R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-08-2012, 06:03 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
BlackStarRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Miramar, Florida
Posts: 1,786
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default T:me R anyone using it?

just wanted to get some feed back on the T:ME R system?

Thanks

Daryl
__________________
☆ Daryl Boston | TeamBlackStarRacing |
☆ TLR | Hot Bodies | Hobbywing | Savox | MT4S | AKA | Avid |
☆ TLR 22 2.0 MM | HB D413 | Schumacher K1|
☆ Coral Springs RC Track | Mills Pond RC Track | South Florida|
BlackStarRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 06:27 PM   #2
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,284
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I had the opportunity to test out a set recently, and it worked very well.
Was using it in modified TC, and me and another racer were using it to log our times during practise.
Set-up the sensor trackside and left it there all day... and with the bluetooth back to the laptop in the pits, worked really well.
Software looked pretty easy to use
Only issue we encountered was if the sensor was too far away from the laptop, then when the battery level got low, the signal would drop out. When we moved it closer (~30m) no issues at all.
It is a good bit of kit, and I can deffiently see the benefit.

HiH
Ed
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | MuchMore |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 07:17 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
BlackStarRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Miramar, Florida
Posts: 1,786
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default timed runs for racing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
I had the opportunity to test out a set recently, and it worked very well.
Was using it in modified TC, and me and another racer were using it to log our times during practise.
Set-up the sensor trackside and left it there all day... and with the bluetooth back to the laptop in the pits, worked really well.
Software looked pretty easy to use
Only issue we encountered was if the sensor was too far away from the laptop, then when the battery level got low, the signal would drop out. When we moved it closer (~30m) no issues at all.
It is a good bit of kit, and I can deffiently see the benefit.

HiH
Ed
Hey Ed

Thanks for that information...i read that it can run unlimited transponders and i was wondering do you think it would be cable of running timed events?

Looking for something a few friends can grab an kinda race with it?
__________________
☆ Daryl Boston | TeamBlackStarRacing |
☆ TLR | Hot Bodies | Hobbywing | Savox | MT4S | AKA | Avid |
☆ TLR 22 2.0 MM | HB D413 | Schumacher K1|
☆ Coral Springs RC Track | Mills Pond RC Track | South Florida|
BlackStarRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 08:32 PM   #4
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,284
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackStarRacing View Post
Hey Ed

Thanks for that information...i read that it can run unlimited transponders and i was wondering do you think it would be cable of running timed events?

Looking for something a few friends can grab an kinda race with it?
I could yes, but bare in mind that it would then only work for your event, and wouldn't work if you go off visiting other clubs that run AMB's... but wouldn't be a bad thing to get started I guess.
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | MuchMore |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 09:12 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
BlackStarRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Miramar, Florida
Posts: 1,786
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default exactly what i was thinking

Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
I could yes, but bare in mind that it would then only work for your event, and wouldn't work if you go off visiting other clubs that run AMB's... but wouldn't be a bad thing to get started I guess.
i figured everyone has an amb but not everyone has the system to detect i think using that for a mobile solution... might work for a small club to race where ever!!!

We have a lot of parking lots here....lol

thanks for all your assistance!
__________________
☆ Daryl Boston | TeamBlackStarRacing |
☆ TLR | Hot Bodies | Hobbywing | Savox | MT4S | AKA | Avid |
☆ TLR 22 2.0 MM | HB D413 | Schumacher K1|
☆ Coral Springs RC Track | Mills Pond RC Track | South Florida|
BlackStarRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 10:07 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
kschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kota Kinabalu,Sabah
Posts: 4,598
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kschu
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
I had the opportunity to test out a set recently, and it worked very well.
Was using it in modified TC, and me and another racer were using it to log our times during practise.
Set-up the sensor trackside and left it there all day... and with the bluetooth back to the laptop in the pits, worked really well.
Software looked pretty easy to use
Only issue we encountered was if the sensor was too far away from the laptop, then when the battery level got low, the signal would drop out. When we moved it closer (~30m) no issues at all.
It is a good bit of kit, and I can deffiently see the benefit.

HiH
Ed
the distance can reach within 30 meter, between the sensor and the laptop ??
__________________
Give the best while u can !
kschu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 10:21 PM   #7
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,284
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kschu View Post
the distance can reach within 30 meter, between the sensor and the laptop ??
Hehe, did you not see it setup during practise at the TITC? We had the reciever unit setup on the bottom right corner of the track (second corner before the straight) and then we're pitting about 30m away from that with the laptop setup. Turned it all on, and left it running all day.

not sure on the distance for car sensor to reciever though... just tried to position it at a reasonable distance on a slower part of the track.
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | MuchMore |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 12:34 AM   #8
Tech Master
 
Hugh Jazz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On a park bench
Posts: 1,592
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackStarRacing View Post
Hey Ed

Thanks for that information...i read that it can run unlimited transponders and i was wondering do you think it would be cable of running timed events?

Looking for something a few friends can grab an kinda race with it?
I was talking to the importer here in Aus and he said that it can be used to run a race meet if you have enough transponders. He said it was a cheap option for the club as it is around 1k compared to the amb system. I am looking at getting one also. has a handing Iphone app also.
__________________
Dan Maher
Hugh Jazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 12:40 AM   #9
Tech Champion
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugh Jazz View Post
I was talking to the importer here in Aus and he said that it can be used to run a race meet if you have enough transponders. He said it was a cheap option for the club as it is around 1k compared to the amb system. I am looking at getting one also. has a handing Iphone app also.
Who imports them here Dan?
__________________
www.facebook.com/mcpheerc
CraigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 12:45 AM   #10
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mongville
Posts: 6,980
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigM View Post
Who imports them here Dan?
Dazza at Ace Hobbies
__________________
12th Scale - The premier class (if you can make runtime)
Besercoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 11:32 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
kschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kota Kinabalu,Sabah
Posts: 4,598
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kschu
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
Hehe, did you not see it setup during practise at the TITC? We had the reciever unit setup on the bottom right corner of the track (second corner before the straight) and then we're pitting about 30m away from that with the laptop setup. Turned it all on, and left it running all day.

not sure on the distance for car sensor to reciever though... just tried to position it at a reasonable distance on a slower part of the track.
i might get a hand on it soon ~
__________________
Give the best while u can !
kschu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
T.R.C.R. ---Pit's Talk--- teambighead Northwest Racers 25141 12-03-2017 10:06 AM
Team Losi JRXS Type-R Andrew Gray Electric On-Road 13454 07-11-2017 08:26 PM
Portland R/C Raceway...It's Official! Joe Pillars Northwest Racers 6948 09-26-2012 10:50 PM
KO Mars R...Anyone still using this radio? SRAD Radio and Electronics 17 08-14-2008 04:36 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:56 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net