Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Novak 25.5 VTA combo problems >

Novak 25.5 VTA combo problems

Novak 25.5 VTA combo problems

Reply

Old 03-19-2012, 10:16 AM
  #1  
Suspended
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 284
Default Novak 25.5 VTA combo problems

Hey guys, I have a Novak 25.5 VTA combo in a sprint 2 sport. The other day I was running at my local outdoor track and I noticed at the beginning of the second run my car was running slow. I picked it up looked at it, Noticed that the motor seems to be running at about 3/4 speed. Very strange. I've got the FDR at 3.8. also have run it with 4.0/4.2.(factory timing) I also reset the ESC to default and unplugged the sensor wire and cleaned the terminal as best i could ,its still having this problem. Has anyone had this problem and anyone know how I can fix it?

Thanks
Biggie85 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 10:18 AM
  #2  
Suspended
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 284
Default

Also the temp was never above 130 degrees.
Biggie85 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 10:45 AM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,476
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I'm going to guess that some of your drive fets are toast but its best to contact [email protected] with your problem, he will get you fixed up.
Johnny Wishbone is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 11:49 AM
  #4  
Tech Elite
 
trytowin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: on the asphalt
Posts: 2,137
Default

It wouldn't hurt to take your motor apart and clean it with some quick drying electronic cleaner. Available at most auto part stores.
trytowin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 02:46 PM
  #5  
Suspended
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 284
Default

I sent out an Email, hopefully he or she will be able to help me. I also cleaned the motor with no result .

By the way What are drive fets?

Thanks guys!!
Biggie85 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 03:41 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (24)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: NY/FL
Posts: 3,376
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Have you checked your radio ?? Double check your EPA setting. On occasion I've accidently pressed the wrong button while my radio was in the EPA setting and presto ...I've screwed it up and I'm running at half speed. Double check radio settings and quick set esc. You never know !

Last edited by Evoracer; 03-20-2012 at 05:05 PM.
Evoracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 04:31 PM
  #7  
Suspended
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 284
Default

That was the first thing i checked. Thought to myself, could it be as dumb as me mistakenly mashing a button lol. But, no. I'm Perplexed!!
Biggie85 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 05:02 PM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,476
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Biggie85 View Post
I sent out an Email, hopefully he or she will be able to help me. I also cleaned the motor with no result .

By the way What are drive fets?

Thanks guys!!
They are some of the internals of your speed control, and can't be fixed by you. Charlie is the head go to guy for Novak.

Do you have another motor you can try or another sensor cable? It still sounds like internal speed control issues to me, but Charlie will get you sorted out. He is usually pretty quick in getting back to you.
Johnny Wishbone is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 05:02 PM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (24)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: NY/FL
Posts: 3,376
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Been running VTA for 4+ years and never had this problem so I'm as baffled as you are. Just by chance do you have another motor (doesn't have to be a 25.5) that you could test out with this esc ?? Doing a little trial and error couldn't hurt while you cantact Charlie at Novak. Then again, they just might decide to exchange the whole combo. Might suggest you do that first then. Let us know the results.
Just thought of something. Does the radio have a manual or digital trigger throw adjustment ??
Evoracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 05:13 PM
  #10  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (151)
 
LasagnaCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hickory Hills, IL
Posts: 2,114
Trader Rating: 151 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by trytowin View Post
It wouldn't hurt to take your motor apart and clean it with some quick drying electronic cleaner. Available at most auto part stores.
+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.
LasagnaCat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 05:21 PM
  #11  
Suspended
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 284
Default

I haven't tried another motor with the ESC yet. I will get to you guys tomorrow with that.
Charlie responded to my email but is currently at the Cactus Classic. He will get back to me.
Biggie85 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 05:36 AM
  #12  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (30)
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 7,020
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

it also could be the sensor board in the motor... i've seen that happen on occassion to the novak motors - and give you similar results to what you got going on.

which speedo are you using?? its its a GTB2 - look at the manual, there a setting on the speedo control that will tell you if the sensor wire/board is working correctly...there are lights that will flash as you spin the motor by hand - if they don't light up, one at a time, then your issue would be there and not the speedo...

you also might want to re-calibrate the end points on the speed control..i forget if the novak is sensitive to trigger movement during its 'boot up' or not, but you might have messed with that - so that your full pull isn't registering as a full pull on the speedo...

just a couple of things to try
k_bojar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 08:36 AM
  #13  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (75)
 
oeoeo327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,658
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Default

Read through this thread - http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric...int-2-vta.html - there might be a few mechanical issues with the car itself that could be the source of the problem.
oeoeo327 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 02:01 PM
  #14  
Suspended
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 284
Default

I cleaned the motor again, set up the ESC again and this time its running fine I have no idea what happened or possibly what is still wrong with it. This is a back up car for me anyway. I'm going to continue to run it every time I'm out to see if it fouls up again. I appreciate all the input guys, Thank you very much!
Biggie85 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 02:02 PM
  #15  
Suspended
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 284
Default

I'm using an edge 2s ESC by the way.
Biggie85 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service