Like Tree1Likes

Xray T1FK05

Old 10-16-2005, 11:50 AM
  #4111  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
dado11g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Farmington Hills, MI and proud of it
Posts: 1,059
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

im bored and i think im gonna try and make my car look cleaner... can you guys post some pics of how you wire you fk05's?

thanks,
marshal v.
dado11g is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 12:15 PM
  #4112  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
Roger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,322
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by KMW
It's an old car, but here's a photo with the new shocks:

Hey, I have the same color burber rug ( its hard to keep it clean ). This car is silky smoooooooth.
Roger is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 12:45 PM
  #4113  
Tech Master
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: land of mass unemployment
Posts: 1,315
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Marshal:

Have Jason send you some pics of ours. not my best but ok............or send it to me, I'll make it look better.

Last edited by TimXLB; 10-16-2005 at 01:34 PM.
TimXLB is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 01:00 PM
  #4114  
Tech Apprentice
 
IRISH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 55
Default

Crash YGPM
IRISH is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 01:03 PM
  #4115  
Tech Apprentice
 
IRISH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 55
Default

Originally Posted by dado11g
im bored and i think im gonna try and make my car look cleaner... can you guys post some pics of how you wire you fk05's?

thanks,
marshal v.
Heres the way I did it.
Attached Thumbnails Xray T1FK05-pa060011.jpg  
IRISH is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 01:09 PM
  #4116  
Tech Apprentice
 
IRISH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 55
Default SHOCKS

Originally Posted by axel
Anyone here who successfully has their tamiya shocks on their fk05 please help me. I'm having trouble becuase the shocks seem to be too short.
YOU HAVE TO USE THE X-RAY UPPER AND LOER COLLARS AND ALSO THE LOWER BALL SOCKETS
IRISH is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 01:33 PM
  #4117  
Tech Apprentice
 
IRISH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 55
Default SPOOL

From what I understand x-ray is no longer offering a sraight spool,now they just offer the multi diff.If you are looking for a spool go to www.tqhobbies.com Im not sure of the part # so get the phone# call em and ask for the #
IRISH is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 02:06 PM
  #4118  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
berger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bathurst, Australia
Posts: 1,149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Using the xray springs on tamiya shocks i seem to be able to only get a minimum of 6mm ride height, obviously i need to be able to get around 4.5mm. On the rear i have the collars all the way up, it just seems like the springs are too long perhaps... the ballcups on the shock shafts are screwed on all the way, if i cut them down and back them out a bit this would give me a little more length i think, but dont want to risk the ballcup breaking off or working loose.
berger is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 05:32 PM
  #4119  
Tech Master
 
hpipro321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 1,268
Default

Originally Posted by berger
Using the xray springs on tamiya shocks i seem to be able to only get a minimum of 6mm ride height, obviously i need to be able to get around 4.5mm. On the rear i have the collars all the way up, it just seems like the springs are too long perhaps... the ballcups on the shock shafts are screwed on all the way, if i cut them down and back them out a bit this would give me a little more length i think, but dont want to risk the ballcup breaking off or working loose.
maybe you can try screwing the eylet in more..... if that dosent work.. smaller springs. associated springs are slightly shorter thats wut i use
hpipro321 is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 05:53 PM
  #4120  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
Michal101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Virgina Beach, VA
Posts: 1,050
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by berger
Using the xray springs on tamiya shocks i seem to be able to only get a minimum of 6mm ride height, obviously i need to be able to get around 4.5mm. On the rear i have the collars all the way up, it just seems like the springs are too long perhaps... the ballcups on the shock shafts are screwed on all the way, if i cut them down and back them out a bit this would give me a little more length i think, but dont want to risk the ballcup breaking off or working loose.
berger,

I had the same problem, but I purchased a set of lowered spring collars that lower it about 2 mm from Team Tamale. You can check out the lowered shock collars and his other quality stuff at http://www.teamtamale.com/

He has a bunch of other great Xray optional parts.

Mike
Michal101 is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 06:00 PM
  #4121  
Tech Elite
 
Speedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,435
Default

The AE TC3/4 spring retainers will also work.

Are the hard suspension parts the way to go on carpet with the FK05? What does the kit come with?
Speedo is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 06:13 PM
  #4122  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (26)
 
CRASH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,717
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

The kit comes with medium suspension parts. I am still using the medium suspension parts but have the hard suspension parts to try out. So far the car does not seem to be needing them. But I am also still using the stock 2.5mm chassis. Looking to put the 3mm chassis on the car this week and give it a try.

Later,
CRASH is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 06:33 PM
  #4123  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (33)
 
HRCRACER123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 819
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

To all the people out there using the P-Dub front bumper. Be carefull. Not to knock all P-Dub bumpers. I am sure for other cars it might work better but on the FK'05 the bumper is so darn hard and the front of the chassis is so skinny the front chassis takes most of the impact in a hard crash it splits the front chassis.

Am am not just basing this off of just me. There are about 10 other people who's front chassis cracked or peeled up. We all switched back to the stock bumper and no more problems. I know there are other people out there this has happened too.

I know what some of you might say"You are hitting stuff too hard" But no one is perfect and sometimes you hit something hard. Thats all I have to say. Other than that I love my X-Ray. It is so much fun to drive!!
HRCRACER123 is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 06:52 PM
  #4124  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
ChrisP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Shelby Twp, MI
Posts: 2,081
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Wow....I'm running a P-Dub on my car and I have absolutely NO issues at all...

I did, however, round all my chassis edges and seal with CA prior to build...and I've been hitting stuff continuously with my car since it was first launched back in the spring....
ChrisP is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 07:22 PM
  #4125  
Tech Master
 
axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,226
Default

The parma bumper works well too. I actually hit a board at full throttle and nothing broke, Xrays are indestructable, but later that day a guy rear ended me and broke my right rear shock.
As for shocks I did successfully insert the tamiya shocks...but decided to use the stock xray ones.
axel is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.