R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-25-2005, 10:43 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
GT Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 585
Default Kawada SV-10 Sigma 2

Hi, has anyone tried the new Sigma 2 by Kawada? Just wondering how does the car handles? I just bought mine. But I've not finish fixing up the car.
GT Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2005, 12:50 AM   #2
sac
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 333
Default

GT RACER
Where did you get the Kawada Sigma2 part#k1300 from or is it the Sigma 1 part #k1200?how much did it cost?
leave more feed back when it's done,and pic's.
sac
sac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2005, 01:58 AM   #3
Tech Addict
 
GT Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 585
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sac
GT RACER
Where did you get the Kawada Sigma2 part#k1300 from or is it the Sigma 1 part #k1200?how much did it cost?
leave more feed back when it's done,and pic's.
sac
It's the new Sigma 2. Single belt drive with front one way. It's different from Sigma 1. I bought mine for about S$650 from a LHS in Singapore. Should be about US$400. I'll post some pics once it's done.
GT Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2005, 09:41 PM   #4
Tech Addict
 
GT Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 585
Default

I've attached a pic of the new Sigma 2. Single belt drive. The pic is from Kawada website. My car is still under construction.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ph_sigma2.jpg (71.3 KB, 629 views)
GT Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2005, 10:16 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 495
Default

Some more pics:









Arn0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2005, 12:50 AM   #6
sac
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 333
Default Sigma 2

GT RACER

Did you get your Sigma2 built yet?if so ,have you had a chance to run it?did you like how it went together ?any tips on building it?
please post as much info as you can on this thread!
www.kawadaracing.com(U.S dist. site) is taking pre-orders for the Sigma 2 ,for mid- Feb.They will ship anywhere!
check out the picture's posted on this thread.
thanks
sac
sac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2005, 01:52 AM   #7
Tech Addict
 
GT Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 585
Default

My car is almost done. But I've already tested out my friend's Sigma 2. The car has lots of steering. It's somewhat like a combination in characteristics of a shaft and belt driven car. It can turn really well into corners and very aggressive at throttling out of corners. the single belt drivetrain is perfect.

Building the car is really easy. Very straight forward. Shouldn't have much difficulty even for newbies. One thing I'm quite disappointed is that I found my chassis (new) to be slightly tweaked (especially towards the front right). The chassis doesn't lay flat on my setup board. i wonder if it's a manufacturing defect? Same goes to my friend's Sigma 2. But overall, the car is really easy to handle and drive.

Some option parts that is a must to get. These are the anti-roll bars, the shock spring (stock spring is too soft), alloy hubs for 4 wheels, and rear toe-in blocks.

Overall, great car!

I'll post more of the car when I'm done with more testing on the mine.

Last edited by GT Racer; 01-28-2005 at 02:01 AM.
GT Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2005, 12:46 AM   #8
sac
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 333
Default

GT RACER
GREAT !the more information and picture's the better.How many Sigma's 1or 2 are running were you live?is 23 t motor class popular were you are?it's odd about the chassie tweak ,i have never heard of that problem on ANY kawada car.
As soon as you or your friend get a good setup for the Sigma can you post it!and you may want to email it to www.kawadaracing.com as well,they will post it on the website.
do you think the ability to move the motor mount 7mm will be a great tuning tool and what about that dust blocker near the pinion?
thanks
sac
sac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2005, 10:00 AM   #9
Tech Addict
 
GT Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 585
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sac
GT RACER
GREAT !the more information and picture's the better.How many Sigma's 1or 2 are running were you live?is 23 t motor class popular were you are?it's odd about the chassie tweak ,i have never heard of that problem on ANY kawada car.
As soon as you or your friend get a good setup for the Sigma can you post it!and you may want to email it to www.kawadaracing.com as well,they will post it on the website.
do you think the ability to move the motor mount 7mm will be a great tuning tool and what about that dust blocker near the pinion?
thanks
sac
There are 3 cars (all Sigma 2) currently running on the track where i live. Stock class wasn't as popular here. Most of us are running mod.

I've just tested it today on 2 packs of batt.
Here's what happen. I stripped my spur gear on the first lap of test because the dust blocker came in contact with it. I think the dust blocker should be made of alloy instead of plastic. Because it's plastic, I can't tighten too much as it's mounted together with the screw that tigten the motor. It has to be taken off.

However, I think all the above problem may not happen if you're running on a stock.

For those who's running mod like 12T, 10T or even 8T, don't use the plastic pin protector on the rear dogbone. The plastic material is not strong enough to take the high speed rotation.

I test mine with a 8T V2 motor. I tried it on asphalt track (outdoor). The track has very technical in-field with a good long straight. The car is just superb in handling high speed corners. Lots of steering! Too much in fact that I have to reduce the steering travel. I'll try to get some pics and the setup of my car soon.
GT Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 12:12 AM   #10
sac
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 333
Default

GT RACER
Have you compared the Sigma 1 and Sigma2 to see if there is a weight difference? Sigma2 is supposed to be much lighter.
Just wondering .
do you like how you can adjust the rear diff now?
sac
sac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 01:31 AM   #11
Tech Addict
 
GT Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 585
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sac
GT RACER
Have you compared the Sigma 1 and Sigma2 to see if there is a weight difference? Sigma2 is supposed to be much lighter.
Just wondering .
do you like how you can adjust the rear diff now?
sac
Oh yes. The weight. The car is very light. Though I've never run a Sigma 1 before, comparing it with my 415, there's really an obvious difference.

The adjustment of the diff is just superb. Extremely easy to adjust. Just chuck in an allen key and rotate the other end. No part need to be remove before this!

No regrets getting the car although it's quite expensive. I believe this car has lots of potential.
GT Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 11:07 AM   #12
Tech Addict
 
GT Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 585
Default

Finally! Got some pics of my car! Enjoy!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg sigma2 001.jpg (81.2 KB, 459 views)
GT Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 11:10 AM   #13
Tech Addict
 
GT Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 585
Default

Attached Images
File Type: jpg sigma2 003.jpg (90.9 KB, 633 views)
GT Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 11:19 AM   #14
Tech Addict
 
GT Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 585
Default

Attached Images
File Type: jpg sigma2 002.jpg (92.1 KB, 440 views)

Last edited by GT Racer; 01-31-2005 at 11:28 AM.
GT Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 11:20 AM   #15
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: NY/FL
Posts: 3,376
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Oh Man.....looks like it's time for ANOTHER new car !!
GT, you suggested the sway bars, shock springs, hubs and toe in blocks........I don't see the sway bars on your car. Do they mount differently than the Sigma 1 ?? Thanks
Evoracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kawada SV-10 Sigma Funkymojo R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 10-07-2008 12:41 AM
WTS : Kawada SV-10 Sigma 2 Dino R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 05-30-2005 11:15 PM
Kawada SV-10 Sigma 2 Funkymojo R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 05-28-2005 03:46 PM
Kawada Sigma Macky R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 02-04-2004 02:00 PM
Kawada Sigma SV-10 hardadz Electric On-Road 0 03-01-2003 09:11 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:38 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net