R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-05-2012, 11:27 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 377
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Car Bodies Made for Specific Cars

I would gladly pay $10 more dollars for a body specifically made with a dimple or precut holes in it so it would go on perfectly.

Would it cost that much more to produce bodies for specific models?

I would love to see a Mazda Speed 6 for TC6.1 on the shelf
wcalaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 11:37 PM   #2
Dan
Tech Elite
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,407
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wcalaker View Post
I would gladly pay $10 more dollars for a body specifically made with a dimple or precut holes in it so it would go on perfectly.

Would it cost that much more to produce bodies for specific models?

I would love to see a Mazda Speed 6 for TC6.1 on the shelf
No, bunch of dimples can be added onto the mold for various cars. But 99% would probably not pay the extra $10.

Personally I just line up the body mount holes as best I can. Once I ream out the holes, then I place the body in normal height and cut out the wheel wells with my circle cutter.
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 12:53 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
MrUnlimited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,465
Default

I always had RIDE leightweigth accord bodies for my touringcars. Very beutifull and enough downforce on the front for cornering.
__________________
U5 Formulaboat 1/8 hydroplane - MHZ138 AQUAMANIA - Axial Exo Terra - Tamiya Avante - LC Racing EMB1 - Atomic AMZ 4WD Touring car
MrUnlimited is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 06:45 AM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Stockport, UK
Posts: 982
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wcalaker View Post
Would it cost that much more to produce bodies for specific models?
It wouldn't cost any extra, but it would have to have dimples to cover every current touring car on the market and you would have to make sure you chose the right dimples when making holes. Having ready marked holes doesn't help much unless you are mounting it exactly where the body manufacturer wants you to, others mount the body further forwards or backwards to adjust aerodynamic balance so the dimples wouldn't make it much easier to mount.

If you are using the same body to replace yours, then marking body holes is easy. Take your old body and trim it back so all you have left is the roof/window section and the parts front and rear that includes the body mount holes. Drop this over the top of the new body and you've got the location for the body holes.
terry.sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 07:12 AM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
cartix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: NY
Posts: 937
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Tamiya and HPI bodies have dimples for their respective chassis.
__________________
Cars and boats, lots!
cartix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 07:14 AM   #6
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cartix View Post
Tamiya and HPI bodies have dimples for their respective chassis.
The HPI dimples dont fit for all HPI cars. In fact I don't know which ones they do fit for but non I had ever tried.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 07:15 AM   #7
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terry.sc View Post
It wouldn't cost any extra, but it would have to have dimples to cover every current touring car on the market and you would have to make sure you chose the right dimples when making holes. Having ready marked holes doesn't help much unless you are mounting it exactly where the body manufacturer wants you to, others mount the body further forwards or backwards to adjust aerodynamic balance so the dimples wouldn't make it much easier to mount.

If you are using the same body to replace yours, then marking body holes is easy. Take your old body and trim it back so all you have left is the roof/window section and the parts front and rear that includes the body mount holes. Drop this over the top of the new body and you've got the location for the body holes.
It would still work. At least it would give you the relative position. You just would need to punch all your holes X distance in front of or behind the dimple.

I think the bigger issue is the wheel cutouts though. Not every car has the same wheelbase and that is the bigger issue I see.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 07:25 AM   #8
Tech Champion
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,749
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wcalaker View Post
I would gladly pay $10 more dollars for a body specifically made with a dimple or precut holes in it so it would go on perfectly.

Would it cost that much more to produce bodies for specific models?

I would love to see a Mazda Speed 6 for TC6.1 on the shelf
if you are willing to pay extra (I'm not since it's way to easy to mount a body), buy one extra body, line it up clear, make dimples with a reamer, then move to your next car, make dimples, repeat. At the end trim just the roof, hood and trunk area out of the body, you now have a template that you can lay on a new body, even painted and mark out the holes you need.

There are also 2-3 different type of body mount posts, one with lights, a few with pins, that you can use to help mount a painted body.
__________________
Mike L. Awesomatixusa.com | TQWire.com | Islandraceway.com |JacksonRCracing.com | Horsham RC | Sweepracingusa.com
MikeXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 08:06 AM   #9
Tech Regular
 
Norman2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Brevard, NC
Posts: 289
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by or8ital View Post
The HPI dimples dont fit for all HPI cars. In fact I don't know which ones they do fit for but non I had ever tried.
Hi, If you check an HPI body on their site at the bottom of the page
it tells you which model the body fits. Regards
Norman2
Norman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 08:41 AM   #10
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 34
Default

The dimples on my HPI 240Z body line up with the suggested post locations on the HPI chassis, just fine.

Personally, I don't like the dimples, I'd prefer they weren't there at all. There will still be some un-used dimples on the body when done, and it takes away from the clean look.
Six_Shooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 11:17 AM   #11
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chi-Town West Burbs
Posts: 1,435
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wcalaker View Post
I would gladly pay $10 more dollars for a body specifically made with a dimple or precut holes in it so it would go on perfectly.

Would it cost that much more to produce bodies for specific models?

I would love to see a Mazda Speed 6 for TC6.1 on the shelf
If you stick with the same body, just take an old beat up body, cut off the front abs rear ends [leaving the post holes intact on the body] and use the old body as a template. Problem solved!!!!
__________________
Goals Achieved....Running at the End and Not Dead Last.
mooby64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 11:25 AM   #12
Tech Master
 
Monteman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 1,279
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

i bought a set of post hole markers from dynamite. work like a hot damn.
dynamite part # 5145
__________________
Cameron - Edmonton Canada

** Every time see someone use their first post to necro-bump a 4 year old thread all I can think is "at least they used the search function" **
Monteman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 02:55 AM   #13
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,238
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

since im lazy mounting bodies for my TCX. Ive been using the HB bodies, subaru a,b,and c. It much easier to have a body specifically for a chassis. I might say the different look of them will keep me away from the same old protoform bodies everyone runs.
goots is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CRC 1/10 Pan Car Doodad Electric On-Road 4165 11-01-2017 02:02 PM
1/10th pan car Taz_S Oval, Larger Scales and More 16138 09-25-2014 10:03 AM
Proposed new 1/8th scale 2WD Pan Car “Classic” class for 2010 Southwest Series djmachinist Texas Racing 34 11-30-2009 06:07 PM
'Stayin Alive' UPDATE for Cars and Parts for Charity ' RC Guys rule' TipTop Australian Racing 15 08-20-2009 07:47 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:48 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net