R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-02-2005, 10:32 AM   #286
Regional Moderator
 
daniz24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: D-Square Racing
Posts: 3,189
Default

Maybe you has 1 cell broken/damaged. Overheat when building your packs, a bad batch, etc. If you have a Protrak, you can try to discharge and check each cell to see which one has damaged.
daniz24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 10:55 AM   #287
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

The Turtleman: Are your packs matched or unmatched ? You also need to only discharge them to .90 per cell after a run. No deep discharge.

This cell is built differently than a GP cell and doesn't react like a GP cell. So far we have had good luck with traying them just prior to charging them.


Boomer: I see a few problems with unmatched cells the capacity of the cell fluctuates allot with the IB cell. This is normal because IB doesn't cycle its cells. So you can have a 405 with a 445 in the same pack. The pack will still run well but not be at its maximum potential. Another thing to note is there has been updates made to the IB cells so some of the loose cells available at a low price could of been from older batches that weren't as good as the newer ones.

We will offer a matched pack at a retail of 55.00 the cells will all be matched at 35 amps. This way the racer who wants to have great club packs or practice packs should be happy.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 11:07 AM   #288
Tech Master
 
TheTurtleMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: BFE
Posts: 1,581
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

They are matched. Can you mess up these cells? I haven't done anything any different then what I would have done w/ 3300's. I have 3 4 cell packs, and right now they all suck.... should I try cyclling, or rezapping them?
__________________
CLICK HERE FOR ALL YOUR RADIO AND MORE SKINZ!!!!

http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?t=184104

WWW.BUSTOUTBMX.COM
TheTurtleMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 11:36 AM   #289
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Turtleman: Not sure what you can do. It seems like you were discharging them to low on your Novak tray. If you stored them lower than .90 per cell this could of hurt the cells.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 02:20 PM   #290
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oshawa, Ontario
Posts: 444
Default

I have 5 packs unmatched IB3600's the lowest I have seen when charged is a hair under 3700mah, the highest was 4187 mah.

I have no problems running them for 5 minute 1/10 TC heats, and have made up ground at the end as a competitor's GPs were dieing where my IB's still had lots left +)

I charge at 6A 35mv peak on an APS, after the run I discharge at 30A and then use smart tray to go down to .9
MartynD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 02:42 PM   #291
Tech Master
 
Rod M's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,545
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MartynD
I charge at 6A 35mv peak on an APS, after the run I discharge at 30A and then use smart tray to go down to .9
is that 35mv peak per pack or cell?
Rod M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 03:47 PM   #292
Exe
Tech Regular
 
Exe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lithuania, Europe
Posts: 277
Send a message via ICQ to Exe Send a message via Yahoo to Exe
Default

per pack i suppose
Exe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 04:30 PM   #293
Tech Champion
 
danjoy25's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,149
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default Charge Amps

Would the same apply for this cells?(charge at 5 amps you get better runtime less voltage and at 6 amps you get less runtime but better voltage)
__________________
Awesomatix A800 & A800X/ Mugen MTX-5 / 3 Racing F113 / Kyosho RB5 / Kyosho Mini-Z
danjoy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 04:41 PM   #294
Exe
Tech Regular
 
Exe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lithuania, Europe
Posts: 277
Send a message via ICQ to Exe Send a message via Yahoo to Exe
Default Re: Charge Amps

Quote:
Originally posted by danjoy25
Would the same apply for this cells?(charge at 5 amps you get better runtime less voltage and at 6 amps you get less runtime but better voltage)
i didn't see any runtime or voltage difference, charging at 5 or 6 amps, see the pic
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1-2discharge.jpg (37.9 KB, 89 views)
Exe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 04:41 PM   #295
Exe
Tech Regular
 
Exe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lithuania, Europe
Posts: 277
Send a message via ICQ to Exe Send a message via Yahoo to Exe
Default Re: Charge Amps

Quote:
Originally posted by danjoy25
Would the same apply for this cells?(charge at 5 amps you get better runtime less voltage and at 6 amps you get less runtime but better voltage)
i didn't see any runtime or voltage difference, charging at 5 or 6 amps, see the pic, light color curve is 5 amps charged pack being discharged @30amps, dark - 6 amps charge @30 discharge.

i used unmatched cells.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1-2discharge.jpg (37.9 KB, 94 views)
Exe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 04:49 PM   #296
Tech Champion
 
danjoy25's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,149
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Charge Amps

Quote:
Originally posted by Exe
i didn't see any runtime or voltage difference, charging at 5 or 6 amps, see the pic
I did see that , but I think the test should have been done with 2 packs, one charge with 5 and the other on 6 amps and cycled twice as I think you tend to get a better numbers on the 2nd cycle. I might try it once I get my virgin cells and will post next week the results.
__________________
Awesomatix A800 & A800X/ Mugen MTX-5 / 3 Racing F113 / Kyosho RB5 / Kyosho Mini-Z
danjoy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 05:25 PM   #297
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oshawa, Ontario
Posts: 444
Default

per pack, the APS only has per pack not per cell.

I have a Triton which only charges at 5A and the APS which I use to charge at 6A, I notice a big difference in punch between the chargers/Amperage.

I race stock and 19T so runtime isn't an issue for me
MartynD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 10:44 PM   #298
Tech Elite
 
highwayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,334
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

If i use a novak smart tray, what cut-off setting should it be prior to charging?

thanks - jason


Quote:
Originally posted by Danny/SMC
If your concerned with keeping the runtime as high as possible then using them once per day is reccomended.

Also if you plan on using them each week then storing them at .90 per cell is fine but if you plan on storing them for multiple weeks you should put back 300-500 seconds of charge in the pack. The when you go to use it the next time place it on a tray. I really like the Duratrax 20 amp discharger or Integy 0-30 tray these are real easy to use.
highwayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2005, 10:50 PM   #299
Tech Champion
 
danjoy25's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,149
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by highwayman
If i use a novak smart tray, what cut-off setting should it be prior to charging?

thanks - jason
I read .09, anything lower is not good for the cells
__________________
Awesomatix A800 & A800X/ Mugen MTX-5 / 3 Racing F113 / Kyosho RB5 / Kyosho Mini-Z
danjoy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2005, 01:24 AM   #300
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

You should bring them down to .90 per cell.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IB3600 Cell - only need one or two nckmat Australia Wanted to Buy 1 09-07-2008 07:47 PM
IB3600 & GP3300 Practice Packs (4 Cell) MyRCTrader R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 02-01-2008 10:13 AM
*** Pro Match Racing - IB3600 6 cell packs *** raydog R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 07-16-2007 02:19 PM
SMC IB3600 and 3800 4-cell packs rayhuang R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 02-24-2006 03:56 PM
2 IB3800, 2 IB3600 and GP 4-cell packs!!! rayhuang R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 18 11-01-2005 01:43 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:57 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net