R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-10-2006, 01:09 AM   #211
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,143
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Do you have a different power supply you can try? I had that problem with both of mine, and it turned out to be an issue with the PS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadMikeB
Hi Guys,

After fault free operations for about a year, a few weeks ago my APS blew the 15 Amp fuse due to a power supply problem.

Ever since then, it sometimes resets during charging. By reset, I mean, it starts charging, then after maybe 30 seconds or so, the charger reboots itself. Usually if I power it off then on again it is good for a few more charges, then the problem occurs again.

Since I'm in Australia, I *really* don't want to have to ship this thing back for service.

Any suggestions?

Mike
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2006, 04:06 AM   #212
Tech Elite
 
Mike Haynes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Area 51
Posts: 3,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

One of mine started to do this, and it turned out to be a faulty connection to the plug i power it with. The connection was loose so it showed voltage, but had a hard time passing current through.
__________________
Team Associated - Reedy Power - Sweep - Protoform - TQ Wire - Lacher paint
Mike Haynes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2006, 08:14 AM   #213
Tech Elite
 
BillyCaldwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: OKC, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,005
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BillyCaldwell
Default

Yeah already tried another ps. I will try another plug and go from there. Thanks!
__________________
Maclin | VP-Pro USA
BillyCaldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 05:53 PM   #214
Tech Elite
 
BillyCaldwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: OKC, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,005
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BillyCaldwell
Default

Blown 20amp fuse. I noticed there are two fuses, 15 and 20amps. Is that the norm to have the two different ratings?
__________________
Maclin | VP-Pro USA
BillyCaldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 10:15 PM   #215
Tech Regular
 
tom235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ut
Posts: 327
Default

i blew the 20 amp fuse in mine i replaced it with a new fuse and it works great
i think it normal to have two different one my CE has 15 and a 20
tom235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2006, 08:10 AM   #216
Tech Addict
 
Jam-ehz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 592
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Jam-ehz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lawtonlosi
Blown 20amp fuse. I noticed there are two fuses, 15 and 20amps. Is that the norm to have the two different ratings?
One (20A) is for the leads going to your battery/motor (This was my first charger with side-by-side packs, went through QUITE a few fuses at first by not watching battery polarity - I've learned now ), the other (15A) is for the leads going to the power supply, in case of a short or blowout.. better to have a blown fuse than a fried charger

It's a great charger, well protected from human or mechanical error.
__________________
-=≡ Tamiya TA05 · TRF415MSX · F103R · M-03R · M-04 · M-05 ≡=-
-=≡ CRC Carpet Knife 3.2 · OFNA LD3 Pro · Fastcats · Spektrum ׀ווlı ≡=-
Jam-ehz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 04:55 PM   #217
Tech Master
 
Dasupacat1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,372
Trader Rating: 25 (96%+)
Send a message via MSN to Dasupacat1
Default

Anybody have issues with the consistency of the rpm readings? My numbers fluctuate to a great degree. I test my motors at 5v for 10 sec. When I throw on a stocker I could get around 22,xxx rpm, but when I look at the numbers when it spins up I'll see like crazy numbers in the 30-4x,xxx range. Then when I save it I'll see a crazy reading like 39,xxx! I tried playing with the spin up setting. It was at 5 and have gone as low as 2. I cleaned the sensor and tightend it alil' it was moving a bit. Same problem.
What volt. do you guys test at and for how long?
Dasupacat1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 05:11 PM   #218
Tech Elite
 
Mike Haynes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Area 51
Posts: 3,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Make sure the contacts on the phono jack are clean, and also make sure there is no dirt on the sensor itself (small board on the stand). When they are dirty is will misread a bit.
__________________
Team Associated - Reedy Power - Sweep - Protoform - TQ Wire - Lacher paint
Mike Haynes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 06:11 PM   #219
Tech Regular
 
loopedeloop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Whangarei Newzealand
Posts: 490
Default

I've also noticed that the sensor is sensitive to the type of ambient light around where you use it.
loopedeloop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 06:53 PM   #220
Tech Master
 
Dasupacat1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,372
Trader Rating: 25 (96%+)
Send a message via MSN to Dasupacat1
Default

I tried cleaning the senso. Will try cleaning the jack. Then test in well lit area.
Dasupacat1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 09:03 PM   #221
Tech Addict
 
Jam-ehz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 592
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Jam-ehz
Default

I had a few times where my RPM readings doubled at some moments, then went back down.. found it was the reflector, an edge of the foil sticker had started to peel up, so it was reflecting more than just once.. CA glued the edges down flat, no probs since..
__________________
-=≡ Tamiya TA05 · TRF415MSX · F103R · M-03R · M-04 · M-05 ≡=-
-=≡ CRC Carpet Knife 3.2 · OFNA LD3 Pro · Fastcats · Spektrum ׀ווlı ≡=-
Jam-ehz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 09:08 PM   #222
Tech Addict
 
A_Stratus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Windsor, Ontario
Posts: 740
Default

I misplaced my sensor...does anybody have an extra to sell???

thanks,
Aaron
__________________
Team Express Motorsports
HOBBYCRAFT CANADA
Rizzo's Rides
CEFX
A_Stratus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 09:19 PM   #223
Tech Elite
 
Mike Haynes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Area 51
Posts: 3,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

You need:

APS3311

http://www.buyrc.net/catalog/index.php?cPath=23
__________________
Team Associated - Reedy Power - Sweep - Protoform - TQ Wire - Lacher paint
Mike Haynes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2006, 09:55 AM   #224
Tech Addict
 
A_Stratus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Windsor, Ontario
Posts: 740
Default

Thanks Mike!
__________________
Team Express Motorsports
HOBBYCRAFT CANADA
Rizzo's Rides
CEFX
A_Stratus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2006, 10:24 AM   #225
Tech Master
 
burgboyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Da 'Burg
Posts: 1,247
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

Let's compare dyno numbers. My amp draw is different(less) on my APS than on
my friends LRP. What amp draw numbers are common for your "good" stockers??
For C-DAN and TWELVES (no fans please.)
__________________
Got Droop???
Speed Passion....Speed Power....Serpent America/Desoto Racing.
burgboyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
APS Dyno-Charge XrayFK R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 07-11-2007 01:19 PM
•••APS Dyno-Charge 3-in-1 Charger Dyno••• sohlman R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 11-18-2006 09:38 AM
FS APS 3-in-1 dyno Charge Deltaman R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 11-15-2006 10:42 PM
APS Dyno-charge Pezz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 01-03-2006 02:55 AM
FS - APS DYNO-CHARGE EVILGRAFX R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 10-27-2005 04:04 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:21 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net