Like Tree1Likes

Xray T1FK05

Old 01-28-2006, 08:27 AM
  #5101  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
ChrisP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Shelby Twp, MI
Posts: 2,081
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

The FK05 manual describes how to modify the arms to get some clearance for 28mm foams using the outside holes...

another trick that I did on my FK05 was to go to my local industrial tool supply shop and pick up a de-burring tool... (small hooked blade on a swivel in a bic-pen style handle....about $3) and use that to bevel the inside edge of the wheels manually....it gave just enough clearance that the rubbing ceased to be an issue...
ChrisP is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 11:00 AM
  #5102  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Brussels - Belgium
Posts: 90
Rogier,

The Serpent shocks are great. Great look and smooth performance.

Unlike the Xray shocks, the Serpent ones are easy to fill up and it is easier to have the same rebound on the 4 shocks. They fit perfectly on the T1 FK'05 (same screws) and the Xray springs too.

Here are some fotos of Serpent shocks on my T1. Enjoy.

Cheers.
Attached Thumbnails Xray T1FK05-.jpg   Xray T1FK05-.jpg   Xray T1FK05-.jpg  
Blin is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 06:58 PM
  #5103  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
Mark G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,268
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Blin
Rogier,

The Serpent shocks are great. Great look and smooth performance.

Unlike the Xray shocks, the Serpent ones are easy to fill up and it is easier to have the same rebound on the 4 shocks. They fit perfectly on the T1 FK'05 (same screws) and the Xray springs too.

Here are some fotos of Serpent shocks on my T1. Enjoy.

Cheers.
looks good
Mark G is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 01:27 AM
  #5104  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Rogier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The Netherlands, EUROPE
Posts: 672
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Blin
Rogier,

The Serpent shocks are great. Great look and smooth performance.

Unlike the Xray shocks, the Serpent ones are easy to fill up and it is easier to have the same rebound on the 4 shocks. They fit perfectly on the T1 FK'05 (same screws) and the Xray springs too.

Here are some fotos of Serpent shocks on my T1. Enjoy.

Cheers.
Really looks good! I think I'm going to order some for my FK05. Also the alloy looks good! How is the brushless motor in the FK05??!!
Rogier is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 05:07 AM
  #5105  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Brussels - Belgium
Posts: 90
Default

Rogier,

Well, the Nosram brushless system handles like a dream : more than 45 packs and it performs as day one. It's fast (i would say like a 11 turns), durable and the runs last longer.

I've cleaned it once and there was just a little dust (wich is normal because I mainly run on parking asphalt). I love this system because it performs very well (with right ratio) with (almost) zero maintenance.

I have a 12X2 Team Orion Revolution on my Pro 4... It also performs well but I have to clean it every 7 or 8 runs to keep a good performance. It's boring me more and more... I think that I'm going to purchase a brushless system for my Pro 4 too.

Bonus : one more picture of the Serpent shocks.

Cheers.
Attached Thumbnails Xray T1FK05-.jpg  
Blin is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 05:33 AM
  #5106  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (3)
 
Mad Hatter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 54
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default 960 shocks...

I have been looking, obviously in the wrong spot. Where can I find the 960 shocks? I am assuming the X-ray springs fit them?
Mad Hatter is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 06:11 AM
  #5107  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Brussels - Belgium
Posts: 90
Default

Well, here is the (German) shop where I buy most of my Xray parts. The commercial service is very good. Shipping is fast and cheap (at least for Belgium).

The link : http://clark-s.de/

The Xray screws and springs fit perfectly. No extra hardware is needed to mount the Serpent shocks on the T1.

Cheers.
Blin is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 01:07 PM
  #5108  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (93)
 
BSchorr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Superior, WI
Posts: 4,827
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

Hey, I got a very nice FK05 off rctech a few weeks ago, and ive gone throught everything check out the settings and different crap

my question is.... It has 30wt xray shock oil all round. When it comes time to rebuild and maintance the shocks, is it the same wt as a losi 30 wieght? Everyone runs like a 50front 40 rear or a 70 front or 50 rear something like that. is it the same? 30 seems kinda low?
BSchorr is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 01:31 PM
  #5109  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
J@UNE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 635
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Its not the same as losi and I really suggest using the xray 30w oil all around, Way easyer to follow drivers setups and the 30 is proven for any kind of racing ruber and foam... I know its different but it seem to be the way to go.
J@UNE is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 02:31 PM
  #5110  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
r0adrunn3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 921
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by [email protected]
Its not the same as losi and I really suggest using the xray 30w oil all around, Way easyer to follow drivers setups and the 30 is proven for any kind of racing ruber and foam... I know its different but it seem to be the way to go.
Yep - I will second that. Just use the XRay 30wt all round...
r0adrunn3r is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 02:44 PM
  #5111  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
Scottmisfits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

But if the shops won't get you the Xray oils, it's close to AE 50 weight. That's a little thinner than the Losi 50. The Losi 47.5 is about the same as the AE 50.
Scottmisfits is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 03:15 PM
  #5112  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
Mark G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,268
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

hey ive nocied that my diffs are starting to get a bit grity and not so much nice and smooth, i tryed rebilding my diffs and added some diff lube. I also nocited the mettle ring had a slite line all the way around it. would that be my problem should i get new rings part #(305082)????
thnxs
-Mark
Mark G is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 07:32 PM
  #5113  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 147
Default

Mark, This is andy I was at IRP on sat. next to you with the little kid. Anyway, just try to rebuild the diff and make sure everything is clean also you can flip the diff rings to the other side.. I dont know if irp stocks the rings but I have an extra set if I see you there next sat. also try the niftech diff lube it seems to work the best
Andy C is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 04:01 AM
  #5114  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
stinkypop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: South Australia
Posts: 229
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

If your diff is gritty check your thrust bearings, especially if they are the soft ones.
stinkypop is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 04:46 AM
  #5115  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
Mark G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,268
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Andy C
Mark, This is andy I was at IRP on sat. next to you with the little kid. Anyway, just try to rebuild the diff and make sure everything is clean also you can flip the diff rings to the other side.. I dont know if irp stocks the rings but I have an extra set if I see you there next sat. also try the niftech diff lube it seems to work the best
okay andy thxs I try thos things. yeh I rember you from RSJ
Mark G is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.