R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-10-2012, 05:30 PM   #61
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,002
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Hi Tony, noted on the speed guns and the videos I compiled with speeds are unofficial. Just curious, could you share the setup you tried (e.g. motor, battery voltage) and the speed you achieved? Trying to match the battery voltage to speed. Have you tried the 8s per OP? Thanks in advance.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TPhalen View Post
Not sure why I'm posting...maybe because I'm interested or maybe it's because I have a XO-1 and it doesn't go that fast...and let me tell you I've tried!
__________________
www.rccartips.com
www.f1rccars.com
www.f1rcclub.com
http://www.youtube.com/user/rccartips/
http://www.facebook.com/RCCarTipsFan
rccartips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 06:09 PM   #62
Tech Regular
 
MrChodes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 250
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I see a lots of comments regarding using radar gun. Who can verify radar gun accuracy?

I'm doing some speed runs myself. I am obviously way out of Rcchoppers league as 112klm/hr is my best yet.
At the moment I have 140klm/hr as a goal.
The thing is I did it multiple times, used digital video cam to record the car passing an outdoor netball court. (Netball is women's basketball)

Then I put the video in a video editor on a PC and frame by frame measure the time taken to cross the court. 1 frame every 4 hundredth of a second allows good accuracy. Netball courts are standard size but I did confirm with tape measure.

I have video from multiple angles. This is not to prove to others, it is so I am confident I'm recording accurate results. If someone wants to dispute my claims I could not care less. I know what I have achieved and can show the video to anyone that is interested in seeing.

It seems totally ridiculous that Rcchopper did this and did not bother to get any type of video of the event. Just as ridiculous as posting a video of the data logging and expecting people to believe it.
__________________
Serpent S100. Ducati FM1-e bike.
MrChodes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 07:24 PM   #63
Tech Elite
 
TPhalen's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brookfield, CT
Posts: 2,793
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rccartips View Post
Hi, RCChopper claims he has done it, it's his thread. With 8s it is very possible so I have no reason to doubt (proof or no proof). Other videos on youtube show this can be done (albeit with other cars).

Not sure why people called it BS (on the first page) even before asking RCChopper for video proof of his car running. My opinion is 8S (unloaded) would give higher reading than 153mph. And 8S (loaded) is about right at 153mph. Based on that I'm inclined to believe his claim. But of course a video of the car running would be nice.

It's no biggie. If fake, who cares. Plenty of other fast cars we can watch on youtube.
Again, Team Associated has built this uber-expensive and completely one-off 168ish mph speed run car. Stretched, tons of aerodynamic advantages over the XO and somewhere in the vicinity of 12hp. So, I'm pretty certain that adding 2S to a 100mph car without any other changes is not going to eclipse the 150mph mark. Not to mention that, when doing any kind of speed run, the faster you go, the more resistance the air causes, meaning you need ALOT more power to overcome it. Going from 6S to 8S just won't pick up 50mph. I'm not even sure the app is accurate yet. I'll be doing some testing to see (I have a radar gun).

I tried putting my XO on the workbench and mashed the throttle. Looking at the readout it said 999mph. I'm pretty sure that's not accurate. Ya, pretty sure.

But I do like RCChopper enthusiasm
__________________
Tony Phalen
UF1 Team Lotus/Renault
RCDriver.com
CompetitionX.com
R Sector / F1 Paint Labs

Last edited by TPhalen; 04-10-2012 at 07:47 PM.
TPhalen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 11:33 AM   #64
Tech Elite
 
rtypec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,969
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TPhalen View Post
Looking at the readout it said 999mph.
Video of said read out or it did not happen. That way you're legit with "traxxas x0-1 hits 999mph !!1"
rtypec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 11:51 AM   #65
Tech Addict
 
JamesHealey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 556
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I made my tamiya f104 do 65mph! Woo!
__________________
Serpent 977 Evo | Novarossi Engines | Racing Experience Fuel | Xpert-RC Servos | Xtreme Tyres | Bitty Design Body Shells |
http://answer-rc.com/en/ - Answer RC supported driver.
JamesHealey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 11:52 AM   #66
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 132
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TPhalen View Post
I tried putting my XO on the workbench and mashed the throttle. Looking at the readout it said 999mph. I'm pretty sure that's not accurate. Ya, pretty sure.)
Oh this thread is golden! Helps make the work day bearable
__________________
Pro4
Twism86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 12:57 PM   #67
Tech Apprentice
 
ACEN457XTM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Santa Diego
Posts: 70
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TPhalen View Post
Again, Team Associated has built this uber-expensive and completely one-off 168ish mph speed run car. Stretched, tons of aerodynamic advantages over the XO and somewhere in the vicinity of 12hp. So, I'm pretty certain that adding 2S to a 100mph car without any other changes is not going to eclipse the 150mph mark. Not to mention that, when doing any kind of speed run, the faster you go, the more resistance the air causes, meaning you need ALOT more power to overcome it. Going from 6S to 8S just won't pick up 50mph. I'm not even sure the app is accurate yet. I'll be doing some testing to see (I have a radar gun).

I tried putting my XO on the workbench and mashed the throttle. Looking at the readout it said 999mph. I'm pretty sure that's not accurate. Ya, pretty sure.

But I do like RCChopper enthusiasm
Way to school them Tony!

CW formerly of HP in FV says Wazz up!
__________________
Is it a comeback, when you didn't get there the first time yet?
I'm working on it.
XTM powered.
ACEN457XTM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 03:56 PM   #68
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 81
Default

Maybe it's a stupid question... but why don't they use a Pro10 for speed runs?
Sure you could shoehorn 1/8th running gear into one. Being 2WD might take a bit longer to get up to speed due to less traction, but up high the less moving parts would be a good thing right?
Plus the top ones are extremely fast anyway.
FST4RD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 05:18 PM   #69
Tech Regular
 
Coelacanth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 318
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Welp..looks like buddy was just searching for pseudo-praise of his pseudo-accomplishment, and since he can't/won't provide proof, he's run away. As I was reading through this thread, I was wondering when he was either going to (1) provide supporting evidence or (2) turn tail and run, and I'm not surprised that (2) came before (1).
__________________
"Paranoia roams where the shadows reign." ~Marillion
Coelacanth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 05:48 PM   #70
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 210
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FST4RD View Post
Maybe it's a stupid question... but why don't they use a Pro10 for speed runs?
Sure you could shoehorn 1/8th running gear into one. Being 2WD might take a bit longer to get up to speed due to less traction, but up high the less moving parts would be a good thing right?
Plus the top ones are extremely fast anyway.

stability issues is my bet. Look at the XO-1 and youll see a lot of aero work done to make it stable at high speeds. not saying it cant be done, just that itll take a bit more than big gear and a 10cell pack
kb525 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 06:25 PM   #71
Tech Regular
 
Coelacanth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 318
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kb525 View Post
stability issues is my bet. Look at the XO-1 and youll see a lot of aero work done to make it stable at high speeds. not saying it cant be done, just that itll take a bit more than big gear and a 10cell pack
And if it WAS done, and the do-er happened to have a digital cam--as appears to be the case here--why, oh WHY was there no video of the fly-by? Seems a pretty idiot-simple thing to do.
__________________
"Paranoia roams where the shadows reign." ~Marillion
Coelacanth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 06:29 PM   #72
Tech Elite
 
asc6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Meridian Idaho
Posts: 3,386
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twism86 View Post
Oh this thread is golden! Helps make the work day bearable
X that , makes all those "which tire is best" threads less noticeable. It does make me curious.
__________________
"you reach the limit, you touch the limit, then you pass the limit, now there is a new limit"
Ayrton Senna
asc6000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 07:41 PM   #73
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 81
Default

I think when Im either sick of my pro10 or get another one I might bodge it up with the biggest, fastest 1/8th set up I can find, 2 6c batteries (saddle pack them for balance), find some tyres that won't blow apart and find a nice smooth piece of road
FST4RD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 07:55 AM   #74
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 210
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coelacanth View Post
And if it WAS done, and the do-er happened to have a digital cam--as appears to be the case here--why, oh WHY was there no video of the fly-by? Seems a pretty idiot-simple thing to do.
Most people with a pro10 arent into throwing large globs of cash into something they cant even show off. But again stability at those speeds is something that takes tons of RnD and trials.
kb525 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 10:15 PM   #75
Tech Regular
 
MrChodes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 250
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I'm up to 125 klm/hr with my speed runs (78 mph)
Slowly working my way up.

Obviously, I did take video

https://vimeo.com/40335628
__________________
Serpent S100. Ducati FM1-e bike.
MrChodes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:06 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net