R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-31-2012, 07:27 AM   #16
Tech Elite
 
Stanfsu's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 2,228
Trader Rating: 294 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Stanfsu
Default

Thanks for sharing the setup guide. This book is great
__________________
Losi | Futaba
Low Ballers will be ignored!
Stanfsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 08:36 AM   #17
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Kaohsiung City, Taiwan
Posts: 1,571
Send a message via ICQ to JiuHaWong
Default

I used an integy alloy for several years, dating back to 2004. Worked just fine, IMHO, but the Hudy ones are much nicer, albeit expensive.

I always take my setup guages, board, tweak station to the track. The moment everything became accurately measured, the faster and more consistent my vehicles got. This also includes balancing my tires and properly tweaking the vehicle.

I never understood anyone who measured things like camber and toe at the tire; tires are never perfectly round (especially after crashes). Recently, there was a discussion locally about the use of the Hudy offroad setup station (http://www.hudy.net/xhudy/products/p...1&kategoria=64). One side argued that it wasn't needed, all you need to do is to "eye-ball" your settings. The other side argued that gauges were necessary to ensure you got things balanced (most of these people raced TC as well). Who was right? After throwing two vehicles from both sides onto a hudy setup gauges, most of those who eye=ball it were surfing their phones to order the hudy.
JiuHaWong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 08:49 AM   #18
Tech Champion
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,749
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

You can do setup with a cheap caliper and one of those camber rectangle gauges if you are tight on money. Ideally you would have a set of setup wheels as well, since plastic wheels will warp. You can measure toe from the difference of the inside edges of the front and rear part of your wheels, and the camber gauges are meant to be placed against the face of your wheel. I have had a set of hudy setup gauges for 5 years and use them several times a race day, I usually end up just using two as there is no real reason to set the car on all 4 at once, I just check one end at a time, I believe they are worth the $, but look for a used set anyway, usually you can get them fro half off new.
__________________
Mike L. Awesomatixusa.com | TQWire.com | Islandraceway.com |JacksonRCracing.com | Horsham RC | Sweepracingusa.com
MikeXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 09:15 AM   #19
Tech Master
 
JustWill75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: DOUGLASVILLE GA.
Posts: 1,788
Send a message via AIM to JustWill75
Default

Ive been using the 3Racing setup station for awhile now and have no complaints. How does everyone else rank this set.
__________________
TEAM ASSOCIATED // REEDY POWER // BLAST RC
JustWill75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 09:22 AM   #20
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Somewhere in Tornado Alley
Posts: 308
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I picked up a used Integy set a month ago and like it pretty well. If I need to just set camber, I have a RPM gauge that works just fine. I do use the setup wheels to be consistent though. When setting front toe, I turn on the car and radio to center the steering, then set the toe.
nubie-wan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 01:47 PM   #21
Tech Elite
 
orcadigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 2,145
Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JustWill75 View Post
I wonder what setup stations do the pros use. I know that Xray use Hudy but what the team Associated, Tamiya, Yokomo and Hotbodies team drivers use?.
Shouldn't you be practicing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by terry.sc View Post
I must say though I would never bother taking the setup station to the track, but a camber gauge and a tweak board always goes with me.
This, I cannot understand. The variation in measuring camber from the outside of the wheel to the hub can be massive (I have seen upwards of 4* difference between the outside of the wheel and the setup station readings on a VTA tire). The setup station goes where my car goes, and if I hit the wall with any force, or it feels funny, it goes on the setup station to check. Setup board as well as ride height gauges, droop blocks, and while I carry balance pins, I also carry a full balance station as well.

The only reason I would ever suggest not bringing a setup station is because you do not have one, and you can borrow one from someone else. Otherwise, it goes everywhere the car goes.

How do you make toe adjustments? Ruler? While it is possible, I sure do not see the advantage, especially when you have the proper tools.
__________________
Desoto Racing * Serpent America * Boca Bearings

"I was doing fine until about mid-corner when I ran out of talent."
orcadigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 07:59 PM   #22
Tech Master
 
JustWill75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: DOUGLASVILLE GA.
Posts: 1,788
Send a message via AIM to JustWill75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by orcadigital View Post
Shouldn't you be practicing?



This, I cannot understand. The variation in measuring camber from the outside of the wheel to the hub can be massive (I have seen upwards of 4* difference between the outside of the wheel and the setup station readings on a VTA tire). The setup station goes where my car goes, and if I hit the wall with any force, or it feels funny, it goes on the setup station to check. Setup board as well as ride height gauges, droop blocks, and while I carry balance pins, I also carry a full balance station as well.

The only reason I would ever suggest not bringing a setup station is because you do not have one, and you can borrow one from someone else. Otherwise, it goes everywhere the car goes.

How do you make toe adjustments? Ruler? While it is possible, I sure do not see the advantage, especially when you have the proper tools.
First of all, I'll be practicing on Wednesday.

Second you are absolutely right, my setup station is always with my car.
__________________
TEAM ASSOCIATED // REEDY POWER // BLAST RC
JustWill75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 11:07 PM   #23
Tech Elite
 
Big Midget's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lawrence, Ks
Posts: 4,334
Trader Rating: 100 (100%+)
Default

I have an Integy 2 set up station. It works fine and all but I hate having to level out my set up board every time I use it. I use a 3'' level to do this. I dont trust the little ball level in the center of the set up board. This also makes it a pain to take to the track. Personally I cant stand this set up station. I do like the case though. It holds everything.

I have a friends Hudy set up station. I'm gonna set my car up with my integy 2 then double check it with this Hudy. I'll be sure to post my findings.
__________________
UltralineHobbies.com
Ultraline Raceway Topeka Ks
Dee & Mee Hobbies RickyRacer Lidz,Absolute Tattoo,Fuzzy Dice Decals
Big Midget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 11:28 PM   #24
Tech Master
 
samnelso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fitchburg, MA
Posts: 1,751
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Midget View Post
I have an Integy 2 set up station. It works fine and all but I hate having to level out my set up board every time I use it. I use a 3'' level to do this. I dont trust the little ball level in the center of the set up board. This also makes it a pain to take to the track. Personally I cant stand this set up station. I do like the case though. It holds everything.

I have a friends Hudy set up station. I'm gonna set my car up with my integy 2 then double check it with this Hudy. I'll be sure to post my findings.
Why are you leveling the thing? If you're just checking the standard things like camber and toe, there's no need to level unless you pit on a 45 slope.

I have an Integy and it works well enough, but it's no substitute for Hudy quality. I'll get a used Hudy if a deal comes along.
__________________
Team Associated | Reedy | Airtronics

RC Excitement: Fitchburg, MA | RC Madness: Enfield, CT | Horsham RC
samnelso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 11:34 PM   #25
Tech Elite
 
Big Midget's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lawrence, Ks
Posts: 4,334
Trader Rating: 100 (100%+)
Default

I'll show ya, I'll post a quick picture.
__________________
UltralineHobbies.com
Ultraline Raceway Topeka Ks
Dee & Mee Hobbies RickyRacer Lidz,Absolute Tattoo,Fuzzy Dice Decals
Big Midget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 11:45 PM   #26
Tech Elite
 
Big Midget's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lawrence, Ks
Posts: 4,334
Trader Rating: 100 (100%+)
Default

The board has to be level to set your camber with this station. The bottom
pic shows the pins that screw into the bottom of the setup board to help level it out.

How accurate it is depends on how well you level it out.....

Set up stations-100_8425.jpg

Set up stations-100_8426.jpg

Set up stations-100_8427.jpg
__________________
UltralineHobbies.com
Ultraline Raceway Topeka Ks
Dee & Mee Hobbies RickyRacer Lidz,Absolute Tattoo,Fuzzy Dice Decals
Big Midget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 12:40 AM   #27
Dan
Tech Elite
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,407
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Take a look at the Yeah Racing setup station too. Its feels like its better machined and more precise, but every so slightly. Nothing beats a Hudy though.
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 01:22 AM   #28
Tech Regular
 
tmomedrano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: caloocan
Posts: 317
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

i quit using mine... i use a plastic camber gauge because I was taught that wheels are never perfectly round as proven when used the plastic camber gauge... for toe i use a caliper, for adjusting epa, i use my ears and running the car in circles both ways...
__________________
[ Team Maxx Traxx ] http://iloveporrc.blogspot.com/ * http://timmedrano.com
tmomedrano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 01:31 AM   #29
Tech Fanatic
 
Geberit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 757
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan View Post
Take a look at the Yeah Racing setup station too. Its feels like its better machined and more precise, but every so slightly. Nothing beats a Hudy though.
Have this one from Yeah Racing cheap and nice looking but ... Gave me a headache and few races to figure out that its off for 1.5 degree left to right. I was measuring rear toe in at my TC6.1 and blaming the bad quality of the car just to find out the gauge was bad!

PS: when you put the plastic part in the slots it binds so badly you can hardly use it so it's necessarily to sand the slot!

http://www.yeahracing.com/catalog/li...bu-p-2632.html
Geberit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 09:14 AM   #30
Tech Addict
 
Lessen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 594
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Lessen
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Midget View Post
I have an Integy 2 set up station. It works fine and all but I hate having to level out my set up board every time I use it. I use a 3'' level to do this. I dont trust the little ball level in the center of the set up board. This also makes it a pain to take to the track. Personally I cant stand this set up station. I do like the case though. It holds everything.
Quote:
Originally Posted by samnelso View Post
Why are you leveling the thing? If you're just checking the standard things like camber and toe, there's no need to level unless you pit on a 45 slope.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Midget View Post
The board has to be level to set your camber with this station. The bottom
pic shows the pins that screw into the bottom of the setup board to help level it out.

How accurate it is depends on how well you level it out.....
I see what's going on there. Although I understand the design is minimizing any drag within the measurement device in an attempt to create an accurate reading, because it utilizes a pendulum it must [by nature] be on a level surface. That simply introduces an additional opportunity for operator error. One step forward, one step back. Somebody lost sight of the bigger picture with that design.
__________________
"Nothing in the world can take the place of persistence. Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent. "
Lessen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Set-up Stations GWH74 Electric On-Road 20 08-21-2009 08:32 PM
Clear out NIB or as new.HUDY Set up stations,motors,tires&more.Something for everyone RETRO R/C Australia For Sale/Trade 20 06-02-2008 10:35 PM
Ice charger, set-up stations, rims, on/off road sickboy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 24 09-27-2007 01:03 AM
PMB Set up Stations speed2004 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 07-14-2004 11:59 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:46 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net