R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-30-2005, 12:23 AM   #76
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Da Bayou
Posts: 422
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know what the mAh range is for this charger?
sdmlsu1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2005, 06:30 AM   #77
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oshawa, Ontario
Posts: 444
Default

Offhand I don't, but I have seen mah as high as 4200 on my IB3600 cells at peak.
MartynD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2005, 07:31 AM   #78
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Had mine go as high as 4600 so I realy don't know what the maz is but 4600 is good enough for me....LOL
But what I think your asking is hat is the highest mah you can put in..Let me get back to you on that one.
Stephen <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2005, 09:44 PM   #79
Tech Master
 
UCHEATULOSE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: birth place of oval! daytona beach!
Posts: 1,083
Default

i have had mine less than 2 weeks now. all it does is blow fuses now? the 15 amp and 20 amp have blown..replaced both and it still does nothing? trips my power supply and if hooked up to a car battery it blows the 15 amp fuse? anyone else have this problem?
UCHEATULOSE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2005, 07:29 AM   #80
Tech Adept
 
todd8603's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oshawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 248
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Not positive on this one, but I think the instrucions specifically say NOT to hook this charger to a battery. I would hold that back when attempting to get warranty service.
Beyond that, I have no experience with any problems other than stiff buttons.
todd8603 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2005, 08:03 AM   #81
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by UCHEATULOSE
i have had mine less than 2 weeks now. all it does is blow fuses now? the 15 amp and 20 amp have blown..replaced both and it still does nothing? trips my power supply and if hooked up to a car battery it blows the 15 amp fuse? anyone else have this problem?
Since it is still under warrentee send it in. I believe SchumacherUSA is the distributor and service center for APS but I could be wrong, I am too lazy to go out to the garage and look at the instruction manuals.
Sounds like something is wrong with the charger unless you are trying to charge both your E-Maxx packs at the same time. There is a 10cell max so unless you are going creazy with the charger, send it in for repair.
I have not even heard of anyone having a problem except the buttons being hard to push. But hey they do get better as time goes on.
Hope this helps,
Stephen <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2005, 08:09 AM   #82
Tech Addict
 
Neil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: me..me..me
Posts: 583
Send a message via MSN to Neil
Default

Yea that sounds like operator error or a defect in maufacure. Mine has never done that.
Neil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 10:26 AM   #83
Tech Regular
 
drsfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NE. Ill
Posts: 451
Default aps 3-1 charger input requirement.

I have a converted computer psupply. output is only 11.8v.
My 3-1 works fine for all functions except charging. Just wont do it period. Always says low voltage or something to that effect.
Anybody have an adjustable ps they could lower the voltage on and let me know if it is just my unit with a prob. My pulsar works fine off the 11.8v output.

My first one had the fuse blown on delivery. I didn't want to open it for warranty void issues.
Steve @ speed tech made good immediatly.

It seems if you have a battery hooked up to it before turning on the psupply it will blow the 15a fuse. I think it does say not to do that in the instructions--- don't remember

thx,

basement not finished

fk05 almost-- well -- started to seal the chassis so almost started!
drsfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 04:21 PM   #84
Tech Addict
 
Neil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: me..me..me
Posts: 583
Send a message via MSN to Neil
Default

get one of these power supplys. I have the 25 amp one and it runs two Aps chargers at the same time. http://www.universal-radio.com/catalog/hamps/3747.html
Neil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 05:02 PM   #85
Tech Initiate
 
Insane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Portsmouth VA
Posts: 47
Default

Or you could go to Radio Shack and get this one. http://www.radioshack.com/product.as...ct%5Fid=22-510 I use it on two chargers. (I saw a post somewhere that its the same as the Samlex). Looks the same but not sure myself. Anyway it works great with amps to spare.
Insane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 05:06 PM   #86
Tech Apprentice
 
sweet wasabi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Insane
Or you could go to Radio Shack and get this one. http://www.radioshack.com/product.as...ct%5Fid=22-510 I use it on two chargers. (I saw a post somewhere that its the same as the Samlex). Looks the same but not sure myself. Anyway it works great with amps to spare.
How about this power supply? Looks so cool!


sweet wasabi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 05:19 PM   #87
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oshawa, Ontario
Posts: 444
Default

I use the APS never had a single problem with it.

And if I do... the designer of the unit is pretty regular at the local track.
MartynD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 08:34 PM   #88
Tech Master
 
Mr. Postman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: ...at the BMEU!
Posts: 743
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Postman
Default

I've had mine now for about two months, and I'm quite happy with it. I run it off a Iota 30a power supply (it's butt ugly, but for only $122 with tax...), along with my LRP Pulsar charger, two Trinity battery fans, and a Novak Smart Tray. I ran the whole rig off of my Yamaha 1000is generator this weekend, plus I had three additional chargers, two soldering irons, one extra Smart Tray, plus my portable DVD player all going without a hitch. No problems with blown fuses or "low" voltage.

Yes, the buttons are a little stiff, but I figure that they'll "softer" over time. My only beef is that I wish the leads to the battery were in the front on the unit, instead of in the back, like most of the other chargers out there. Also, the leads seem a bit shorter that the other chargers that I have.

Over all, I'm happy that I got it. It has a nice, compact design. The "no-load" motor dyno, temp probe, motor stand, and "pulse" motor break-in are all a plus. I've heard a lot of guys complain about it not having a discharge mode, but most of the racers that I know are using Smart Trays, Real Time, Deans, etc. to dischage their batteries anyways. I'm too busy charging up batteries to want to use it to discharge them.

My brother likes it so much, he's been dropping hints about how much he'd love to get one as a birthday gift next month.

TC

CoBroRa/TAOB
Mr. Postman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 09:01 PM   #89
Tech Master
 
UCHEATULOSE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: birth place of oval! daytona beach!
Posts: 1,083
Default

instruction in hand. only thing it says not to do is hook it up to a car battery charger. i sent it in today with my lhs. i hear there service is awesome. thats all i can ask for in a company. i have a much more charger and power supply on the way. life is good,lol.
UCHEATULOSE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 12:39 AM   #90
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

If this charger looked just a bit more like a woman, I would make sweet love to it.

Seriously though, I've been using it cut comms and charge batteries for the last two weeks now, and it's just plain wonderful. The RPM thing is pretty useful too, if nothing else, to compare changes you make to your motors while tuning them. I wouldn't compare the numbers to anything else (except maybe other motors on your charger) though.

As for discharging, who has time to use their charger for that? It's pretty much running constantly to charge batteries or mess with motors, and would probably require a second charger to use either for discharging. I'd just as soon get an equalizing tray or two.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
APS Dyno-Charge XrayFK R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 07-11-2007 01:19 PM
•••APS Dyno-Charge 3-in-1 Charger Dyno••• sohlman R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 11-18-2006 09:38 AM
FS APS 3-in-1 dyno Charge Deltaman R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 11-15-2006 10:42 PM
APS Dyno-charge Pezz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 01-03-2006 02:55 AM
FS - APS DYNO-CHARGE EVILGRAFX R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 10-27-2005 04:04 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:44 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net