R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-02-2005, 02:36 PM   #31
Tech Master
 
burbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,152
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to burbs Send a message via Yahoo to burbs
Default

does the APS Dyno-Charge er have a lock out feature?? on my t 35 you set the lockout, and it wont let a pack false peak.. it also keeps a voltage less pack from not reading...
burbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 02:39 PM   #32
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Maitland, FL
Posts: 2,186
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Roberto Falcon
Default

what kind of power supply does the ice need to power it ?
__________________
🤔
Roberto Falcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 02:44 PM   #33
Tech Elite
 
ChrisP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Shelby Twp, MI
Posts: 2,046
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Depends on what features you're using...if you're lookig to use motor run then you may want toahve something capable of more thanif you're just charging...

i've beenusing it with an Integy SHE 14A power supply with no problems at all
ChrisP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 02:50 PM   #34
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Maitland, FL
Posts: 2,186
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Roberto Falcon
Default

well i have a 23 amp 13.8v power supply and i use it with my pulsar comp. 2 and i was woundering if i could use the ice with it too like both chargers at the same time. cause i aswell is looking for a new charger and i really like the aps dyno-charge one but i doubt i can use my power supply with it at the same time using the pulsar .
__________________
🤔
Roberto Falcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 02:55 PM   #35
Tech Elite
 
ChrisP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Shelby Twp, MI
Posts: 2,046
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

It's all about what you're doign with it..

you have 23A of available power...

If you're charging a battery at 6A that leaves 17A of available power...

You should have no problems runnign either of the chargers with that type of power....
ChrisP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 02:57 PM   #36
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Maitland, FL
Posts: 2,186
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Roberto Falcon
Default

so i could power my pulsar and the APS at the same time with my power supply?
__________________
🤔
Roberto Falcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 02:58 PM   #37
Tech Elite
 
ChrisP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Shelby Twp, MI
Posts: 2,046
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Unless yo're going to be pulling continuously more than 16 or 17A on motor run in while charging a battery at the same time I don't see any reason why not?
ChrisP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 03:04 PM   #38
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Maitland, FL
Posts: 2,186
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Roberto Falcon
Default

the only thing i will be doing at the track is charging and "MAYBE"
running my lathe but i doubt it cause i never need it. i just charge my packs thats all , the only time i will be using the dyno or the motor brake in is at home.
__________________
🤔
Roberto Falcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 03:05 PM   #39
Tech Elite
 
ChrisP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Shelby Twp, MI
Posts: 2,046
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

if that's the case you could (in all likelihood) run 3 chargers off that PS
ChrisP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 03:08 PM   #40
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Maitland, FL
Posts: 2,186
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Roberto Falcon
Default

Thanks Windsorguy99
__________________
🤔
Roberto Falcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 07:05 PM   #41
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Losi XXX S

i have a 25amp power supply from Radio shack

and i have charged two batteries at once (6amps) and used my motor checker to break in and test motors. it went off without a hitch. the motors were pulling 10-11amps on the checker.

some power supplies top out at a higher amp rating so if your breaking in a mod motor (that draws more amps) it should still be able to handle it since its only for a brief period of time.
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 07:18 PM   #42
TCR
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 552
Default here the orion option

This charger is supposed to be avalible friday,



features::

•Charge 1 to 8 cells
•50 to 5400 mAh NiMH and NiCd batteries at 1 to 10 Amps
•11 to 15 volts D/C input
•Customizable Linear, Flex and Step charging
•5 charging memories
•Battery cycling
•Discharge at 1 or 10 amps
•Input and output short circuit protection
•Attachable battery charging tray
•Full motor run-in feature
•Powers commutator lathes
•Full manual lap counting functions and displays: time elapsed, average lap time and number of laps
•Indigo Blue backlight 2 x 16 characters display
•Customizable user name
•English, German, French and Japanese displays
•Easy to navigate, 4 push button settings
•Choice of 3 different alarm tones or silent function
•Silicone output wires
•Built in Clock
TCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 01:55 PM   #43
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by LoSi xXx S
well i have a 23 amp 13.8v power supply and i use it with my pulsar comp. 2 and i was woundering if i could use the ice with it too like both chargers at the same time. cause i aswell is looking for a new charger and i really like the aps dyno-charge one but i doubt i can use my power supply with it at the same time using the pulsar .
That Pulsar have a PWM circuit (PWM=Pulse Width Modulation). That means it can convert volt to amps. Since you're feeding it with 13,8 volt, it have more volts than needed (the packs peaks around 9-9,5). These extra volts is converted to amps. I have a similar power supply, but with a built in amp-meter. I can see, that if I charge at 6 amps, the amp-draw is only 4-4,5 amps. So you're having 18-19 amps unused

This dont apply for all chargers, the eagle/Integy for example, draws the same amps from the power supply, as it puts out for the cells.
__________________
Schumacher Mi5 - Sanwa MT-4 / RX-462 / KO Propo PDS-2123 - Nosram 5600 X-treme Saddle Pack - LRP SPX Zero/X12 17,5 - Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution - MAAS SPS 9250

Last edited by Cole Trickle; 02-03-2005 at 02:01 PM.
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 02:00 PM   #44
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mr. Shookie
OK let me explain about the APS Dyno-Charge .... Now for the charger porsion of the Dyno-charge.
1) The temp prob keeps it from false peeking
This is not entirely correct.

A temp-probe used in conjunction with delta peak cut off, only prevent over-heating. The peak cut off is still able to false peak

A temp-probe used alone CANT false peak (unless you use a ligther or similar to heat the probe up ). But using a temp-probe as the only cut off method is risky... forget mounting that probe, and the pack goes BOOM...
__________________
Schumacher Mi5 - Sanwa MT-4 / RX-462 / KO Propo PDS-2123 - Nosram 5600 X-treme Saddle Pack - LRP SPX Zero/X12 17,5 - Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution - MAAS SPS 9250
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 03:58 PM   #45
Tech Master
 
kartermdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,120
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Losi xXx S

I have a 25 amp power supply from radio shack, and it runs my pulsar, aps dyno charge and my millenium pro all charging at the same time, so you should be good for running you pulsar and whatever your new charger may be
__________________
Mark Burt
Thanks to:
TRINITY - Revtech - Awesomatix USA - Side Piece Racing - Roche RC USA - Darkside Motorsports - Genesis R/C Raceway
kartermdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TD: RC18mt RTR, LRP Comp Charger, (2)GP4200 Matched for Lipo Charger/Battery...LOOK!! smarking1212 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 10-08-2008 04:25 PM
FS: Duratrax ICE Charger, Great Planes Triton Charger, & MRC Power Supply wrxnfx R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 08-20-2008 11:33 AM
Mini-V, Lipo charger, Nimh/Nicd charger, Starter, AIRBOAT CustomTrendzInc R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 11-08-2007 03:08 PM
Duratrax IntelliPeak DC Only Mini Pulse Charger & Towerhobbies charger$25.00(Shipped) xsxracing R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 10-13-2007 03:51 PM
Integy 16x7v6 Charger (with 30 amp discharge), Tamiya F201, Astro Flight 109 Charger 403forbidden R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 05-07-2005 08:08 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:11 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net