Like Tree1Likes

Xray T1FK05

Old 04-06-2005, 07:15 AM
  #1546  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (94)
 
dr_hfuhuhurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 4,828
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Default Re: Need help. FK05 shock ball joints rubbing wheels.

Originally posted by DougC
I will be running 28mm foams on my 05, so as instructed in the manual, I trimmed the shock mounts off of the rear arms. With the shocks mounted in the outer holes, the wheels rub the shock ball joints as the suspension begins to compress. They rub to the point of binding things up. What do I need to do to correct this? Do I need to move the shocks to the inner holes (this goes against the manual and the posted team driver setups)? What options do I have to take care of this situation? Thanks for any help.
Remove a bit more...
dr_hfuhuhurr is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 07:18 AM
  #1547  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
wannabee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: RUBBERNECK RACING Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 2,484
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Need help. FK05 shock ball joints rubbing wheels.

Originally posted by dr_hfuhuhurr
Remove a bit more...
You can't remove too much or else the shock retainer will hit the rear hub and bind the whole rear end up....
wannabee is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 07:22 AM
  #1548  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
DougC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: York, PA
Posts: 401
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Re: Need help. FK05 shock ball joints rubbing wheels.

I'll have to look when I get home tonight to be sure, but I think it's already pretty close rear hub right now.

Originally posted by wannabee
You can't remove too much or else the shock retainer will hit the rear hub and bind the whole rear end up....
DougC is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 07:26 AM
  #1549  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
HarshGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 3,379
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by acutts
Probably would of been easier to get hold of .....
Could try a breast pump I guess
HarshGuy is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 07:42 AM
  #1550  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
wannabee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: RUBBERNECK RACING Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 2,484
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Need help. FK05 shock ball joints rubbing wheels.

Originally posted by DougC
I'll have to look when I get home tonight to be sure, but I think it's already pretty close rear hub right now.
I found out the hard way!! One thing you can do is spin the retainer to where the split in it is the side against the hub...Other than that the car is stupid dialed!!

KE
wannabee is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 08:14 AM
  #1551  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
DougC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: York, PA
Posts: 401
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Need help. FK05 shock ball joints rubbing wheels.

Originally posted by wannabee
I found out the hard way!! One thing you can do is spin the retainer to where the split in it is the side against the hub...Other than that the car is stupid dialed!!

KE
Is that what you ended up doing or did you switch mounting holes?
DougC is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 08:19 AM
  #1552  
Tech Addict
 
Tim Stamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 595
Default Re: Need help. FK05 shock ball joints rubbing wheels.

Originally posted by DougC
I will be running 28mm foams on my 05, so as instructed in the manual, I trimmed the shock mounts off of the rear arms. With the shocks mounted in the outer holes, the wheels rub the shock ball joints as the suspension begins to compress. They rub to the point of binding things up. What do I need to do to correct this? Do I need to move the shocks to the inner holes (this goes against the manual and the posted team driver setups)? What options do I have to take care of this situation? Thanks for any help.
Hmmm. I cut the mount flush so that it will clear the wheel. When I get home, i'll compress the suspension and see if it rubs. Maybe it does and just didn't notice. I ran Jaco 28mm and TRC 28mm wheels yesterday without a problem. You could try this, measure the wheel width. I have had some trc wheels come in as 30mm when the box was marked 28mm. Just a thought.

Tim
Tim Stamper is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 08:22 AM
  #1553  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
DougC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: York, PA
Posts: 401
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I bought a set of Jaco's. I did think to measure them last night and they came out at around 28.2 or 28.3mm as I recall.
DougC is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 08:42 AM
  #1554  
KMW
Tech Regular
iTrader: (11)
 
KMW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 363
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by acutts
I got the last one that stormer hobbies had

They are out of stock everywhere ..... don't know if they make them anaymore ...! While I was looking apparently Tamiya also make one but never found one either ...!
Horizon Hobby is a RIDE distributor and usually has them in stock:

http://www.horizonhobby.com/Shop/ByC...rodID=RDERP600
KMW is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 08:47 AM
  #1555  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
wannabee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: RUBBERNECK RACING Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 2,484
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Need help. FK05 shock ball joints rubbing wheels.

Originally posted by DougC
Is that what you ended up doing or did you switch mounting holes?
I left them on the outside, I have ran them on the inside B4 on my old car, but to be honest I've never had an Xray as good as this one. I also run Parma tires so I think the offset helps in this case. You might want to try a set too...

If you are worried about this just put them on the inside and tune around that.

Good luck!

KE
wannabee is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 08:47 AM
  #1556  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
HarshGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 3,379
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by KMW
Horizon Hobby is a RIDE distributor and usually has them in stock:

http://www.horizonhobby.com/Shop/ByC...rodID=RDERP600
Saweet ...that's the one I used to have :-)
HarshGuy is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 11:23 AM
  #1557  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
JDXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 2,802
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by John Fontaine
What? Like on the RDX where the shocks face the front of the car? RDX does that because the use the same geometry on all 4 corners... Xray does not...I'm very suprized you could do this and it's the first I have heard about it.

John

btw - I was talking rear shocks. What shocks did you flip?? Front or Rear?
Ya i put the rear shock on the other side of the shock tower like the RDX. I have seen alot of guys do it before. Here is a pic, not sure if you can see it from that angle, if not ill get another.
Attached Thumbnails Xray T1FK05-newxrayfk.jpg  
JDXray is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 11:38 AM
  #1558  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
John Fontaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SouthEast PA
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Interesting Jon... Never seen that before. I would think that would cause the shock angle to be severe and cause binding. What's the reason for having the shock like that??

BTW - Nice chassis and cells, and you're missing a receiver in that picture...you can't race like that
John Fontaine is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 11:57 AM
  #1559  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
JDXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 2,802
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by John Fontaine
Interesting Jon... Never seen that before. I would think that would cause the shock angle to be severe and cause binding. What's the reason for having the shock like that??

BTW - Nice chassis and cells, and you're missing a receiver in that picture...you can't race like that
lol John, i just got the reciever today Ill show you another pic of it finished.

Ya it seemed weird to me at first, but the guys at my LHS seem to run wheel with it, so i am gonna try it.

Jon
JDXray is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 12:04 PM
  #1560  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
NVisible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,188
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by JDXray
Ya i put the rear shock on the other side of the shock tower like the RDX. I have seen alot of guys do it before. Here is a pic, not sure if you can see it from that angle, if not ill get another.
Interesting. Does that not create a big forward angle on the shock? Also, what do you expect to accomplish by doing this?
I have the exact same car as you and am curious
NVisible is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.