Like Tree1Likes

Xray T1FK05

Old 10-14-2005, 03:29 PM
  #4081  
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,818
Default

Originally Posted by teamgp
That shouldn't happen at all. In my early days with these shocks, I have made the mistake of pushing the two asdjustable piston pieces together without lining up the notch/grooves and stripped the notch. But I replaced the piston pieces with new ones and carefully assembled them.

I've never heard of this problem here or on the XRAY forum until now though. Do you still have the shocks? If so, PM me.
this happened on the evo2 i had about last october/november

on my fk05 i built them with fixed pistons.
raving-monkey is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 06:30 PM
  #4082  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Regarding to the serpent shocks, I'm a little bit confused:

According to serpent's information ( http://www.hobbymodels.ch/att/960manual.pdf ) the front shocks are 68mm long rears are 73mm. I measured my xray shocks and they are about 68mm long (nowhere close to 73). So I would assume that not the rear ones what we need but the front ones. Especially when using foam front shock tower.

I have a buddy in Europe who just installed front serpent shocks on his xray and he says they fit perfectly however in this thread everybody states that the rear ones what we need. I'm confused...

BTW: At least five people have asked where to get them - but nobody wants to answer that simple question. Wondering why?

Last edited by cvt01; 10-14-2005 at 06:43 PM.
cvt01 is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 06:35 PM
  #4083  
Tech Master
 
axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,226
Default

Anyone here who successfully has their tamiya shocks on their fk05 please help me. I'm having trouble becuase the shocks seem to be too short.
axel is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 06:47 PM
  #4084  
Tech Elite
 
howard hudson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: some damned place called Iowa
Posts: 4,245
Default

Originally Posted by axel
Anyone here who successfully has their tamiya shocks on their fk05 please help me. I'm having trouble becuase the shocks seem to be too short.
so I guess you are keeping the 05 now ??
howard hudson is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 07:16 PM
  #4085  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (16)
 
Chris08527's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: 732
Posts: 2,156
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by cvt01
Regarding to the serpent shocks, I'm a little bit confused:

According to serpent's information ( http://www.hobbymodels.ch/att/960manual.pdf ) the front shocks are 68mm long rears are 73mm. I measured my xray shocks and they are about 68mm long (nowhere close to 73). So I would assume that not the rear ones what we need but the front ones. Especially when using foam front shock tower.

I have a buddy in Europe who just installed front serpent shocks on his xray and he says they fit perfectly however in this thread everybody states that the rear ones what we need. I'm confused...

BTW: At least five people have asked where to get them - but nobody wants to answer that simple question. Wondering why?

to help maybe . . .or confuse more i think the shocks part #903165
might be rears shocks on the 710 and front shocks on their 1/8th scale S960
i am not 100$ sure . . .
Chris08527 is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 07:55 PM
  #4086  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
stormperson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: MA
Posts: 1,185
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

For tamiya shocks, use TC3 shock ends, they should work fine, and you can also use the stock ball to snap them onto.
stormperson is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 08:00 PM
  #4087  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
DougC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: York, PA
Posts: 401
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Where to get Serpent shocks

Originally Posted by DougC
Serpent USA directed me to MR. Gift & Hobbies. Thier phone number is 305-525-5244
I posted this back on the 7th.
DougC is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 08:18 PM
  #4088  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Thanks DougC, I read back but I missed your post

About the shocks, I don't think that Serpent would sell the shocks for 710 on a different name...

http://www.mytsn.com/products/desc.asp?prid=4156

#903164 Shock absorber set RCC FR (2)
(68mm long per the manual)
#903165 Shock absorber set RCC RR (2) (73mm long per the manual)

Could somebody please confirm what is the lenght of the Rear Serpent Shocks and also what is the length of the xray ones?
cvt01 is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 08:24 PM
  #4089  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
DougC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: York, PA
Posts: 401
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

The gentleman there was very easy to deal with and ships very quickly. I had mine two days after I ordered them. He is located in Miami FL.
DougC is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 09:05 PM
  #4090  
Tech Elite
 
teamgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hampton/VA Beach USA
Posts: 2,089
Default

Here's another update on the one-way foam/carpet setup. It seems to be perfectly dialed for foams on high grip smooth asphalt (The Coliseum, Frederick, MD) as well and only needs a few minor changes for running rubbers on the same asphalt surface.

http://www.teamxray.com/xforum/viewt...?p=25408#25408

Last edited by teamgp; 10-15-2005 at 07:02 PM.
teamgp is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 05:19 AM
  #4091  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (3)
 
the_barbarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Gladstone qld
Posts: 683
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by axel
Anyone here who successfully has their tamiya shocks on their fk05 please help me. I'm having trouble becuase the shocks seem to be too short.
You have PM
the_barbarian is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 07:08 AM
  #4092  
Tech Master
iTrader: (61)
 
Doug D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,574
Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)
Default

Does the FK05 chassis fit the new 3700-3800 cells?

Thanks.
Doug D is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 07:25 AM
  #4093  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,465
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

yes with a little filing
goop is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 07:26 AM
  #4094  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (26)
 
CRASH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,717
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default Fitment of new cells in chassis

Originally Posted by Doug D
Does the FK05 chassis fit the new 3700-3800 cells?

Thanks.
I was under the impression that they didn't. But my new FK05 fits them perfectly with no modifications at all. The same is true for my 3mm chassis I just got.

Later,
CRASH is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 07:54 AM
  #4095  
Tech Master
 
hpipro321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 1,268
Default

Originally Posted by CRASH
I was under the impression that they didn't. But my new FK05 fits them perfectly with no modifications at all. The same is true for my 3mm chassis I just got.

Later,
same , i used a my friends 3800s to see how they fit, they fit fine even with the battery strap.......
hpipro321 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.