Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Brushless Motor Thread >

Brushless Motor Thread

Brushless Motor Thread

Old 04-11-2005, 05:58 PM
  #136  
Tech Regular
 
jw92656's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Aliso Viejo, CA
Posts: 342
Smile Brushless

Do you have a discharge tray for them?
jw92656 is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 06:04 PM
  #137  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (4)
 
revzalot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Nor * Cal
Posts: 958
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

A discharge tray is a must for matched and unmatched cells.
revzalot is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 06:13 PM
  #138  
Tech Regular
 
jw92656's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Aliso Viejo, CA
Posts: 342
Smile Brushless

Here are the settings I am using, and from my research this is what is recommened. Primarily they are the recommended seeting off the LRP Competition 2 Charger. Run the pack in the car till the pack dumps. Plug the pack into your charger and use these settings to DISCHARGE the pack all the way down. 10 AMPS at 5.4 Volts. Then put them into a discharge tray and equalize them down to .9 Volts, or till the bulbs go out on less expensive dischargers. Then CHARGE them back up at 5.0 AMPS at 10 mV. They get a little warm, so repeak them right before I go out to use them on the track; takes about 1-3 minutes.

Heres the link with the information:

http://download.teamassociated.com/p..._userguide.pdf
jw92656 is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 06:24 PM
  #139  
Tech Adept
 
alltech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Jacksonville florida
Posts: 114
Default brushless

this mrc 959 superbrain will only go to 4.5 amp is the highest.....i discharge them using a light stick until it goes dim.....
alltech is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 06:31 PM
  #140  
Tech Regular
 
jw92656's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Aliso Viejo, CA
Posts: 342
Smile Brushless

You should be ok, just drop the mV from 40 to 10. I think your on track with the light bar, as I have never used one. I have the Novak Smart Tray. It will probably take a little longer to charge, as mine take about 25 minutes or so.
jw92656 is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 06:36 PM
  #141  
Tech Adept
 
alltech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Jacksonville florida
Posts: 114
Default

ill try that...these seem to peak at only half charge ...i was charging them at 4.5 and 40 mv...i hope i didnt screw them up...i jat want to say thanks its nice to be here...
alltech is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 06:43 PM
  #142  
Tech Regular
 
jw92656's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Aliso Viejo, CA
Posts: 342
Smile Brusless

No problem. You should be fine with them, it just might take a little bit for them take full charges again, so use just re-peak them after they cool a little and before you go out to run. When I first got into this hobby I did much worse to my first battery pack, and they still work fine for me.
jw92656 is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 06:45 PM
  #143  
Tech Adept
 
alltech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Jacksonville florida
Posts: 114
Default :)

ok re peak meaning hook them back up to the charger and see if i can get them to take a full charge?
Attached Thumbnails Brushless Motor Thread-kittyshoooter.jpg  
alltech is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 06:57 PM
  #144  
Tech Regular
 
jw92656's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Aliso Viejo, CA
Posts: 342
Smile

Exactly. Excessive heat kills electrical components, so thats why you'll want them to cool a little bit so you don't damage them. Your on the right track. By re-peaking/re-charging them one more time is kind of giving them a little extra boost before your run. It will give you optimum punch from the battery pack, and add a little more run time in how long they last. Sorry for the delay I am still at work right now. Funny pic by they way :-)
jw92656 is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 08:28 PM
  #145  
Tech Adept
 
alltech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Jacksonville florida
Posts: 114
Default

Thanks for all the help and info...i found a brushless system for 125.00 i think im gonna grab it...right now the electric car i have t3c im runnning a 12-3 modified but its too much to understand and invest into...i hope and think ill be best with the brushless system.....they do run these at most tracks dont they?...the pic by the way im training my kitty to go to iraq
alltech is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 08:29 PM
  #146  
Tech Adept
 
alltech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Jacksonville florida
Posts: 114
Default brushless

Thanks for all the help and info...i found a brushless system for 125.00 i think im gonna grab it...right now the electric car i have t3c im runnning a 12-3 modified but its too much to understand and invest into...i hope and think ill be best with the brushless system.....they do run these at most tracks dont they?...the pic by the way im training my kitty to go to iraq
alltech is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 08:39 AM
  #147  
Tech Adept
 
alltech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Jacksonville florida
Posts: 114
Default brushless

Originally posted by ralphee6
im in the market for a brushless system my self does anyone here have one they would want to part with lmk
thanks kevin

I found one for 125 complete for 125 on ebay you might want to look there if noone has one
alltech is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 09:13 AM
  #148  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 82
Default More videos pls

Can we see more race videos on brushless setup vs brushed setup cars?
ah_liang is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 12:43 PM
  #149  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Midwest
Posts: 122
Default

Looking at taking the plunge into the brushless again. The first time was with a Novak so I really cant count that one Ha!! At any rate I was thinking about a U-Force 75 with a Shadow in a XXX-S G+. Has anyone had any experiences with this system or a setup similar to this in a XXX-S? Didn't know if there was going to be a problem with the belt? Does anyone have any pictures of this system in their XXX-S curious on how to fit the ESC on the chassis? Also I may be forced to run with the nitro sedans, will this system be able to compete?
Davenport is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 02:51 PM
  #150  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 27
Default

Maybe someone can answer this. My system shuts down quite a lot. This is in Oval running 4 cells. Has anyone found a way to shut down the thermal cutoff option? Or any ideas as to why it would do this? God knows running 6 cells in a sedan is harder on the system than 4 cell oval.
Racin_James is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.