R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-03-2012, 11:12 PM   #76
Tech Champion
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5,044
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EAMotorsports View Post
This is 100% false. I spoke with Martin about it at length when I was in Poland and pitted next to him for 4 days. He said that the sheer cost of machining the alumn pieces are too expensive for their already expensive kit and would drive the cost up even more.

His car he was running there doesnt have anything like this on it and neither do the cars that were ran at the worlds warmup and won it.

If you want Pillow ball the Exotek is the only option and a damn good option for it for the xray. Exotek does great work and I know Mike spends a lot of time testing and developing stuff before release.

EA

Thanks Sir!

Hope you have a great 4th and are staying cool out east!
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆TEKNO☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 11:20 PM   #77
Tech Elite
 
Dusttt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Lake Forest
Posts: 2,303
Trader Rating: 123 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeR View Post
Hi, Uh oh- looks like you got a mismarked piece. I will be racing in SD this sat. I will bring the correct piece for you.
Great thanks!!! Great service!! oh and sorry I just Pmed, Posted and emailed you LOL just stressed about it! I will be the guy pitting out of the back of my black GTI.
__________________
"Whiskey Tango Foxtrot"
Dusttt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 08:01 AM   #78
Tech Regular
 
casino57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sandwich,Il.
Posts: 498
Default

This question is for Fred. If i want to run the stock width on my T3 2012 I need to put the D blocks on the front? Which split blocks do I want in the front if I want to have no sweep in the arms? I ran the car with all the stock blocks on it and it was pretty good. I did just get the split C blocks but have yet to try them. The car is almost 2mm narrower in front than in the back. My local track is Leisure Hours where the Nats will be held this yr. It's smooth big and has a nice flow to it. I still have lots of time to test on the track. I've been spending 2 days a week there. I bought the Exotek chassis because I haven't been able to get my 2012 to feel as good as good as my 2011 with the Exotek chassis on it. Thanks in advance.
__________________
Mike Garcia - RCAmerica - XRay T3
Trinity - JDR - Hudy - KoPropo America
Laser Products - Tekin
Leisure Hours Raceway & Hobby Shop
casino57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 12:15 PM   #79
Tech Regular
 
rdlkgliders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: So. Cal High Desert Hobbies
Posts: 458
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

Other than the Exotek blocks hinge pin and bushings, are all other parts on the 12 a direct swap over to the xr3 12? ex: Battery cups and servo mounts including the center servo mount.
__________________
Serpent, KO Propo, Viper, Savox, ProTek
Team Waldorf Racing

Your not lapping me, you just caught up to me again!!!
rdlkgliders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 01:05 PM   #80
Tech Elite
 
Fred Hubbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Inglewood, CA
Posts: 2,719
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by casino57 View Post
This question is for Fred. If i want to run the stock width on my T3 2012 I need to put the D blocks on the front? Which split blocks do I want in the front if I want to have no sweep in the arms? I ran the car with all the stock blocks on it and it was pretty good. I did just get the split C blocks but have yet to try them. The car is almost 2mm narrower in front than in the back. My local track is Leisure Hours where the Nats will be held this yr. It's smooth big and has a nice flow to it. I still have lots of time to test on the track. I've been spending 2 days a week there. I bought the Exotek chassis because I haven't been able to get my 2012 to feel as good as good as my 2011 with the Exotek chassis on it. Thanks in advance.
XB opposite of the XB in the RF

Quote:
Originally Posted by rdlkgliders View Post
Other than the Exotek blocks hinge pin and bushings, are all other parts on the 12 a direct swap over to the xr3 12? ex: Battery cups and servo mounts including the center servo mount.
Everything is except 306220.
__________________
Goodwine Racing - RC America - XRAY - HUDY - Sanwa - Motiv - GravityRC - BN Racing
Fred Hubbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 01:20 PM   #81
Tech Regular
 
casino57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sandwich,Il.
Posts: 498
Default

[QUOTE=Fred Hubbard;10936802]XB opposite of the XB in the RF



Thanks Fred.....will do!
__________________
Mike Garcia - RCAmerica - XRay T3
Trinity - JDR - Hudy - KoPropo America
Laser Products - Tekin
Leisure Hours Raceway & Hobby Shop
casino57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 03:25 PM   #82
Tech Elite
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: VA Beach
Posts: 3,468
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

306220 doesn't work? Or doesn't come with xr3 kit?
Jamison R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 03:30 PM   #83
Tech Elite
 
Fred Hubbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Inglewood, CA
Posts: 2,719
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamison R View Post
306220 doesn't work? Or doesn't come with xr3 kit?
Will not fit unless you drill a new hole for the inner servo mount post.
__________________
Goodwine Racing - RC America - XRAY - HUDY - Sanwa - Motiv - GravityRC - BN Racing
Fred Hubbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 05:23 PM   #84
Tech Regular
 
rdlkgliders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: So. Cal High Desert Hobbies
Posts: 458
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

what is the size of the xr3 pivot pins and bushings?
are the pivot pins 3mm diameter and the bushings 3mm id and 5mm od?
__________________
Serpent, KO Propo, Viper, Savox, ProTek
Team Waldorf Racing

Your not lapping me, you just caught up to me again!!!
rdlkgliders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 11:26 PM   #85
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 676
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default Corner speed

Just a little feed back and something to try. Use split blocks fr and rf and narrow the rear of the car up one step on the chart. Car picks up Ton of entry steering and flowed really smooth. You will have to shave the inside of the rear arms so they don't hit the bulkheads also.
AARON YOUNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 11:41 PM   #86
Tech Elite
 
FK05 lover's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: somewhere in 1973
Posts: 2,994
Trader Rating: 147 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AARON YOUNG View Post
Just a little feed back and something to try. Use split blocks fr and rf and narrow the rear of the car up one step on the chart. Car picks up Ton of entry steering and flowed really smooth. You will have to shave the inside of the rear arms so they don't hit the bulkheads also.
Thanks for the tip..

Tried it the first time a few weeks ago just as it comes, car reacted so much quicker & gave me about 0.5 compared to previous weeks
FK05 lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 11:54 PM   #87
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 676
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default Narrow rear

You should pick up a few more the onlyy minor problem with narrowing the rear so much if your running with tamiya shocks and hpi springs the ride height collars are against the top at 5,2 mm height but I guess if you run the two hole arms you could just move to the outer hole.
AARON YOUNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 09:06 AM   #88
Tech Fanatic
 
erchn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Union City, CA
Posts: 830
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AARON YOUNG View Post
You should pick up a few more the onlyy minor problem with narrowing the rear so much if your running with tamiya shocks and hpi springs the ride height collars are against the top at 5,2 mm height but I guess if you run the two hole arms you could just move to the outer hole.
Doesn't sound like there's much left on your car that IS Xray. ;-)
erchn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 10:33 PM   #89
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,143
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

I've got an XR3'12 conversion with a few extras I don't have time to test right now, so I'm gonna let it go.

http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-item...l#post10991260
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 06:50 PM   #90
Tech Elite
 
Dusttt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Lake Forest
Posts: 2,303
Trader Rating: 123 (100%+)
Default

I just realized that I never posted how great the service was. Mike delivered the parts to me himself at the track! Great guy and top notch service man! Thanks!
__________________
"Whiskey Tango Foxtrot"
Dusttt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:10 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net