like hell... when you tighten the screws these things turn too...
Paul, after assembling the lower arms, loosen the four screws that hold the hinge pin holders. Then as you retighten each screw, push the arm in the direction of the screw you're tightening. This keeps the holder from spinning with the screw and allows it to sit perpendicular to the arm. If it still binds, redo them and add a little more pressure. If there's some slop, decrease pressure. I guarantee that you'll get them to drop like a rock on their own weight. This is how Josh Cyrul (X-Xray driver) and some of the other team guys have done it.

If you use 2 or 3mm aluminum spacers, polish them smooth for less friction on the pin holders, or you can use the teflon shims as well.
kidDynomite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2005, 07:40 AM   #1272
Tech Elite
 
Lonestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 2,367
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Patriiick
You need to disassemble the diff, use associated black grease.

Lower arm mounts: Mine bind too, but i try to live with it and slightly enlarge them.. it s more a pb at the rear for toe in that the front where mine are 100% free.

I switched to aluminium shims..

cheers
Look who's here
__________________
When the flag drops, the BS stops.

The train stops at the train station. The bus stops at the bus station. In my office I have a workstation.
Lonestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2005, 07:46 AM   #1273
Tech Elite
 
Lonestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 2,367
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

All,

thanks for the FB.

I don't think anyone has clearly answered, but I take it the diff needs to be disassembled right away... I usually use stealth lube on the diff balls and graphite grease on the trust bearing. That's the typical AE setup, and it's treated me great for years.

Duckman: I tightened it because it was slipping like hell (in my hands during assembly) and I thought it was assembled properly (ie greased)... Had I not tightened it, it would have gotten worse. When a diff breaks in, it loosens up (the thrust bearing spring or Belleville washers actually soften)

A-arm holders: I'll do my best, thanks all for your inputs. With rubber we use 3deg, and as you can imagine nothing sits parallel to anything else anymore, so I guess a slight bind is not surprising after all... it'll break in. I'll also install Aluminum shims.

Any trick on a quick way to get the diff off the car without pulling half the chassis apart???

Thanks a lot!
Paul
__________________
When the flag drops, the BS stops.

The train stops at the train station. The bus stops at the bus station. In my office I have a workstation.
Lonestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2005, 08:20 AM   #1274
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Howell, NJ
Posts: 49
Send a message via AIM to tminus3 Send a message via Yahoo to tminus3
Default

That is becoming a common problem with the newer car designs. Pulling the diff out seems to mean undo your whole chassis!

My TRF415 has the same issue.
tminus3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2005, 08:26 AM   #1275
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tminus3
That is becoming a common problem with the newer car designs. Pulling the diff out seems to mean undo your whole chassis!

My TRF415 has the same issue.
Funny thing though the new Yokomo BD doesn;t have that problem, four screws and the diffs and the spur comes right out the top. I guess some companies are listening to the people...LOL
Just busting everyone's chops. I really like the new FK05 one of my racing buddies has it and man it layed it down...Great to see all the new cars coming out are all very competative.
Stephen <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: NIB Xray T1FK05 & Xray Teflon coated aluminum Shock Body Adam.A Australia Wanted to Buy 4 01-02-2007 03:30 PM
WTB: Xray T1FK05 & Xray Teflon coated aluminum Shock Body Adam.A R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 12-30-2006 03:26 PM
Xray T1FK05 $100.00 Charles R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 04-25-2006 10:51 AM
F/S: Xray T1FK05 ewippler R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 12-09-2005 04:03 PM
WTB: Xray T1FK05 ewippler R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 4 05-06-2005 06:40 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:20 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net