Like Tree1Likes

Xray T1FK05

Old 05-09-2006, 01:53 PM
  #5236  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (44)
 
YR4Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,636
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dogenia
Besides the obvious price and material difference, whats the advantage of getting titanium over stainless steel?

Do the stainless steel srews strip as well? Do the titanium ones NOT strip?

Thanks,

Don
They all have the potential to strip depending on the hardness of your tool if used improperly.

Stainless is least likely because it is stronger than steel but it is also heavier than steel.

Titanium is as strong as steel but it is lighter than steel.

Example: Weight Titanium < Steel < Stainless
Strength Titanium = Steel < Stainless
YR4Dude is offline  
Old 05-09-2006, 03:33 PM
  #5237  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (3)
 
the_barbarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Gladstone QLD
Posts: 692
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by GTTurbo
Does anyone know where I can get the Titanium screws for the FK05??? Does it exist?? Sick of stripping the stupid aluminium screws!!! Wanted to get rid of it once and for all!!

Or maybe even steel screws? Anyone? Thanks.

Dinball on ebay has a range of titanium screws
http://search.stores.ebay.com/Dinbal...095710QQsofpZ0
the_barbarian is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 06:30 AM
  #5238  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Curacao, Netherlands Antilles, Dutch Caribbean
Posts: 85
Default Titanium vs Steel

Ok this is what I get from the great input from all you wonderful people on this board:

Stainless Steel is the way to go for hardness
Titanium is a lighter weight but the chance to strip is still there.
How about the black anodized screws that Xray sells for the original T1?
http://www.teamxray.com/teamxray/pro...366&kategoria=

Now for the next question: What would be proper technique to get these screws out in one piece?
dogenia is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 06:47 AM
  #5239  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Iceracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 656
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Make sure you use a proper fit of screwdriver to avoid marring the heads. Try some different sizes. I could be wrong on this, but anything I've had that was titanium, seemed a good bit harder than aluminum, so I'm not sure its fair to lump them together as equally prone to stripping the heads.

I know the manual for my associated car says to use lubricant whenever a thread goes into aluminum, but dry for plastic parts.

You may be able to use a drill to remove the V of a countersunk head, separate the two parts, then work on the shaft that remains. There's likely not enough to slot and use a flat bladed driver, so you may have to file a flat on the shaft and use a mini vice-grip locking pliers. You may end up simply replacing / sacrificing the least expensive part.
Iceracer is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 08:16 AM
  #5240  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 500
Default

To get out a stuck screw, put a few drops of WD-40 around the head and let that sit for a few. Then hold the tip of your soldering iron to the head of the screw for a few and it should come out pretty easily. However, if you've already stripped the head, use your dremel with a cutoff wheel and make a slot in the head of the screw and use a flat screwdriver after applying heat and WD. Also, you could get the corally screws and replace the hex heads of the Xray with those. The Torx head screws pretty much just plain don't strip.

Tony
RcCzarOfOld is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 07:59 PM
  #5241  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (23)
 
woozer71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 559
Trader Rating: 23 (96%+)
Default

Has anyone tried a 63t(48p) spur in 27turn stock and if so how did it go?
woozer71 is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 09:11 PM
  #5242  
Tech Adept
 
CarbonWorks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Go Big or Go Home
Posts: 213
Default

I'm not sure if there is still a worldwide shortage of FK05 2.5mm chassis', but I still manufacture an exact replacement. Precision CNC machined 2.5 mm quasi-isotropic carbon fiber. 65.00 shipped to the USA. Email me if interested. I will ship worldwide, but its more like 73.00. My chassis is exactly the same, but the battery slots have been revised to accept the 3800's and 4200's better.

Mike

[email protected]
CarbonWorks is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 03:46 PM
  #5243  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 156
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default serpent shocks

blin check your pm
mshap33 is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 11:36 PM
  #5244  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1
Default

Originally Posted by the_barbarian
the most important upgrade on the fk05 is steel axels on the front the standard one always end up buring then you cant get them out of the knuckle

[IMG]/305315.jpg[/IMG]

part number 305315

also the motor guard part number 303060
[IMG]/303060.jpg[/IMG]

and the battery strap part number 306162

the fk05 battery holder has been superseeded by the T2's one part number 306163

[IMG]/306163.jpg[/IMG]
Sorry to have pulled the plug on the pictures, but this forum is too popular. Everyone who visited the page with this post saw pictures from www.teamxray.co.uk and we were having a large increase in bandwidth use.

Cheers
Griff

You can see the pictures at the following addresses. This way you can see the parts if you want to know what they look like, but those who know what they look like will save us bandwidth.

http://www.teamxray.co.uk/productdetail-305315.php
http://www.teamxray.co.uk/productdetail-303060.php
http://www.teamxray.co.uk/productdetail-306162.php
or now
http://www.teamxray.co.uk/productdetail-306163.php
xray_griff is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 08:50 AM
  #5245  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Curacao, Netherlands Antilles, Dutch Caribbean
Posts: 85
Default Gearing

Hey guys I would appreciate some advise on gearing here.

Currently running 112x28 but out of the corners the car is a bit sluggish.
Personally I'm thinking go up to a 115x28 but what do you experts say?

Don
dogenia is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 08:56 AM
  #5246  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (9)
 
94_snake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 327
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

That will deffinetly give you a little more out of the corners, but if you have real long straights, you will top out a little earlier. How long are your straights and is it a technical or flowing track?
94_snake is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 08:59 AM
  #5247  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
kerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,165
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

what are you running foams, rubber? what motor?
kerry is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 09:59 AM
  #5248  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Curacao, Netherlands Antilles, Dutch Caribbean
Posts: 85
Default gearing

Sorry here goes the setup:
Xray FK05, 19 turn spec class, foam 26 mm 40 shore, treated track, long flowing straights, short parts technical. Mostly straights though. It takes bout half a straight to get up to speed, I would like maybe a fourth of the track to accomplish this feat?

Don
dogenia is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 10:12 AM
  #5249  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
kerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,165
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

peaking out around 1/2 way to 3/4 down the back straight should be about right.any sooner and you run the risk of over heating the motor. try to find out what the rollout of motor and tire size should be and adjust from there. if your not sure ask someone at the track what there gear ratio and rollout is using the same brand of motor and that should help you figure yours out. my suggestion and thats all it is would be to go up one pinion and see how that feels i always like my motors toping out 3/4 down the back straight. hope this helps
kerry is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 11:11 AM
  #5250  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Iceracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 656
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone wrap their battery slots with insulating tape? Unnecessary overkill?
Iceracer is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.