R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-19-2005, 10:29 AM   #46
Tech Champion
 
SpeedTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 6,028
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by aoizip
just wondering... i know.. this is a stupid question!!!

Can i power the leathe with the APS charger???
since it has motor break in funtion already...
maybe i can just hook it up to the leathe!!!
Thanks Guys!

~Ming
Ming,

yes you can.

Steve Wang
__________________
>>>www.SpeedtechHobbies.com<<<
SpeedTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 12:30 PM   #47
Tech Addict
 
Neil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: me..me..me
Posts: 583
Send a message via MSN to Neil
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by aoizip
just wondering... i know.. this is a stupid question!!!

Can i power the leathe with the APS charger???
since it has motor break in funtion already...
maybe i can just hook it up to the leathe!!!
Thanks Guys!

~Ming

Yea man 3.0 volts works good.
Neil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 07:24 PM   #48
Tech Regular
 
TurboFC3S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: St Louis MO
Posts: 330
Send a message via ICQ to TurboFC3S Send a message via AIM to TurboFC3S Send a message via Yahoo to TurboFC3S
Default

I've had this charger for a couple weeks now too and love it. I used a Rayspeed tray for my discharge duties ... I found another functions of this charger Had a deadshorted pack that wouldn't charge becuase the voltage was so low, put it a few seconds of voltage into it from the motor brake-in mode, then it charged just fine, haha.

In short, I'm really diggin this charger! Sure it's not a real dyno, but you can learn a lot by playing around with your motos on it ... try different brush/spring combinations and see how the max rpm and amps change. You can also just feel changes by listening to how fast a motor spools up.
TurboFC3S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2005, 12:38 AM   #49
Tech Master
 
Rob Phillips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Indianapolis / VA
Posts: 1,722
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

yeah steve should be seeing my order for this charger coming in real soon.
__________________
Team Durango | TrakPower | DE Racing | Futaba | Restricted Paint Worx

Velocity R/C Magazine - vrcmag.com
Rob Phillips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2005, 12:40 AM   #50
Tech Master
 
Rob Phillips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Indianapolis / VA
Posts: 1,722
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Mr. Shookie

I have question about dead shorting cells. could you PM me. I have thought about it but always been to scared to try it.
__________________
Team Durango | TrakPower | DE Racing | Futaba | Restricted Paint Worx

Velocity R/C Magazine - vrcmag.com
Rob Phillips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2005, 07:49 AM   #51
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rob Phillips
Mr. Shookie

I have question about dead shorting cells. could you PM me. I have thought about it but always been to scared to try it.
That is why I don't. I do however take mine to 0.0 on a Integy Zero 6 tray the night before a race then when I am at the track 50 minutes before the start I start charging. This is know to increase voltage, this works. Dead Shorting I heard works but I don't pay $70+ a pack to ruin because I do something wrong, heck it took me two weeks of people encouraging me to do the tray over night thing. I had to read it strait from ProMatch's website before I would believe.
Hope this helps,
Sorry I don;t know about Dead Shorting,
Stephen <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2005, 07:53 AM   #52
Tech Addict
 
Neil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: me..me..me
Posts: 583
Send a message via MSN to Neil
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mr. Shookie
That is why I don't. I do however take mine to 0.0 on a Integy Zero 6 tray the night before a race then when I am at the track 50 minutes before the start I start charging. This is know to increase voltage, this works. Dead Shorting I heard works but I don't pay $70+ a pack to ruin because I do something wrong, heck it took me two weeks of people encouraging me to do the tray over night thing. I had to read it strait from ProMatch's website before I would believe.
Hope this helps,
Sorry I don;t know about Dead Shorting,
Stephen <><
So you tray your cells down to zero volts the night before? Do you leave your cells in the tray all night?
Neil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2005, 07:58 AM   #53
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Neil
So you tray your cells down to zero volts the night before? Do you leave your cells in the tray all night?
Yes I do.
Stephen
Here is some good info from a major name in Battery Matching.
http://www.promatchracing.com/batteryins.htm
Hope this helps
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2005, 11:28 AM   #54
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mr. Shookie
Yes I do.
Stephen
Here is some good info from a major name in Battery Matching.
http://www.promatchracing.com/batteryins.htm
Hope this helps
Can this be done with a Novak Smart tray too?
Toodeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2005, 11:54 AM   #55
JKA
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,000
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Leaving your batts in the tray all night is the same as deadshorting... 'cept you gotta have a tray for each battery.

I deadshort all of my batts except my 12th scale packs.
I've had NO trouble at all.

I take the battery down to 0.0 volts on a tray (I use an INDI Octane 2). Once the voltage is gone from each of the cells I solder a wore from the positve to the negative lead. There will be no shorting spark because the batteries have no voltage. They will remain @ 0V until you remove the wire just before charging.

You may notice false peaking after deadshorting you batteries. This is common because batteries will "build" voltage automatically when discharged below a certain point. When you remove the wire shorting the battery it automatically starts to build voltage. If you begin charging immediately then not only is the battery trying to build a charge but the charger introduces charge. Thus a large amount of voltage builds quickly, but then drops back off to normal. This initial rise then fall will cause some chargers to false peak. In this case you simply start the charge again, or to eliminate this false peak certain chargers have a lockout feature that means the charger will not try to detect a peak until after a certain amount of time has passed. With the APS 3n1, like mentioned before, you can bypass these false peaks by setting a temperature lockout, in which case the charger will not detect 'peak' until after tha batteries have reached a certain temp.

One note about deadshorting though. I've been told that you shouldn't deadshort packs that have been used regularly without deadshorting. I've done it with varying results. Seemed to me that packs with questionable cells didn't respond well to deadshorting while strong packs responded with an increase in voltage, decrease in IR, and decrease in runtime. I do however deadshort all of my new packs from the very first charge.
JKA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2005, 04:52 PM   #56
Tech Master
 
kartermdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,120
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

what have some of you seen for amps and rpm when u check ur stock motors?? i wanna see if im getting numbers that are close or if my motors just suck
__________________
Mark Burt
Thanks to:
TRINITY - Revtech - Awesomatix USA - Side Piece Racing - Roche RC USA - Darkside Motorsports - Genesis R/C Raceway
kartermdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2005, 05:10 PM   #57
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kartermdb
what have some of you seen for amps and rpm when u check ur stock motors?? i wanna see if im getting numbers that are close or if my motors just suck
My Putmun stock with 767 brushes gets roughly 24,900rpm and pulls 9.87A

And my Epic stock with 767's gets 25,033 and pulls 8.72A

note: tests done @ 5V, nothing at all done to the motors, both comms could prolly use a cut
Toodeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2005, 05:11 PM   #58
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 42
Default

Sorry, double post
Toodeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2005, 05:31 PM   #59
Tech Master
 
kartermdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,120
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

alright, i just use e brush and at 5 volts my paradigm stock does 28900 at about 9.7 amps, so is that good?

and the other 5 stocks i have are between 8 and 10 amps and anywhere between 23000 and 25000 all with reserrated e brush
__________________
Mark Burt
Thanks to:
TRINITY - Revtech - Awesomatix USA - Side Piece Racing - Roche RC USA - Darkside Motorsports - Genesis R/C Raceway
kartermdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2005, 05:39 PM   #60
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: auburn washington
Posts: 2,053
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Toodeep
Can this be done with a Novak Smart tray too?
on the smart tray, if you hold the setup button while pluging in the ac lead it will show CS this is the dead short program. other wise the smart tray will take a cell down and release it once it reachs its setup mark.
Turtlemaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
APS Dyno-Charge XrayFK R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 07-11-2007 01:19 PM
•••APS Dyno-Charge 3-in-1 Charger Dyno••• sohlman R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 11-18-2006 09:38 AM
FS APS 3-in-1 dyno Charge Deltaman R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 11-15-2006 10:42 PM
APS Dyno-charge Pezz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 01-03-2006 02:55 AM
FS - APS DYNO-CHARGE EVILGRAFX R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 10-27-2005 04:04 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:47 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net