Like Tree1Likes

Xray T1FK05

Old 02-23-2006, 05:09 PM
  #5146  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
ChrisP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Shelby Twp, MI
Posts: 2,103
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Here is a Free Excel Viewer from Microsoft....enjoy
ChrisP is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 10:47 PM
  #5147  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Luis Obispo,CA
Posts: 1,394
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default front bumper

What are your guys thougth on the pros and con of Xray front bumpers. Small vs the large on. What is your choice? My friend who made the a main at stockton uses the large one, another friend says get rid of it and put the small one back on. I think he says it dosent transfer all the hit to the main chassis??????? Thanks for your guys input!!!!
tunnelhead is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 11:33 PM
  #5148  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (93)
 
BSchorr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Superior, WI
Posts: 4,827
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

Cant go wront with the pdub bumper, really stiff and wide, saves a-arms

Last edited by BSchorr; 02-26-2006 at 09:08 PM.
BSchorr is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 11:49 PM
  #5149  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Luis Obispo,CA
Posts: 1,394
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Do you use the wide front bumper with the p dud foam?
tunnelhead is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 11:48 AM
  #5150  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: PA
Posts: 48
Default

Hi guys, two questions, I just received brand-new in the box x-ray 05. Put the chassis on my set up board and if you put your finger left & right on the chassis it rock. I even put the chassis on a piece of glass and it still rocks. is that normal. if not what can i do. Second question, is there anything i should change now that on building the car . is there some pieces that should be changed. I don't want to do it the road. now that i have it all apart. need a little help. thank you
rc10bob is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 12:15 PM
  #5151  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
kerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,165
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

in regards to the chasis rocking, loosen all screws that may tweek the chassis, bulk heads, shock towers, top deck. ect place on flat surface and check again, then tighten bottoms chassis screws in an x pattern then shock towers in same way then the top deck, chassis could have tweeked when building it, if you hit the boards hard you may want to recheck as the 05 chassis had this problem.
kerry is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 02:40 PM
  #5152  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: PA
Posts: 48
Default

Thanks Kerry, When i opened the kit the top and the sides that hold the diff were already on the chassis. when i put it on my set-up board it wasn't flat. Took everything off. Check the chassis it was flat didn't rock. Thanks. Is there anything i should know about assembling this. Anyway thanks for getting back
rc10bob is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 04:02 PM
  #5153  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (47)
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,807
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Before you ever run the car with the aluminum fron axles, I would buy a pair of spring steel front axles. The aluminum ones get mushroomed and you have to get a chainsaw and cut through the bearing and the hub just to replace anything. As for the chassis make sure there are no screws unthreaded on the bottom of the chassis. That might cause it to rock (it should not rock when everything is together correctly) I would also recomend the battery strap and a P-Dub bumper as necessities. Other than that file and seal the chassis and you should be good to go. Good Luck.
andrewdoherty is offline  
Old 02-25-2006, 02:02 AM
  #5154  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 72
Default

You dont need too saw the hub and bearing and axel in two pieces too get the axel out off the bearings.
I drove 2 months whit the alu axels whit 100% steering trow,when i had too remove the axel i filed the edge away untill i could remove the axel. It is not a plezant job and does take some time but its possible. 2 months later, i had to clean the bearings again and the axel came out without to much trouble,you just have to pull hard.
sitting duck is offline  
Old 02-25-2006, 07:48 PM
  #5155  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: PA
Posts: 48
Default

Thanks Andrewdoherty. I hear every body torque about P-Dub bumper but I can't find them. Or who carries them. So if anybody knows. I would appreciate the information. And where does everybody by x-ray parts. Thanks guys.
rc10bob is offline  
Old 02-25-2006, 07:50 PM
  #5156  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: PA
Posts: 48
Default

I'm sorry, 05 xray
rc10bob is offline  
Old 02-25-2006, 08:48 PM
  #5157  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (47)
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,807
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

No Problem. I get my stuff from my lhs or from www.speedtechrc.com. I kinda was being sarcastic about goign through the bearing (I think I said chainsaw ) The spring steel axles are nive though. Especiall if you break between heats and need to get it apart ASAP.
andrewdoherty is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 09:00 PM
  #5158  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: PA
Posts: 48
Default

Hi, when you set up the belt on the 05, do you set it up loose. Or you said it like the manual says. It seems to be a little tight. I move the black insert one click back on the front and it still seems a little tight. Is there some sort of a measurement up-and-down. help
rc10bob is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 09:09 PM
  #5159  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (93)
 
BSchorr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Superior, WI
Posts: 4,827
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

Yes, i would like to know the same thing, my belt seems loose to me, but i know nothing about belts and stuff as its my first belt touring car
BSchorr is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 01:25 AM
  #5160  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 72
Default

My FK 05 is also my first car whit a belt. I have used the position that is in the manual and it works fine. When i put my rear diff in the midlle position i have to lose the rear belt one step.

@ andrew, i did not read it so good that i saw that you where using a chainsaw . Ofcours the springsteel axels are better and i ame also going to order them. Its just that when i bought my FK05 i did not want too spend another 30$.

Anyone selling there axels and alu rearhubs?

grtzz
sitting duck is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.