Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
U.S. Vintage Trans-Am Racing Part 2 >

U.S. Vintage Trans-Am Racing Part 2

View Poll Results: what's your tire choice?
Protoform
46
30.67%
HPI
104
69.33%
Voters: 150. You may not vote on this poll

Like Tree3731Likes

U.S. Vintage Trans-Am Racing Part 2

Old 02-26-2016, 08:37 AM
  #9226  
Tech Master
iTrader: (49)
 
Rodarbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cedar Park, TX
Posts: 1,069
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jim Hustins View Post
I have one in mine too. Sounds great. I slowed down to engine response and shifting speed.
http://youtu.be/JTH-ZD38Ij4
Haha! That's awesome. There were a couple guys running them in our Spec Slash class. I'll have to put on in my Mignight Pumpkin.
Rodarbal is offline  
Old 02-26-2016, 02:06 PM
  #9227  
Tech Master
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,981
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

TC4 is pretty damn good for VTA. I jinxed myself by saying I never broke the steering parts last points race and ended up having a rough day because of it. So yes, servo saver is an absolute must.
iTz Nicholas72 is offline  
Old 02-27-2016, 08:14 PM
  #9228  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Canal Fulton, OH
Posts: 597
Default

What do y'all use to clean your tires (HPI)? Can I put some motor spray on a rag and wipe 'em down without it hurting the rubber?
JimmyMack12 is offline  
Old 02-28-2016, 04:49 AM
  #9229  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
howardcano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,784
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JimmyMack12 View Post
What do y'all use to clean your tires (HPI)? Can I put some motor spray on a rag and wipe 'em down without it hurting the rubber?
I use either charcoal barbeque starter fluid or odorless mineral spirits from WallyWorld. I just got some mineral spirits last week-- $10 for a gallon!:
http://www.walmart.com/ip/Klean-Stri...-1gal/17208810
howardcano is offline  
Old 02-28-2016, 03:49 PM
  #9230  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (2)
 
snoopyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tunnel Hill GA
Posts: 5,046
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by theproffesor View Post
Even a perfectly set up $1000 Awesomatix can be down 10 laps at the end of 5 minutes. It will take time to learn drive. We were all there once.
Some of us are still there. We never made it out.
Originally Posted by theproffesor View Post
Also do not forget to factor in a $100 transponder in your busget. This item is often left out as it's not need to run the car, but if you're going to race it is a requirement to have one.

Good luck and see you at the races
You could probably borrow a transponder depending on where you are and who you are with, but definitely if you know that you are going to commit to this then you need one. Does MRT still have a viable option for a transponder?
snoopyrc is offline  
Old 02-28-2016, 05:51 PM
  #9231  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (26)
 
NutDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 2,969
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Stormer had an MRT transponder listed the other day. Says it works with MyLaps decoders.
NutDriver is offline  
Old 02-28-2016, 06:01 PM
  #9232  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (66)
 
theproffesor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lugoff SC
Posts: 3,629
Trader Rating: 66 (100%+)
Default

It works with the old my laps software. I do not believe they will work with any of the software updates up the past couple years.

There was a whole uproar about it
theproffesor is offline  
Old 02-28-2016, 06:09 PM
  #9233  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
howardcano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,784
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

All of the MRT transponders that are currently in production will work on both the RC3 and RC4 decoders.
howardcano is offline  
Old 02-28-2016, 06:32 PM
  #9234  
Tech Master
iTrader: (49)
 
Rodarbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cedar Park, TX
Posts: 1,069
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

As Howard stated, last two generations of MRTs are RC2, RC3 and RC4 compatible. These included the PTX-20 (NS), mPTX and mPTX Pro. I need to send in an old MRT (which is RC2 and RC3 compatible, but not RC4) and trade up for an mPTX.

Last edited by Rodarbal; 02-28-2016 at 08:06 PM. Reason: Neglected RC2....
Rodarbal is offline  
Old 02-28-2016, 07:55 PM
  #9235  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (26)
 
NutDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 2,969
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

From the ad on Stormer's page: "Compatibility: AMBrc2, AMBrc3 and RC4 systems."
NutDriver is offline  
Old 02-29-2016, 09:26 AM
  #9236  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (22)
 
RussF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 565
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JimmyMack12 View Post
What do y'all use to clean your tires (HPI)? Can I put some motor spray on a rag and wipe 'em down without it hurting the rubber?
I like to use GoJo or Goop hand cleaner. Rub it in and wipe it off. Works better than the motor spray we were using and provides a nice grippy feel. plus its good for cleaning your hands. No gloves required.
RussF is offline  
Old 02-29-2016, 10:03 PM
  #9237  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (5)
 
rramjet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Everett WA in the Summer Mesa AZ in the Winter
Posts: 127
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Can't seem to find any pre-glued HPI VTA tires/wheels. Is it just me?
rramjet is offline  
Old 02-29-2016, 10:40 PM
  #9238  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (2)
 
DARKSIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nashville-Memphis
Posts: 9,592
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

they dont come pre-glued....only on the RTR kits....
DARKSIDE is offline  
Old 02-29-2016, 11:27 PM
  #9239  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
nashrcracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: LA - Lower Antioch
Posts: 4,951
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by NitroSport85 View Post
What are guys running as far as chassis in this class. I've read the rules and it seems like just about any chassis is legal so are people running $500 and $600 chassis'?

I'm new to the racing scene and from what I understand this is supposed to be the class for beginners. I'm just looking for a good chassis to start with, nothing that's going to set the world on fire but also nothing that's going to have 10 laps down at the end of 5 minutes.
I run a 2010 T3r Xray $250 fiberglass chassis car they don't even make anymore. last race I ran vta at (US Indoor Champs in Cleveland Ohio) I finished 3rd out of a field of 18 or so, top 4 finished on the same lap, and beat lenny that won this weekend at summit. not bad for a car that has 4 or 5 1000 lap enduros on it too.

http://www.rc50.com/results/2015clev...Am_A-Main.html
nashrcracer is offline  
Old 03-01-2016, 04:08 PM
  #9240  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Canal Fulton, OH
Posts: 597
Default

Originally Posted by nashrcracer View Post
I run a 2010 T3r Xray $250 fiberglass chassis car they don't even make anymore. last race I ran vta at (US Indoor Champs in Cleveland Ohio) I finished 3rd out of a field of 18 or so, top 4 finished on the same lap, and beat lenny that won this weekend at summit. not bad for a car that has 4 or 5 1000 lap enduros on it too.

http://www.rc50.com/results/2015clev...Am_A-Main.html
I run a Spec-R S1 chassis - $120.00. I run it as a VTA car when I do go on-road racing, but, I use it mostly on carpet oval. We run a class that's "VTA-based" - Grand American Stock Cars. http://usvsc.webs.com
JimmyMack12 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.