R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-21-2005, 06:14 AM   #1921
Tech Elite
 
HarshGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 3,379
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Set-Up

Quote:
Originally posted by Midnight
Im sorry but I was talking about the front arm rear mount, like Mikes ssetup sheet.
That gives the car front kickup, a little less initial turn in but more mid and exit on power steering.
__________________
http://www.arroyoc.com
http://www.gearchart.com
http://www.weracemountainbikes.com
HarshGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 06:23 AM   #1922
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 287
Default

i just bought my fk 05 and started to assemble it are the diffs prelubed or no .
rcfreak24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 06:25 AM   #1923
Tech Regular
 
chach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Worcester, MA
Posts: 336
Default

the diffs are not pre-lubed!!
chach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 06:27 AM   #1924
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 287
Wink

thanks
rcfreak24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 07:24 AM   #1925
Tech Elite
 
HarshGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 3,379
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Re: Set-Up

Quote:
Originally posted by =MisFitz= NuKe
Alright guys, this is an asphalt set-up for 19 turn.

Before you go and try it, and say it sucks, remember each persons driving style is different. the car is very fast, I had to use brakes though going into the 180s, still working on that so I don't have to use brakes. Even if the car feels funny, this should be a decent, basic, set-up. I like my cars to feel very "on-edge".

-Mike

Thanks BTW ...I really liked your KO setup from the nats, looking forward to trying this setup on the car, I have a setup that works pretty good in practice, but haven't raced it yet, I''ll throw this on during practice and compare the two

Hey do you have a "working" modifiable pdf file? ...the one from the xray site won't open correctly on any of my comupters says "error 9" or something like that.
__________________
http://www.arroyoc.com
http://www.gearchart.com
http://www.weracemountainbikes.com
HarshGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 07:29 AM   #1926
Tech Adept
 
Mike Mandio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Newark, Delaware
Posts: 155
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

A post from Mario Hudy on the FAQ section of the Xray site:


mario

Joined: 03 Sep 2004
Posts: 643
Location: Trencin, Slovakia
Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 7:07 am Post subject: I have a dry differential

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have a dry differential

The differential has been built per factory specifications and this way it has been build for several years by well trained factory assembly staff with great results. The diffs are being build and set-up for ultra smooth operation. All factory team drivers have been using the original diffs without modification or re-assembly which is a proof that the diffs are build ready for any high competition conditions. There is a thin and sufficient layer of grease put on the large diff shims, there is sufficient amount of grease applied on the carbide balls and there is sufficient amount of grease applied on the axial bearing as well.

You will not find any extra amount of grease in the differential because XRAY differential has been build for smooth operation and features only the neccessary, appropriate and sufficient amount of the grease. If a large amount of grease would be applied, this will make the operation of the differential not as smooth and efficient like it is now - built per factory specifications.

Moreover XRAY differentials feature the XRAY Dust-Covers which seals the differential perfectly and no or very minimum of dust can get into the differential. Therefore even a small amount of grease is sufficient to make the differential work smoothly and perfectly for a long time.

Please note that XRAY has been using a very special grease which is very thin and transparent so it may look the differential is dry. XRAY strongly suggest NOT to use any other grease than the original XRAY grease.

To summarize the answer - XRAY differentials are NOT dry. If you do not see any overflowing amount of grease in the differential do not worry, your differential has been built properly with thin and sufficient layer of thin grease for smooth operation of the differential. If you believe you need more grease than is the factory standard, then please use the included grease in your kit but remember that a larger amount of grease may make the differential run not that smooth. You can purchase the XRAY Grease under part number #30 9500 Silicone Grease

At the end, please remember if you want your differential to last long you need to break-in the differential properly. We will add another FAQ section about the proper differential break-in.
Mike Mandio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 09:03 AM   #1927
Tech Master
 
=MisFitz= NuKe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,058
Send a message via AIM to =MisFitz= NuKe Send a message via Yahoo to =MisFitz= NuKe
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Set-Up

Quote:
Originally posted by Midnight
Im sorry but I was talking about the front arm rear mount, like Mikes ssetup sheet.
Having the arm "kicked-up" like that calms the car down, to me. I did that because the car would get to rear-end happy going into the chicane on our track.
=MisFitz= NuKe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 09:05 AM   #1928
Tech Master
 
=MisFitz= NuKe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,058
Send a message via AIM to =MisFitz= NuKe Send a message via Yahoo to =MisFitz= NuKe
Default Re: Re: Set-Up

Quote:
Originally posted by HarshGuy
Thanks BTW ...I really liked your KO setup from the nats, looking forward to trying this setup on the car, I have a setup that works pretty good in practice, but haven't raced it yet, I''ll throw this on during practice and compare the two

Hey do you have a "working" modifiable pdf file? ...the one from the xray site won't open correctly on any of my comupters says "error 9" or something like that.
Thanks, about the nats set-up. Ya, I have a modifiable set-up sheet, its what I have been using. works for me, using Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional on a Mac.

-Mike
=MisFitz= NuKe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 09:12 AM   #1929
Tech Elite
 
HarshGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 3,379
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Re: Set-Up

Quote:
Originally posted by =MisFitz= NuKe
Thanks, about the nats set-up. Ya, I have a modifiable set-up sheet, its what I have been using. works for me, using Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional on a Mac.

-Mike
humm I only have 5.0 professional, but on another computer with 9.0 reader, same problem ...both are pc's though ...can you email me the pdf you're using? ...never know [email protected]
__________________
http://www.arroyoc.com
http://www.gearchart.com
http://www.weracemountainbikes.com
HarshGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 09:53 AM   #1930
Tech Elite
 
Midnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Edmond. Oklahoma
Posts: 2,066
Trader Rating: 85 (100%+)
Default

Is that a diferent top plate. Does it come with those mounts that connect the top to the lower chassis.
Quote:
Originally posted by Tim Stamper
Another
__________________
RC8T; Losi 2.0B; FT T4; AKA & RB
Hoffman Photography, www.carolinasrc.com
Midnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 10:13 AM   #1931
Tech Elite
 
mtveten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,668
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default Re: Can you move an the spur up/down....

Quote:
Originally posted by RCknight
on the 05 like you can on a RXD? Also can you only use Xray spur gears on the 05? Thanks
X-ray, PRS, and Parma gears fit perfectly. ( X-ray and Parma have a thinner center section than PRS gears and thus provide a better clearance from the motor mount )

Kimbrough gears will fit if you mount them with the tooth marker facing the belts and loosen the motor mount bracket and pull it away from the centerline a bit and retighten it. Without the extra finageling they will work but they will rub slightly on the motor mount.

Robinson, HPI, Tamiya, Kawada, and atlas gears do not fit.

Corally and Speedtech gears will probably work but I have not tested them on the car.
mtveten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 10:30 AM   #1932
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,520
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Related to that post from Mario Hudy...I've just run my 05 about 6 times and the car has been fairly inconsistent. After the last run, I checked my rear diff and it felt very gritty...almost crunchy so I took it apart. It was BONE DRY. The thrust bearing had exploded from friction. When I opened the diff, thrust and diff balls and metal fragments fell everywhere. I ran my hand across the thrust and diff washer and my hands were clean. No lube of any kind. Even though I run the front diff locked, I decided to check it too. Same thing...trashed thrust washers and bearing. If he believes those diffs are being assembled properly, he needs to go have a chat with quality control.

Rebuilding those diffs was a pain too. Those freakin snap rings are bitch to get out
DOTMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 10:32 AM   #1933
Tech Elite
 
dr_hfuhuhurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 4,503
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Default

Robinson gears work just fine...you just have to drill 2 new holes for the mounting.
__________________
"There is a fine line between hobby and mental illness. Which side are you on?"

“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.” - John Wayne
dr_hfuhuhurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 11:13 AM   #1934
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 338
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Midnight
Is that a diferent top plate. Does it come with those mounts that connect the top to the lower chassis.
Yes, that is the optional wide top deck and the stand-offs are separate.

Wide Top Deck #301165
Aluminum Top deck mounts #306510
brianrice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 02:20 PM   #1935
Tech Adept
 
noline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 227
Default

Does anyone have a modifiable Xray FK 2005 setup sheet I cant seem to find one.
noline is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: NIB Xray T1FK05 & Xray Teflon coated aluminum Shock Body Adam.A Australia Wanted to Buy 4 01-02-2007 03:30 PM
WTB: Xray T1FK05 & Xray Teflon coated aluminum Shock Body Adam.A R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 12-30-2006 03:26 PM
Xray T1FK05 $100.00 Charles R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 04-25-2006 10:51 AM
F/S: Xray T1FK05 ewippler R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 12-09-2005 04:03 PM
WTB: Xray T1FK05 ewippler R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 4 05-06-2005 06:40 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:03 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net