Like Tree1Likes

Xray T1FK05

Old 06-25-2005, 09:13 PM
  #2776  
Tech Elite
 
edseb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Laguna Niguel, California
Posts: 2,421
Default

Yeah, I just followed the stock set up and with the collars all the way up the car only attained a 6mm ride height. When I compressed the suspension, the shocks would stick and it would take a manual wiggle to get the shocks to return and the suspension to settle down. Remember this only happened int he rear on both arms. It was frustration. I do notice that the shocks don't run any stiff foam in the bladder the way the Tamiya ones do and the rebound/recoil is slower even when the shock pressure is adjusted to be about the same. I've been running my shock oil pressure (not weight) a little higher lately (a trick that guys like Hara and Tosolini) are doing and it seems I can run softer springs or oil, since the rebound makes for a crisper snap back and forth on the track.
edseb is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 09:18 PM
  #2777  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
scoobydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bay Area San Jose
Posts: 1,505
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by edseb
Yeah, I just followed the stock set up and with the collars all the way up the car only attained a 6mm ride height. When I compressed the suspension, the shocks would stick and it would take a manual wiggle to get the shocks to return and the suspension to settle down. Remember this only happened int he rear on both arms. It was frustration. I do notice that the shocks don't run any stiff foam in the bladder the way the Tamiya ones do and the rebound/recoil is slower even when the shock pressure is adjusted to be about the same. I've been running my shock oil pressure (not weight) a little higher lately (a trick that guys like Hara and Tosolini) are doing and it seems I can run softer springs or oil, since the rebound makes for a crisper snap back and forth on the track.
Are you running the aluminum shock bodies? Cause when I was surfing stormer one day I noticed that Xray had some Alum shock bodies that where different sizes. Some long and some short for the same car? I don't know what model it was for, but they were not for the T1 series. I know it is a stupid question, but you werent running those where you?
scoobydo is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 09:26 PM
  #2778  
Tech Master
iTrader: (50)
 
Alex C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: On a ship in the warm seas with no sail !!!
Posts: 1,638
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default Xray Alu-Teflon shock Bodies

Hi scoobydo,

In all reality most of the team drivers just use the plastic shock bodies as do I. I feel this is just a bling factor, instead of spending money on the shock bodies buy yourself some foam inserts for rebound along with the new 1* or 2*Rear uprights. Just my 2 cents.

Best Regards

Alex Cortez
Alex C is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 09:39 PM
  #2779  
Tech Elite
 
edseb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Laguna Niguel, California
Posts: 2,421
Default

I don't have the aluminum ones.
edseb is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 12:12 AM
  #2780  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Guo Chean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indiana, PA15701
Posts: 1,492
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

does anyone know that for FK 05 will it still have an option for center one way? thanks
Guo Chean is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 03:35 AM
  #2781  
Tech Addict
 
John_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Scotland
Posts: 724
Default

i think i seen it posted on the xray forum that they dont make one
John_S is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 11:31 AM
  #2782  
Tech Elite
 
edseb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Laguna Niguel, California
Posts: 2,421
Default

Heh guys, quick one. I'm starting to dial in my car, but with the stock spur, getting a good gearing for Monster Stock Pro is hard and c2 in 19t is bad too. What are the bigger gears that I can change out for the spur and still fit in the car?
edseb is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 01:15 PM
  #2783  
Tech Master
iTrader: (50)
 
Alex C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: On a ship in the warm seas with no sail !!!
Posts: 1,638
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by edseb
Heh guys, quick one. I'm starting to dial in my car, but with the stock spur, getting a good gearing for Monster Stock Pro is hard and c2 in 19t is bad too. What are the bigger gears that I can change out for the spur and still fit in the car?
Hi edseb,

You can Purchase a PRS 116 Tooth (Precision Racing Systems ) Spur Gear, which works great on the stock 2.5mm Chassis in addition to the 3.0 chassis if you run it!
No need to Drill or sand down the Spur gear like kimbrough.

As to your gearing, that all depends if you run Rubber or Foam Tire,
as for myself I run Foam Tire 19 Turn & Stock.

A good starting point on Pinion gearing for a Monster Stock is 29 tooth pinion with a 116 (64 pitch) spur gear Foam Tire 58mm, if you run any Roar Stock motors just gear down 2 teeth, as for the 19 Turn C2 I use a 33 tooth pinion 116 (64 pitch) Spur Gear. All of these examples are being utilized on a high bite carpet, technical layout track, gearing may very depending on track layout and or bite.

Attached below is link to there web site: http://www.precisionracingsystems.com/products/9
64 Pitch Spurs - Pro-Lite Oval


Last edited by Alex C; 06-26-2005 at 01:37 PM.
Alex C is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 06:26 PM
  #2784  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Davo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Australia, Victoria
Posts: 648
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Xray 2.5mm Chassis

Hey,

Does any here have there ORIGINAL 2.5mm chassis that they dont use and are willing to sell it?? Im in Australia. Also does anyone have pics of this new BMI chassis that is ment to be coming out?

Cheers Dav3
Davo is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 07:26 PM
  #2785  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
jaysimpson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,869
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Guys I installed a set of TRF shock on my FK05, anyone see any reason they way I mounted them will be a problem? I know Harshguy is using the cone washers and I plan to as well but until I get then this should be fine. I also just used the longer shock ends that come in the TRF shock kit. (on the rear I used them instead of the short ones because I needed extra length for the lower pin mounts.
Attached Thumbnails Xray T1FK05-dsc00505-medium-.jpg   Xray T1FK05-dsc00507-medium-.jpg   Xray T1FK05-dsc00510-medium-.jpg  
jaysimpson is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 07:27 PM
  #2786  
Tech Elite
 
edseb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Laguna Niguel, California
Posts: 2,421
Default

Alex:
Does that fit the 2mm chassis too? I run rubber and gear Monster Stcok Pro around 7-7.1, whith stock spur I'm a little too high and low, same with C2.
edseb is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 07:29 PM
  #2787  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
jaysimpson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,869
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Davo
Hey,

Does any here have there ORIGINAL 2.5mm chassis that they dont use and are willing to sell it?? Im in Australia. Also does anyone have pics of this new BMI chassis that is ment to be coming out?

Cheers Dav3
Jason posted pics of it a few pages back.
jaysimpson is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 07:29 PM
  #2788  
Tech Elite
 
edseb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Laguna Niguel, California
Posts: 2,421
Default

Promatcherrc:
I did the same thing only used the same shock bottoms as Xray, just unthreaded a little. They are shorter, but I get enough travel. You should be fine.
edseb is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 07:31 PM
  #2789  
Tech Elite
 
edseb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Laguna Niguel, California
Posts: 2,421
Default

Alex:
Yeah, I like those spur gears. They are a little beafier and I use them in my L4 1/12th scale. Only problem is that unlike Kimbrough, there isn't a ridge to clip on a dust cover for the diff on the sides. That won't be a problem on sedans.
edseb is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 07:32 PM
  #2790  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
jaysimpson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,869
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Cool, I figured it would be fine but felt a second or third opinion was in order just in case,LOL. As for pistons do you guys just use only Tamiya pistons or what?
jaysimpson is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.