R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-26-2012, 04:14 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
BlackStarRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Miramar, Florida
Posts: 1,786
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default Set up stations

Does anyone have any video links on how to use a system correctly on a 10th scale on road rc?

Thanks Guys

Daryl
__________________
☆ Daryl Boston | TeamBlackStarRacing |
☆ TLR | Hot Bodies | Hobbywing | Savox | MT4S | AKA | Avid |
☆ TLR 22 2.0 MM | HB D413 | Schumacher K1|
☆ Coral Springs RC Track | Mills Pond RC Track | South Florida|
BlackStarRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 05:21 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 401
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackStarRacing View Post
Does anyone have any video links on how to use a system correctly on a 10th scale on road rc?

Thanks Guys

Daryl
There maybe one on youtube. What specific questions do you have/
__________________
TEAM Black Ops.
NUCRPTRACER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 05:48 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
BlackStarRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Miramar, Florida
Posts: 1,786
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NUCRPTRACER View Post
There maybe one on youtube. What specific questions do you have/
Just how to set toe, camber castor using the integy set up?....do i set up the front on the servo or off?
__________________
☆ Daryl Boston | TeamBlackStarRacing |
☆ TLR | Hot Bodies | Hobbywing | Savox | MT4S | AKA | Avid |
☆ TLR 22 2.0 MM | HB D413 | Schumacher K1|
☆ Coral Springs RC Track | Mills Pond RC Track | South Florida|
BlackStarRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 06:16 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
elee32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: lambertville, nj
Posts: 788
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackStarRacing View Post
Just how to set toe, camber castor using the integy set up?....do i set up the front on the servo or off?

first, set your ride height with the tires on the car, then, take tires off and put setup station on car. Be sure to have all of your electronics and everything in the car and compress the suspension to get the car set at its ride height. Adjust the camber to your desired setting...I always compress suspension again just to be sure I got it right.

to set front toe, I usually get my steering centered out on the track then, put the car on the stands and, with the car on (you can remove the pinion to play it safe but, not necessary) set the amount of front toe out you want. Doing it with the car on will help you to be sure you don't move the servo off the center you have set and will make it easier to get both left and right equal

hope that helped
elee32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 06:26 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
BlackStarRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Miramar, Florida
Posts: 1,786
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elee32 View Post
first, set your ride height with the tires on the car, then, take tires off and put setup station on car. Be sure to have all of your electronics and everything in the car and compress the suspension to get the car set at its ride height. Adjust the camber to your desired setting...I always compress suspension again just to be sure I got it right.

to set front toe, I usually get my steering centered out on the track then, put the car on the stands and, with the car on (you can remove the pinion to play it safe but, not necessary) set the amount of front toe out you want. Doing it with the car on will help you to be sure you don't move the servo off the center you have set and will make it easier to get both left and right equal

hope that helped
helped greatly!!!

I'm home trying to initially set up the car......
__________________
☆ Daryl Boston | TeamBlackStarRacing |
☆ TLR | Hot Bodies | Hobbywing | Savox | MT4S | AKA | Avid |
☆ TLR 22 2.0 MM | HB D413 | Schumacher K1|
☆ Coral Springs RC Track | Mills Pond RC Track | South Florida|
BlackStarRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 06:33 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
entitymugenmtx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Northridge ca
Posts: 2,117
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to entitymugenmtx
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackStarRacing View Post
Does anyone have any video links on how to use a system correctly on a 10th scale on road rc?

Thanks Guys

Daryl
Go to this site. This will help you

http://www.teamxray.com/teamxray/pro...=3989&catName=
__________________
SPONSORS.....MY CHECKBOOK....
entitymugenmtx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 07:07 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
BlackStarRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Miramar, Florida
Posts: 1,786
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by entitymugenmtx View Post
Go to this site. This will help you

http://www.teamxray.com/teamxray/pro...=3989&catName=
thanks for the info!
__________________
☆ Daryl Boston | TeamBlackStarRacing |
☆ TLR | Hot Bodies | Hobbywing | Savox | MT4S | AKA | Avid |
☆ TLR 22 2.0 MM | HB D413 | Schumacher K1|
☆ Coral Springs RC Track | Mills Pond RC Track | South Florida|
BlackStarRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 10:45 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Stanfsu's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 2,228
Trader Rating: 294 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Stanfsu
Default

I currently run a Sakura and I was thinking of purchasing the Integy SPECS Precision Alignment Setup Station C23861 for fine tuning the car. Thoughts? Anyone using?
__________________
Losi | Futaba
Low Ballers will be ignored!
Stanfsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 11:01 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
NolanP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Westmont
Posts: 2,426
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I use the Hudy Setup station and its great to be able to know that everything is in spec and exactly where I want it to be.
__________________
Mod Touring Car
Mod 12th
Nitro TC
Nitro GT
Wheeler and Mod Buggy
NolanP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 11:39 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
JustWill75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: DOUGLASVILLE GA.
Posts: 1,788
Send a message via AIM to JustWill75
Default

I wonder what setup stations do the pros use. I know that Xray use Hudy but what the team Associated, Tamiya, Yokomo and Hotbodies team drivers use?.
__________________
TEAM ASSOCIATED // REEDY POWER // BLAST RC
JustWill75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 12:16 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
artwork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Thornton, CO
Posts: 3,112
Trader Rating: 62 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JustWill75 View Post
I wonder what setup stations do the pros use. I know that Xray use Hudy but what the team Associated, Tamiya, Yokomo and Hotbodies team drivers use?.
Everyone uses Hudy...don't waste your money on anything else!
__________________
Sanwa | R1 Wurks | Avid | 2mm Designs
artwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 12:33 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
NolanP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Westmont
Posts: 2,426
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by artwork View Post
Everyone uses Hudy...don't waste your money on anything else!
What he said...
__________________
Mod Touring Car
Mod 12th
Nitro TC
Nitro GT
Wheeler and Mod Buggy
NolanP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 09:43 PM   #13
Tech Regular
 
rdlkgliders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: So. Cal High Desert Hobbies
Posts: 458
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NolanP View Post
What he said...
+1
__________________
Serpent, KO Propo, Viper, Savox, ProTek
Team Waldorf Racing

Your not lapping me, you just caught up to me again!!!
rdlkgliders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 11:33 PM   #14
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

I use a cheapo old Integy setup station I bought on here for $50. My brother and I split it and each took two of the gauges. It does the exactly same job that the $350 Hudy setup station does.

At the end of the day, all it does is give you a starting point. Some people will argue that it's pointless to measure camber and toe settings without tires, etc etc and they're probably right in that aspect.

Personally, I wouldn't spend any more than the $25 I spent on the gauges, and the $20 I spent on a MIP quick tweak board.
hyujmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 06:22 AM   #15
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Stockport, UK
Posts: 982
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stanfsu View Post
I currently run a Sakura and I was thinking of purchasing the Integy SPECS Precision Alignment Setup Station C23861 for fine tuning the car. Thoughts? Anyone using?
I use the old plastic Hudy setup system only because I picked it up cheap second hand, I would never have paid full price for it and don't see any need to upgrade to the alloy version. People buy the Hudy because everyone else does, and we are all suckers for r/c designer labels and bling. Engraved markings aren't more accurate on cnc machining by Hudy compared to cnc machining by Integy. Unless you have that sort of money to throw at a few bits of alloy just for the label on it, if you look after the Integy you won't notice the difference between it and the Hudy. Being a softer metal the Integy will eventually wear out, but unless you have to put your car on it after every run like some people do it will take years before you notice it.

The one advantage the Hudy has though is being made of much better quality alloy. If you drop a piece of the Hudy set it should still be straight, while there is a chance the Integy alloy piece will get a slight bend in it which will put out all your settings. All you have to do is be more careful with the Integy set.

Hudy has the best setup guide though. http://www.hudy.net/xhudy/showfile.p...252739b1ad8c24

I must say though I would never bother taking the setup station to the track, but a camber gauge and a tweak board always goes with me.

Last edited by terry.sc; 07-31-2012 at 06:35 AM.
terry.sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Set-up Stations GWH74 Electric On-Road 20 08-21-2009 08:32 PM
Clear out NIB or as new.HUDY Set up stations,motors,tires&more.Something for everyone RETRO R/C Australia For Sale/Trade 20 06-02-2008 10:35 PM
Ice charger, set-up stations, rims, on/off road sickboy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 24 09-27-2007 01:03 AM
PMB Set up Stations speed2004 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 07-14-2004 11:59 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:57 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net