Like Tree1Likes

Xray T1FK05

Old 05-10-2005, 06:14 PM
  #2221  
Tech Fanatic
 
kidDynomite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 928
Default

Originally posted by acutts
Can anyone help on how to build the X-ray shocks so that there is no rebound ... I must have tried about ten times now and just can't seem to do it ...???????????????
It's alright to have some rebound. I believe Martin uses a ton, maybe even full rebound. As long as you do it consistently to all shocks all the time. You will be able to work with your rebound and find a consistant setting after every rebuild.

TIP: when you turn your shocks over for bottom cap bleeding (make sure the shaft if fully extended), use a standard Xacto blade horizontally or a ride-height gauge turned sideways as a means of stopping the shaft from going all the way in. So about a 1/4" or less. Then carefully close the cap making sure that the shaft doesn't move to prevent air from entering. After a while you'll find the sweet spot for perfect rebound and it will be dead on for each shock you build. Doing it this way, I can almost rebuild all four in about 20min.

Make sure to use the Xray aftermarket set of diaphrams, not the short hard ones that came with the 04 kit (dimpled to easily). I actually like the Serpent diaphrams with Xray foam inserts.
kidDynomite is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 08:22 PM
  #2222  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (33)
 
HRCRACER123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 819
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Can anyone recommend a good starting point as far as the shocks on med bite carpet. What colors? Thanks
HRCRACER123 is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 10:14 PM
  #2223  
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

Originally posted by L.Fairtrace
I cant understand why you guys try to get no rebound. I have never felt the difference and it doesnt affect my cars performance. Do you think that little pressure from rebound is going to make a difference with 30lb springs on your car?
Your car will be harder to drive ( bumpy feeling ) If the rebound effect is too strong. When you drop the car from 4 cm, the car will land on the ground with "bang" sound.

The best suspension setup ( i've seen from my friend's car ) :

The shock really absorb the weight of the car without bottoming out from 4 cm drop height. It should produce nice "absorbing" sound instead of "bang" sound.

You can see slight compression when you lift the wheel on opposite / diagonal side.

Last edited by asw7576; 05-11-2005 at 12:10 AM.
asw7576 is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 12:38 AM
  #2224  
Tech Addict
 
acutts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 507
Default

Originally posted by kidDynomite
It's alright to have some rebound. I believe Martin uses a ton, maybe even full rebound. As long as you do it consistently to all shocks all the time. You will be able to work with your rebound and find a consistant setting after every rebuild.

TIP: when you turn your shocks over for bottom cap bleeding (make sure the shaft if fully extended), use a standard Xacto blade horizontally or a ride-height gauge turned sideways as a means of stopping the shaft from going all the way in. So about a 1/4" or less. Then carefully close the cap making sure that the shaft doesn't move to prevent air from entering. After a while you'll find the sweet spot for perfect rebound and it will be dead on for each shock you build. Doing it this way, I can almost rebuild all four in about 20min.

Make sure to use the Xray aftermarket set of diaphrams, not the short hard ones that came with the 04 kit (dimpled to easily). I actually like the Serpent diaphrams with Xray foam inserts.
Thanks for info ...... what does the x-ray foam insert do when used in the top of the shock?
acutts is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 02:59 AM
  #2225  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (23)
 
ALBERTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK
Posts: 2,986
Trader Rating: 23 (96%+)
Default

Originally posted by HRCRACER123
Can anyone recommend a good starting point as far as the shocks on med bite carpet. What colors? Thanks
I run purple front and either lt purple or violet in the back. The shocks are the adjustable kind with 2 holes front and 3 back. and when looking at the shock mounting there practally standing up...
ALBERTO is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 05:23 PM
  #2226  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
dawgmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 2,658
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default BATTERY SLOTS PRE-FILED

Since they come pre-filed will they work with 3700's or do you to filed them down?
dawgmeat is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 06:26 PM
  #2227  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oshawa, Ontario
Posts: 444
Default Re: BATTERY SLOTS PRE-FILED

Originally posted by dawgmeat
Since they come pre-filed will they work with 3700's or do you to filed them down?
Not sure what chassis you are talking about... the kit 05 chassis is not pre-filed, and from reports does not fit 3700's.
Might have more luck asking this question with more specifics on the teamxray forum

Of course if you are asking about a BMI chassis... well try the BMI thread..
MartynD is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 01:34 AM
  #2228  
Tech Fanatic
 
kidDynomite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 928
Default

Originally posted by HRCRACER123
Can anyone recommend a good starting point as far as the shocks on med bite carpet. What colors? Thanks
Depends on what tires and motor you run.

Stock & 19T Foams: F=Light-Purple/R=Dark Blue, No. 4 hole on front and rear towers, 3 holes open all around w/Xray 30wt.

Or better yet, go to:
http://www.teamxray.com/xforum/xsheets.php
kidDynomite is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 01:39 AM
  #2229  
Tech Fanatic
 
kidDynomite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 928
Default

Originally posted by acutts
Thanks for info ...... what does the x-ray foam insert do when used in the top of the shock?
Just to clarify, the foam insert goes in the diaphram. I believe it helps prevent the diaphram from "caving in" and staying that way.
kidDynomite is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 04:35 AM
  #2230  
Tech Regular
 
chach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Worcester, MA
Posts: 336
Default

The Thick chassis for the 05 does come with the battery slots pre-filed, and it will accomodate the new 3700 cells...if you use the xray battery strap, dont loose the shims that come with it becuase you will need those shims for the 3700 cells also.
chach is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 04:51 AM
  #2231  
Tech Fanatic
 
S-T-R-l-K-E-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CS RACING / RIDDLER HOBBIES
Posts: 973
Default

Originally posted by kidDynomite
Just to clarify, the foam insert goes in the diaphram. I believe it helps prevent the diaphram from "caving in" and staying that way.

it will also help the shocks provide more consistent rebounds
S-T-R-l-K-E-R is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 05:52 AM
  #2232  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
DougC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: York, PA
Posts: 401
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: BATTERY SLOTS PRE-FILED

Originally posted by MartynD
Not sure what chassis you are talking about... the kit 05 chassis is not pre-filed, and from reports does not fit 3700's.
Might have more luck asking this question with more specifics on the teamxray forum

Of course if you are asking about a BMI chassis... well try the BMI thread..
The 3mm Xray chassis has the battery slots beveled.
DougC is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 07:59 AM
  #2233  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Geetoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: HPI/HOTBODIES
Posts: 1,872
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by S-T-R-l-K-E-R
it will also help the shocks provide more consistent rebounds
Thats true, tamiya first came out with it and works well.
Geetoo is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 08:00 AM
  #2234  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
paulc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: APAC
Posts: 3,639
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Geetoo
Thats true, tamiya first came out with it and works well.
can't forget your first love ey?
paulc is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 12:34 PM
  #2235  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (33)
 
HRCRACER123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 819
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default Question.

How do you guys set droop? Do i need the hudy droop gauge and blocks that go under the chassis? I am used to setting droop on a tc3 and that was really simple and the part came with the kit. Any suggestions..
HRCRACER123 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.