Like Tree1Likes

Xray T1FK05

Old 05-31-2005, 04:54 AM
  #2506  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
stinkypop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: South Australia
Posts: 229
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JBennett
This only started in the last race and before that it was fine. I just rebuilt the shocks so maybe I'll see a difference. Thanks

Jason
Check your chassis for tweak too.
stinkypop is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 05:10 AM
  #2507  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oshawa, Ontario
Posts: 444
Default

Originally Posted by acutts
Under load at full lock I seem to get loads of chatter at the front wheel and can't find the problem??
I have turned the steering down so that it doesn't touch the c-hub at full lock but problem persists ... any ideas??
My guess... Is dogbone rubbing on the axle hub.
MartynD is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 06:02 AM
  #2508  
Tech Addict
 
acutts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 507
Default

Originally Posted by MartynD
My guess... Is dogbone rubbing on the axle hub.
There was a litle wear there but that was fixed when I turned the steering % down and still get problem...
acutts is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 06:20 AM
  #2509  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oshawa, Ontario
Posts: 444
Default

Are the dogbones bent at all? Also check for cracked C-hub, underneath where the screw goes through into the hub carrier.
MartynD is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 06:22 AM
  #2510  
Tech Addict
 
acutts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 507
Default

Don't believe dogbones bent as I have never hit anything with it yet. But I will look at home tonight. The c-hub also can't be cracked as I am running alu ones.

Cheers
acutts is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 06:24 AM
  #2511  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,465
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

are you running the alum. drive hubs or the spring steel? if you are running the alum. one replace them both with the spring steel ones and you problem will be fixed.
goop is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 07:11 AM
  #2512  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
John Doucakis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,143
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by acutts
Under load at full lock I seem to get loads of chatter at the front wheel and can't find the problem??
I have turned the steering down so that it doesn't touch the c-hub at full lock but problem persists ... any ideas??
Check for the small pin that holds the dog bone together with the wheel hub if it is bent.

Never had this problem with the XRAY, in fact it has the smoothest transmition all around compared to any other car I've built so far (YOKOMO, ASSOC,TAMIYA, HPI).

A detailed picture might help a lot to identify what is causing the problem..
John Doucakis is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 10:03 AM
  #2513  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: North Bay
Posts: 488
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Any one interested in a "new in box" "factory sealed" Euro version T1FK 05' with multi-diff click on link below

http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?t=73871
Obsidian is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 10:07 AM
  #2514  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
HarshGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 3,379
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Obsidian
Any one interested in a "new in box" "factory sealed" Euro version T1FK 05' with multi-diff click on link below

http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?t=73871
I guess you like finishing behind me all the time
HarshGuy is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 08:44 PM
  #2515  
Tech Addict
 
Formula1fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Buckeye City!
Posts: 691
Default

I ran a front spool for the first time this weekend. I was wondering if the belt needs to be tightened when you do this. I never heard the belt slip when I had a front diff. I also had the diff pretty tight, since I was waiting on the multi diff to arrive. I also had the belt flip on me in one of the qualifiers.

I also need a drive ratio suggestion. I am running at a track with two long straights. I am running rubber tires, and epic roar stock motors. THANKS
Formula1fan is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 08:57 PM
  #2516  
Tech Master
 
hpipro321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 1,268
Default Fourmula 1 Fan

i had the dame problem too what i did is i took the epic out of my cat and put any tuned monster in then i tightened the belt i space just to keepa little bit of tension, then put a 3mm clip in the back nothing up front and that should fix your problems just make sure to check camber and ride hieght again to be sure

hpipro321
hpipro321 is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 09:01 PM
  #2517  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 313
Default

Anybody know how much would be involved to change a Freedom of Choice to the new chassis ? is it possible or just not worth the cost?
Thanks
tarheelquality is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 09:19 PM
  #2518  
Tech Addict
 
Eric Gebhard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 508
Default

It will be cheaper to buy a new kit than upgrading your FOC being there are very few comon parts with that car.
Eric Gebhard is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 09:42 PM
  #2519  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 313
Default

OK thanks, will probably stick with what I have now then, it still handles better than most other cars.
tarheelquality is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 08:51 AM
  #2520  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oshawa, Ontario
Posts: 444
Default

Originally Posted by Formula1fan
I ran a front spool for the first time this weekend. I was wondering if the belt needs to be tightened when you do this. I never heard the belt slip when I had a front diff. I also had the diff pretty tight, since I was waiting on the multi diff to arrive. I also had the belt flip on me in one of the qualifiers.

I also need a drive ratio suggestion. I am running at a track with two long straights. I am running rubber tires, and epic roar stock motors. THANKS
Epic Roar stock... try 7.5 or 7.1 ratio and adjust from there. If its hitting top speed too early on the straights gear down but keep a close eye on laptimes. As soon as laptimes start to go up, change back a gear.
MartynD is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.