Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
U.S. Vintage Trans-Am Racing Part 2 >

U.S. Vintage Trans-Am Racing Part 2

Community
Wiki Posts
Search
View Poll Results: what's your tire choice?
Protoform
30.67%
HPI
69.33%
Voters: 150. You may not vote on this poll

Like Tree4318Likes

U.S. Vintage Trans-Am Racing Part 2

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2014, 11:34 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)

I tend to run VTA (when I get to run it) the way any Broke / Low Buck 2nd or 3rd tier team would run -

Using other teams take off equipment w/ an old outdated car.

All of the tires I've ever run on my VTA car were ones that guys w/ a bigger budget discarded...but I still saw life in them. (The one and only set of NEW tires - I've been sitting on for like 4 years have never been glued...I'm saving those for the RIGHT race...)

I wish I had the budget to have a NEW Modern Car/Chassis - The Latest Greatest NOVAK motor, and about 10-12 sets of Really Good tires to choose from. (and a semi-truck and trailer to take ALL my stuff to the track - with a full pit area in the trailer, with a living quarters...so I could just travel from race to race all year long)
Old 01-07-2014, 11:56 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)

And even with that, Joe, it wouldn't be any major advantage, maybe not ANY advantage. I was competitive with my 14 year old XXX-S, until some puke stole my stash of vintage parts along with my Venom bag a couple years ago. I raced it like 30+ weekends, and my total expenditure was a set of caster blocks, three sets of tires, one body, and one Novak ballistic 25.5/Edge combo (I had the chassis, radio, and battery lying around, and I only use one battery). I am building a new VTA car because I want to have a Tamiya, but I don't expect it to be any faster.

I think new tires on asphalt are worse until you get them scrubbed in real good. On carpet, it's the opposite - once the tire gets scrubbed in, the car traction rolls.