Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Brushless Motor Thread >

Brushless Motor Thread

Brushless Motor Thread

Old 04-02-2005, 03:33 PM
  #106  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
kufman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Elburn, IL
Posts: 3,490
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I think the only thing that can shut down on that system is the controller. With the amount of power you are pulling it is probably gettting hot enough to shut down. I have to run a fan with my Shadow.

That has to be the only good feature of my MGM comm pro controller. It has never gotten hot, not even in my e-maxx. Everything else about that controller isn't very good (except the price).
kufman is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 05:02 PM
  #107  
Tech Regular
 
diesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 393
Default

Guys, have any of you tried the feigao brushless motors? How's it hanging with the big boys like lehner, hacker, pletty?

Kufman: How many turns is the lehner basic 4200 equivalent to a brushed mod motor? Do you have problems keeping up with the 8T brush motors?
diesel is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 07:50 PM
  #108  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
kufman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Elburn, IL
Posts: 3,490
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I have a feigao for my e-maxx, the 540-10L. It is pretty good, but they can't be taken apart for servicing.

I would say that the lehner basic 4200 is about like a 10 turn brushed and has trouble keeping up with an 8 turn. I have a video showing this. My car is red and white and my name it Matt(3rd). Kevin (1st) and Rob (2nd) are both running 8 or 9 turn mods. I was running my lehner and Chuck(4th) was running a novak that might have been undergreared. Here is a link to the video. Please don't repost this link I don't have too much bandwidth.

http://www.kufman.com/img/AJs%20outdoor%20onroad%20.wmv
kufman is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 01:54 AM
  #109  
Exe
Tech Regular
 
Exe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lithuania, Europe
Posts: 278
Default

kufman, what runtime do you get with your basic4200 ? what gearing do you run in the video?

i'm glad i took xl5000... seems like it was worth it
Exe is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 10:03 AM
  #110  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
kufman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Elburn, IL
Posts: 3,490
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

In the video I was running a 5.5:1 final ratio. I think the pinion spur was somthing like 32 and 70. even with this ratio I was still getting about 6 minutes of run time. When I gear more normally I get around 9-11 minutes of runtime on GP3300's. This summer I have a faster motor so hopefully I will be able to beat those guys.
kufman is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 06:01 AM
  #111  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
ttso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 900
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I'm running 415 with SS5800 right now. Gear ratio 6.69. The laptim is about the same with well geared 23T and 9mins runtime (with old crappy battery, 2800mA capacity only..). I tried 6.89 but it came out with same laptime, but 10mins runtime. So is there more room for speed if I gear down to 6.3~6.5, or that's the limit of performance with old crappy battery?
ttso is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 06:13 AM
  #112  
Exe
Tech Regular
 
Exe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lithuania, Europe
Posts: 278
Default

that's the limit of crappy novak ESC.. heats up and shuts off.
Exe is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 06:24 AM
  #113  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
ttso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 900
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Exe
that's the limit of crappy novak ESC.. heats up and shuts off.
I got cooling fan on it and so far it's cool, not even warm. I guess I will try gear ratio 6.50 this coming weekend.

Is there lots different using matched battery and non-matched battery with SS5800? I was running with brushed and matched battery make a huge different on non-matched, even it's lowest rank 1.165/390 matched battery.
ttso is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 06:40 AM
  #114  
Exe
Tech Regular
 
Exe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lithuania, Europe
Posts: 278
Default

yeah, it does make a difference..
Exe is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 06:52 AM
  #115  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (38)
 
danjoy25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,151
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default Specktrum modules compatibility???

Has anyone tried Specktrums with brushless controller? Would it work with a Schulze U-force 75?
danjoy25 is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 06:53 AM
  #116  
Exe
Tech Regular
 
Exe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lithuania, Europe
Posts: 278
Default

i will go for spectrum, but decided to wait a few more months, so they fix all the bugs, response issues etc.
Exe is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 06:55 AM
  #117  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (85)
 
Davidka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10,781
Trader Rating: 85 (100%+)
Default

Voltage is the most important thing if you want speed. Good matching helps your batteries last alot longer (a waek cell has to be overcharged every cycle while the stronger cells reach capacity) plus you will have better voltage late in the run.
Davidka is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 10:52 AM
  #118  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
kufman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Elburn, IL
Posts: 3,490
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

A good matched pack makes a pretty big difference when compared to older non matched batteries. A motor system can only put out what it can draw from the battery. If the battery can't supply decent volts at a given amp draw, the motor can't put out good rpm.
kufman is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 07:32 PM
  #119  
Registered User
 
RC Noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 246
Default

will this motor: http://www.leisurelectronics.com/AON%20motors.htm
(the car motor that is on the bottom)

work with this esc?: http://www.leisurelectronics.com/controllers.htm

(first or second esc)

thanks in advance
RC Noob is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 02:56 AM
  #120  
Exe
Tech Regular
 
Exe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lithuania, Europe
Posts: 278
Default

it should work, but it's really not powerfull and will not give any normal power... you should take esc which can handle at least 40-50 amps of continous current.
Exe is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.