R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-15-2005, 05:17 PM   #181
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 815
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grub_Maker
This charger seems relly cool except for the no discharge mode......
Grubby!

I have one if you want to check it out the next time you can make a race.
Crashby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2005, 10:45 AM   #182
Tech Master
 
nmt6789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 1,292
Send a message via AIM to nmt6789
Default

I just tryed dynoing a motor and dit said Amp draw too high... what would cause this?
nmt6789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2005, 11:03 AM   #183
Tech Champion
 
Korey Harbke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,126
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nmt6789
I just tryed dynoing a motor and dit said Amp draw too high... what would cause this?
Sometimes when brushes arent seated, the brush alignment is off, or if the bushings/bearings are binding a mtoro can pull alot of amps. The APS Dyno charge has a cutoff when the amp draw gets to high (I dont remember what the cutoff is).

-Korey
__________________
Xray - RC America - Hudy - Apex RC - LRP - Protoform - AVID - 1Up Racing - Xenon - Xpert - Sanwa - RC Mission America - SpeedZombi - Slapmaster Tools - Turtlemaster Racing - Seattle RC Racers
Korey Harbke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2005, 12:17 PM   #184
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nmt6789
I just tryed dynoing a motor and dit said Amp draw too high... what would cause this?
I think you can draw up to 20A motor run in, but if I remember correctly, you are using the N power. The N power is only 10A, a good stock motor can draw 9A, and if your brushes arent seated or something is binding, it can make the amp draw higher. A mod motor can draw more too, and since you have less amperage to work with, that'll happen to you more easily.
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2005, 01:05 AM   #185
Tech Elite
 
Mike Haynes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Area 51
Posts: 3,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nmt6789
I just tryed dynoing a motor and dit said Amp draw too high... what would cause this?
You are for whatever reason pulling too much amperage. Do other motors dyno properly? If they do then its a motor problem, if they dont then it is a power supply issue.

I would sugest to try another motor or
try the problem motor ata lower voltage (it will pull less amperage)

If the other motor works fine then check the problematic motor throughly, be sure the brushes move free in the endbell, and that the armerature dosnt have any scraps of copper between the segments of the comm.
__________________
Team Associated - Reedy Power - Sweep - Protoform - TQ Wire - Lacher paint
Mike Haynes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 01:07 AM   #186
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

I just got one and I like the charger over all, but has anybody else noticed that the screen, well really the whole shiney pannel scratches if you look at it funny? Mine came wrapped in bubble wrap and had a scratch on the screen. Just from pressing the buttons my finger nails not touching it, it got light scratches around the buttons. There was a very light coat of dust on it after a day at the track, so I took a really soft, cloth like paper tower, wet it with alcohol, and very lightly wiped it across the shiney panel, and it left very light scratches across the whole thing. These are very fine and are only noticeable if the light hits it at the right angle, and when the screen isnt on, but I can only imagine what itll look like after a year of use and after I stop babbying it. Other than that the "-" button on my charger is very hard to press, two of the other buttons are relatively easy, one isnt too bad, but that one is pretty brutal, it seems to be getting a little better and Im using it as much as possible to work it in, but I thought the updated version had softer buttons. I cant imagine what the origonal was like. Overall I like the charger alot and it works great, its just a cosmetic thing.
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 01:15 AM   #187
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 458
Default

AE racer, so you got the s3 version?
XingXing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 01:52 AM   #188
Tech Addict
 
SpeedDesignz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Holly Springs, NC
Posts: 555
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to SpeedDesignz
Default

I heard that the early versions of this unit ( like last year) had probles.., but I'm pretty sure they addressed this problem...

I'm close with 2 APS users at my local track and I see no problems at all with the new equipment .... very usefull in fact...
On road that is.......

No dirt from an off road track to scratch the screen.



belive me my Futaba CDR-5000 stays home when I go to the dirt track.
__________________
NYC Hobbies / Eurotek motorsports / SpeedDesignz / BackBreaker Racing !!
SpeedDesignz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 02:01 AM   #189
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XingXing
AE racer, so you got the s3 version?
Yea. Im obesssing over something that isnt that bad at all, but its new and that just the way I am. I am suprised about the button though.
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 02:13 AM   #190
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedDesignz
No dirt from an off road track to scratch the screen.



belive me my Futaba CDR-5000 stays home when I go to the dirt track.
Well, thats just something I have to deal with, either use it or keep it shiney. But its not like it had actual dirt on it, it was just like dust well like powdered dirt dust that settled on it. I mean, I have other stuff and that wont scratch the screen even slightly, its not usual lcd screen material, the screen is behind the front pannel. I looked at the area that the buttons are on on my 16x5v6 which appears to be made of the same material and it is covered in scratches, even on the part that I never touch or anything. You probably wont notice it at all if its like what I have if you dont own the charger. You can't really see it from a distance and only if the light hits it right. Then again there is no dirt or dust to wipe off your friend's so it probably only has scratches around the buttons. Im just saying that hopefully it wont get really bad over time like the part on my 16x5v6.

btw, looks like were both posting at 3am
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 02:50 AM   #191
Tech Addict
 
SpeedDesignz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Holly Springs, NC
Posts: 555
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to SpeedDesignz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AE Racer
Then again there is no dirt or dust to wipe off your friend's so it probably only has scratches around the buttons. Im just saying that hopefully it wont get really bad over time like the part on my 16x5v6.

btw, looks like were both posting at 3am
Honesetly Dude,

one of my friends with his APS never put it in the box it came with
( just throws it in a Craftsman tools box...... no joke ! with his turbo)

my advice if you want it looking like new .................. get one of those Sony PSP clear screen protectors , cut it to fit your APS
__________________
NYC Hobbies / Eurotek motorsports / SpeedDesignz / BackBreaker Racing !!
SpeedDesignz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2006, 09:13 PM   #192
Tech Elite
 
ALBERTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK
Posts: 2,986
Trader Rating: 23 (96%+)
Send a message via AIM to ALBERTO Send a message via Yahoo to ALBERTO
Default

DOES ANYONE KNOW WHERE I CAN BUY A NEW RPM SENSOR FOR THE APS???? ANYWHERE LOL.... PART #APS 3310
__________________
still fishing
ALBERTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2006, 01:15 AM   #193
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 458
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedDesignz
Honesetly Dude,

one of my friends with his APS never put it in the box it came with
( just throws it in a Craftsman tools box...... no joke ! with his turbo)

my advice if you want it looking like new .................. get one of those Sony PSP clear screen protectors , cut it to fit your APS

do u know what size the PSP screen is? i wanna see if it will fit my charger screen (Duratrac Ice)

thanks
XingXing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2006, 09:37 AM   #194
Tech Regular
 
quantum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ALBERTO
DOES ANYONE KNOW WHERE I CAN BUY A NEW RPM SENSOR FOR THE APS???? ANYWHERE LOL.... PART #APS 3310
give the distributor a call, they have good support
APS web

if you bought the original one, they even have an option for you to upgrade to the new S3... click the "service and tech info" link at the top
quantum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2006, 11:31 AM   #195
Tech Elite
 
BillyCaldwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: OKC, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,005
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BillyCaldwell
Default

Im looking at using my aps and my millenium together. Ive got an npower powersupply, but I dont think its gonna be enough to run both. About what amp of ps would yall recommend to do this?

Thanks,

Billy
__________________
Maclin | VP-Pro USA
BillyCaldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
APS Dyno-Charge XrayFK R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 07-11-2007 01:19 PM
•••APS Dyno-Charge 3-in-1 Charger Dyno••• sohlman R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 11-18-2006 09:38 AM
FS APS 3-in-1 dyno Charge Deltaman R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 11-15-2006 10:42 PM
APS Dyno-charge Pezz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 01-03-2006 02:55 AM
FS - APS DYNO-CHARGE EVILGRAFX R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 10-27-2005 04:04 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:56 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net